We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place for a night's stay”
Review of The Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Retreat
Ranked #27 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Vadodara, India
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“good place for a night's stay”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is a nice little budget hotel, located on a narrow crowded road, close to the Taj Mahal. The lobby is small but quite comfortable. The rooms are spacious, with wooden flooring, and are done up well. The breakfast spread was not huge, but was quite appealing to my palate. Overall, a good place for a night's stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hemantn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    294
    151
    52
    30
See reviews for
221
233
45
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I booked this hotel over the internet as I was getting a good deal and was pleasantly surprised to check into this value for money hotel. The rooms were well furnished and pretty spacious as well... The only problem was with the AC which kept on switching off after every hour or so... and this was the same in all the 3 rooms we had booked...!!
The breakfast had a good spread with lots of options for everyone to choose from...
Wont mind staying here again....was definitely worth the experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank aamadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The property is near the Taj Mahal. However it is situated on a nondescript road. The rooms are large and good and clean. The breakfast spread was also better than expected.the check in process can be improved.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pradeep9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo Department, Uruguay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

The people of the reception is very nice and funny. We had a problem with our train and they made us a good price for an extra night. The price is not the cheapest but is a very nice place. The only regret was the shower in the bath. The water comes out from the shower a little bit, but its not a big deal.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dariocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed here one night. Liked the big room and comfy bed. Breakfast was good. However, Internet connection was down as well as tv..only back up at 9pm. Reception staff were accommodating. Our letdown was the area the hotel was situated...nothing to look at..just dusty road with small shops. Nothing much to do with the internet and tv down and pool under maintainance. Too bad..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SU3Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
883 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Only stayed here for 2 quick nights, not getting into hotel until very late. Rooms are very nicely decorated and modern, bed very soft & comfortable, front desk are very helpful, and accomadating. Breakfast is quite good, eggs made to order.

The only reason I didn't rate this excellent is because, hotel is not that centrally located, can walk to some shops, 10-15 minute walk to McDonalds or KFC. Security in not friendly at all, quite rude to be honest. Not many english speaking tv channels, they do offer free wifi.

Taj Mahal is maybe 10 minute drive, definitely would suggest getting up by 0500-0530am to arrive before sunrise, much less crowded than later in the day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammyBaltimore_Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

The room is a good size, comfortable clean bed, with a safe, nice size bathroom. The furnishing and colour had a 'clean line' look but too much makes it rather dull looking. The breakfast was like a three star hotel in KL. A few choices but quite tasty. Swimming pool was under maintenance, no gym, had to get a guy to fix my TV channels ( 'no speak English') and had to call twice to get him. I would rate the hotel 3 star at best. The hotel is two years old, staff are mostly young and inexperienced but they were smiling and polite, needs more polishing up. The outside area is quite grungy like a big part of Agra.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Marigold26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 145 in Agra
1,552 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#19 of 145 in Agra
613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Taj Vilas
Hotel The Taj Vilas
#21 of 145 in Agra
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Seven Hills Tower
0.5 mi away
Taj Villa
Taj Villa
#31 of 145 in Agra
300 reviews
1.1 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Property: The Retreat
Address: Taj Nagari Phase -1 | Near Prateek Enclave, Shilpgram Road, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing