We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to the mark even as a budget hotel”
Review of The Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Retreat
Ranked #26 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Hotel is good due to its proximity to taj but.......

1. Rooms are spacious but stink a lot as the room where I stayed had water seepage into the walls.

2. Linen in the room dint seem to be clean enough to use also the room was full of mosquitoes.

3. Bathroom again spacious but falls because of very low speed of water in shower n that too not warm enough forget hot.

4. People at reception and travel desk try to help you but are totally uninformed of what has to be done and what not, one of the worst travel desk ever.

5. Breakfast buffet was the most awful thing which I ever had, no variety and no taste.

6. Found a lady from abroad fighting with the reception people as her bag went missing from the hotel lobby.

7. One good thing at end was that they gave us late check out but that doesn't help to repair the damage already done.

8. They claim it to be a luxury hotel but its merely a budget hotel.

So stay there only if money saving is the issue in your mind.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DRSRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely sad & disheartened to acknowledge that you had a not-so-great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat Hotel. We thank you for your feedback and have made a note of the displeasure caused But we assure you that we will leave no stone un-turned to ensure that all the guests who stay with us leave the hotel with pleasant memories to share back home. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends again for a memorable experience.

Wishing you & your family a pleasant & healthy life ahead !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 782 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel is quite near to the Taj Mahal. Looks just a small simple hotel. Inside, the bedroom was big, had TV, table, chairs etc.

Reception area was friendly and willing to assist. We got free wifi, just needed to ask and it would be in blocks of hours.

Our bathroom was clean and spacious but the shower was hard to work. The water was cold when we were trying to use the shower, and we ended up having to call house keeping and when this man came along he simply pulled the tap and we could have a hot shower! We experienced problems having a hot shower and which is essential as Agra can be a cold place in winter. There was a technique in turning the shower on and we just could not master this technique.

Once the shower was functioning, the shower tray became filled with our shower water! The large drain was ineffective and it became a bath! The water leaked outside on to the bathroom floor!

The bedroom floor was dusty and in fact Agra was one dusty place.
Up-side, the extractor fan was working, but there was no way of switching it off, so we had to listen to this fan through out the night!

Restaurant was clean, but the big sofa seating against the walls was wide so could not lean on anything, needed lots of cushions.

Food was good, whether ordered in the restaurant or room service.

House keeping were swift with our washing, they in fact gave a service with a cheeky smile and seemed genuine and sincere.

Buffet breakfast was nothing special, pretty basic to the other places we have visited.

Room Tip: Don't have room 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shushila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely sad & disheartened to acknowledge that you had a not-so-great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat Hotel. We thank you for your feedback and have made a note of the displeasure caused But we assure you that we will leave no stone un-turned to ensure that all the guests who stay with us leave the hotel with pleasant memories to share back home. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends again for a memorable experience.

Wishing you & your family a pleasant & healthy life ahead !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I just recently stayed in that hotel with my friend Karolina and have to say that admnistrators at the reception are extremely helpful, especially Danish Faisal and Prachant. The room was cosy and all the services available. We did not use swimming pool as it was a bit to cold but there is nice spot there for sun bath. Not much choice in breakfast menu but food was fine and adjusted to customers sensitive to spices. Overall its a good deal for its prize. You can walk to Taj Mahal if you want to.

Agnieszka & Karolina

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnieszka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely delighted to note that you had a great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat. We are glad to acknowledge that you liked our property, swimming pool, food However; your elaborate feedback & positive comments are the source of motivation to the team for the services provided, which we are confident to take up to the next level. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends to re-live an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Regards

The Retreat Team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here last week for one night. Was a bit tricky to find it but managed it in the end. Not in the best of locations but quite close to the Taj so that's a plus. Check-in took 5 mins though some of the staff looked a bit confused. One of them insisted I had booked only one room whereas I had booked two. Luckily the guy I had spoken to regarding my bookings the previous night was present there and came to my rescue. Hotel seemed new and the rooms and the bathrooms were quite big, nice and clean. Sadly our view from the window was a wall of a house being constructed next door but then we hadn't come all the way to Agra to look out of the window. No problem with hot water either. The cable tv wasn't working initially but was recharged promptly. There wasn't much noise as mentioned in some of the reviews though we did hear some hammering a couple of times but lasted only for a couple of minutes. Our room key had to be 'recharged' thrice. Also they have a slight issue with parking as I was called to move my car at 11pm from a spot which they had asked me to park at themselves. We had lunch and dinner elsewhere and though the breakfast had variety it wasn't much to write about and you're better off having your tea/coffee elsewhere. Overall its ideal if you want a nice room and bathroom to retreat to after a long day of sightseeing and want to stay close to the Taj!
3.5 Stars

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malemee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely sad & disheartened to acknowledge that you had a not-so-great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat Hotel. We thank you for your feedback and have made a note of the displeasure caused But we assure you that we will leave no stone un-turned to ensure that all the guests who stay with us leave the hotel with pleasant memories to share back home. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends again for a memorable experience.

Wishing you & your family a pleasant & healthy life ahead !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

It wasn't our choice to stay there as we booked Taj Resort, but for some reasons Taj gave our rooms to someone else saying we arrived late, so they arranged The Retreat.

+ nice breakfast and dinner
+ wi-fi is not free of charge, but they did it complimentary, of course we liked it ;))))
+ good shower with normal hot water
+ friendly and polite stuff

- the room was covered with some dust and it didn't look like it was dirty, more than it was some construction dust. And it was everywhere, so we had to keep our shoes on
- it was cold in the room, but with heater they gave us it became warm quickly, so it was ok

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oksanchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely delighted to note that you had a great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat. We are glad to acknowledge that you liked our property, swimming pool, food However; your elaborate feedback & positive comments are the source of motivation to the team for the services provided, which we are confident to take up to the next level. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends to re-live an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Regards

The Retreat Team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Wonderful stay!! Very tidy and spacious rooms, very clean. Didn't have hot water to start with but a call to reception put that right. Wifi very good. Was truly a retreat after a bad experience elsewhere the day before!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank jeska_amba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely delighted to note that you had a great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat. We are glad to acknowledge that you liked our property, swimming pool, food However; your elaborate feedback & positive comments are the source of motivation to the team for the services provided, which we are confident to take up to the next level. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends to re-live an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Regards

The Retreat Team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A good hotel especially if you are looking to say near Taj Mahal. It was 20 minutes walk to the Taj mostly through a no-pollution zone.
Breakfast was good.
The a/c was a bit loud.
The rooms were beautifully furnished and also very clean, but the hotel is also very new, so hope they maintain it the same way.
In fact the hotel was so new that they did not have the license to sell alcoholic drinks.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indian_German_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RetreatAgra, Director of Sales at The Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day from team - The Retreat !!!

We are extremely delighted to note that you had a great experience during your recent stay at The Retreat. We are glad to acknowledge that you liked our property, swimming pool, food However; your elaborate feedback & positive comments are the source of motivation to the team for the services provided, which we are confident to take up to the next level. We value your patronage and looking forward in welcoming you, your family & friends to re-live an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Regards

The Retreat Team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 142 in Agra
1,641 reviews
1.1 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
0.7 mi away
Orient Taj
Orient Taj
#110 of 142 in Agra
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#18 of 142 in Agra
679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taj Villa
Taj Villa
#29 of 142 in Agra
328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Taj Vilas
Hotel The Taj Vilas
#24 of 142 in Agra
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Address: Taj Nagari Phase -1 | Prateek Enclave, Shilpgram Road Near Taj Mahal, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Price Range: $48 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing