We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of The Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Retreat
Ranked #25 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Bhopal, India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 days while on private visit to Dayalbagh. This is hidden gem with full value for money. The food is good with complimentory breakfast in the morning that has everything. Real real value for money. Very clean and up to date.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajatPallav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely delighted to note that you had a great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat. We are glad to acknowledge that you liked our property, swimming pool, food However; your elaborate feedback & positive comments are the source of motivation to the team for the services provided, which we are confident to take up to the next level. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends to re-live an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Regards
The Retreat Team!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    298
    153
    53
    30
See reviews for
231
239
46
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Room was big, clean, airy, quiet. Breakfast was excellent. Its a short tuk-tuk ride from the Taj. The staff were very pleasant. Only issue is its not on the nicest street - the street was very dark at night and quite dirty. But having stayed in several hotels in Agra over the years, I can say that this is definitely one of the best value and I would certainly consider staying again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely delighted to note that you had a great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat. We are glad to acknowledge that you liked our property, swimming pool, food However; your elaborate feedback & positive comments are the source of motivation to the team for the services provided, which we are confident to take up to the next level. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends to re-live an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Regards
The Retreat Team!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Spent a night. Hotel is as good as any other foreign country Hotel. Comfortable bed, clean hallways, good service. Hotel could add iron and ironing board and given that roads are dusty outside shoeshine service would be really helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrpatel886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely delighted to note that you had a great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat. We are glad to acknowledge that you liked our property, swimming pool, food However; your elaborate feedback & positive comments are the source of motivation to the team for the services provided, which we are confident to take up to the next level. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends to re-live an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Regards
The Retreat Team!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel is new, so it's clean with modern decor. The staffs are friendly and wifi is free are pretty much the positive thing i can say. First of all, the time I was there this January 2014, there is a construction right next door and the noise starts from 10am and goes on continuously till 5pm, i could not sleep and rest because the noise is so annoying. There is no hot water so I showered with cold water. The heater doesn't warm up enough to keep the room warm, it was freezing inside the room. If you happen to have a problem or trouble between 4am to 7am, there's no one in the front desk to ask for help nor anybody. Tried calling all the extensions and no one answered.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlgemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely sad & disheartened to acknowledge that you had a not-so-great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat Hotel. We thank you for your feedback and have made a note of the displeasure caused to you . But we assure you that we will leave no stone un-turned to ensure that all the guests who stay with us leave the hotel with pleasant memories to share back home. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends again for a memorable experience.

Wishing you & your family a pleasant & healthy life ahead !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Given the other reviews saying this hotel is "bla" I guess my expectations were not that high. I was pleasantly surprised to find a very new looking, crisp, and clean hotel with a comfortable bed. I stayed one night. The food was very good for dinner and breakfast and the price for the dinner was less expensive than the restaurant at Bloomrooms in Delhi ... in fact it was the cheapest of any hotel we stayed at while in India. Bit plus!! My primary requirements for a hotel are 1. Clean, 2. Hot water, 3. Good/inexpensive restaurant, and 4. Reliable internet. All of these met/exceeded my expectations for this hotel except the Internet. We arrived at 5pm, and my computer had plenty of signal to the Access Point, but the internet server connection was down. The front desk verified this when I asked. I kept checking until about 7pm when we had dinner. However, after dinner (about 7:40 or so) the internet was back up and stayed up through the rest of the night and morning when we left. If it wasn't for this internet inconvenience for a couple of hours, I would have given it 5 stars.

Room Tip: I had a pool view, which did not face the street. Not sure if there was road noise on the other sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse_Amy_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely delighted to note that you had a great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat. We are glad to acknowledge that you liked our property, swimming pool, food However; your elaborate feedback & positive comments are the source of motivation to the team for the services provided, which we are confident to take up to the next level. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends to re-live an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Regards
The Retreat Team!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2014

A disappointing experience at this so called 4 star hotel. There was no hot water in the shower and after complaint, was fixed up. However the plumber left muddy dirty foot prints all over the bathroom. Requested this be cleaned. Not done after 2 requests. It was several hours and we were tired and wanted to have a shower and rest after a long journey from Jaipur. Only when I walked over to the reception at close to 11pm then action was taken and that only when I almost lost my cool. You guessed it! No running hot or cold water in the vanity the next morning. The water was running on to the floor under the vanity basin. The shower was not clean especially the glass areas. The walls of the sleeping area had paint peeling off. The bathroom especially was not of any good standard and does not deserve a 4 star rating. There were no proper receptacles for hanging towels either. It looked like a make-shift bathroom. Sorry but I would not recommend anyone looking for a 4 star to book into this hotel. Our tour company had been requested to book us in a 4 star!!

Room Tip: Don't as we moved after one night's stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 678Kay66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely sad & disheartened to acknowledge that you had a not-so-great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat Hotel. We thank you for your feedback and have made a note of the displeasure caused to you . But we assure you that we will leave no stone un-turned to ensure that all the guests who stay with us leave the hotel with pleasant memories to share back home. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends again for a memorable experience.

Wishing you & your family a pleasant & healthy life ahead !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

we spent one night at this hotel. the rooms are clean, big and average. breakfast was alright. the most memorable was the front office staff Faizal ( I think) who was most helpful and outgoing. he went over and obove his call of duty to assist us. staff like Faizal make your trip a wonderful experience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rehana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely delighted to note that you had a great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat. We are glad to acknowledge that you liked our property, swimming pool, food However; your elaborate feedback & positive comments are the source of motivation to the team for the services provided, which we are confident to take up to the next level. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends to re-live an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Regards
The Retreat Team!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#19 of 143 in Agra
622 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 143 in Agra
1,566 reviews
1.1 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Taj Vilas
Hotel The Taj Vilas
#21 of 143 in Agra
455 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Alleviate
Hotel Alleviate
#27 of 143 in Agra
231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taj Villa
Taj Villa
#33 of 143 in Agra
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Property: The Retreat
Address: Taj Nagari Phase -1 | Prateek Enclave, Shilpgram Road Near Taj Mahal, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing