We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel!!”
Review of The Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Retreat
Ranked #26 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed January 23, 2014

In Agra, our third stop, we stayed one night at The Retreat. It´s not that bad as some people say. Our room was clean and spacious and the staff friendly. The food was really good, but a little bit expensive and the breakfast big enough. The hotel also have a pool, that we didn´t use because it was a bit chilly and there is also a spa room where you can get massage for no price.
I think this hotel gives you good value for the money and would probably stay here if I ever get back to Agra

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KattiMalmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely delighted to note that you had a great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat. We are glad to acknowledge that you liked our property, swimming pool, food However; your elaborate feedback & positive comments are the source of motivation to the team for the services provided, which we are confident to take up to the next level. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends to re-live an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Regards
The Retreat Team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

441 - 447 of 782 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Retreat was clean n modern n was exactly like the pictures we viewed when booking! The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. My boyfriend mentioned it was my birthday while we were staying as we checked in and they took great delight in calling us down from our room for a birthday cake and special drinks. I would highly recommended this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneLloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely delighted to note that you had a great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat. We are glad to acknowledge that you liked our property, swimming pool, food However; your elaborate feedback & positive comments are the source of motivation to the team for the services provided, which we are confident to take up to the next level. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends to re-live an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Regards
The Retreat Team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed in Hotel Retreat for a day while on a trip to see Taj Mahal. The hotel is only about 2 years old and has modern infrastructure. The maintenance was however not up to mark. Bathroom for example was large and good but the glass partition around the shower was not properly cleaned and had dried water drop marks all over. Our stay was comfortable. Housekeeping and room service was prompt. Food was a disappointment. Though expensive, the dishes were bland and tasteless. Breakfast buffet was one of the worst I have seen. By 9 AM when we went for breakfast, various food trays were near empty and no attempt was being made to refill them. Only white bread slices was available. Brown bread and buns were not. Nor were there any cheeses, cake and muffins.,, At the time of checkout, cash was not accepted because they had no change. Further surprise was that they refused to give me a receipt of payment for rooms that was made through Net Banking. I needed the receipt for refund of VAT tax.

Room Tip: Don't order food from room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajiv1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely delighted to note that you had a great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat. We are glad to acknowledge that you liked our property, swimming pool, food However; your elaborate feedback & positive comments are the source of motivation to the team for the services provided, which we are confident to take up to the next level. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends to re-live an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Regards
The Retreat Team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

the hotel room is just adequate.. not verrrrryy small nor big..!

room service is quick and has tasty food. the breakfast spread was great, with good service by the staff..

avoid ordering white rice, since the quality of rice is very bad, hard to swallow.

the front desk "manager" is quite rude and pompous!

a decent hotel on the whole! :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anushree l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely delighted to note that you had a great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat. We are glad to acknowledge that you liked our property, swimming pool, food However; your elaborate feedback & positive comments are the source of motivation to the team for the services provided, which we are confident to take up to the next level. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends to re-live an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Regards
The Retreat Team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Very friendly hotel staff, and the room was modern and clean, with a nice hot shower and cable tv for the smog filled evening. I was recommended a restaurant for dinner, which proved a good suggestion too.

For me personally, the addition of a gym would make a big impovement.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mblank1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely delighted to note that you had a great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat. We are glad to acknowledge that you liked our property, swimming pool, food However; your elaborate feedback & positive comments are the source of motivation to the team for the services provided, which we are confident to take up to the next level. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends to re-live an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Regards
The Retreat Team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had one night in The Retreat. It was very comfortable. In the morning we left early for the visit of the Taj Mahal. Nice restaurant and delicious food. Breakfast was basic but good: fresh fruit, toast, eggs ... This was one of the best hotels during our tour.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johan271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely delighted to note that you had a great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat. We are glad to acknowledge that you liked our property, swimming pool, food However; your elaborate feedback & positive comments are the source of motivation to the team for the services provided, which we are confident to take up to the next level. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends to re-live an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Regards
The Retreat Team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The room was fine, the only problem was the absence of hot water (said to be caused by electrical problems), but thus was compensated with a bucket of hit water and a discount.

Especially we liked the driver and the guide provided at the travel desk - for a reasonable fee we managed to see lots of places, they spoke good English and were very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask about Wi-Fi and hot water in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike-shevchenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely delighted to note that you had a great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat. We are glad to acknowledge that you liked our property, swimming pool, food However; your elaborate feedback & positive comments are the source of motivation to the team for the services provided, which we are confident to take up to the next level. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends to re-live an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Regards
The Retreat Team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 142 in Agra
1,637 reviews
1.1 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
0.7 mi away
Orient Taj
Orient Taj
#110 of 142 in Agra
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#19 of 142 in Agra
677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taj Villa
Taj Villa
#29 of 142 in Agra
328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Taj Vilas
Hotel The Taj Vilas
#23 of 142 in Agra
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Address: Taj Nagari Phase -1 | Prateek Enclave, Shilpgram Road Near Taj Mahal, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Price Range: $48 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing