We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location from the taj mahal”
Review of Ray of Maya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ray of Maya Hotel
Ranked #6 of 210 Agra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014

this is a perfect hotel if you are in agra to see the Taj Mahal. Within walking distance, and the road is navigatable, the rooms are clean, and the staff is very helpful and friendly. The owner even allowed us to use a vacant room to shower in after we had checked out because we had gotten dirty playing the holi holiday. they went above and beyond to help us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nicholetteNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 398 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

Was a little pricey for the usual 3 star hotel but nice place. As others have written, its a long dark walk at night down a little dog-poop filled path to get here from the main street. and no restaurant here, you have to go back down the poop path and cross the street to eat at the sister hotel's restaurant. the restaurant is good though, rooftop, yummy indian food.

My room didn't have view (of anything!) but its like a short walk to the Taj Mahal, so very convenient location! room was large and comfy, bathroom was good and clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The room is clean and nice, the location is very near to the Taj Mahal west gate. However, there is flying bugs at the corridor outside our room, which is a bit scary. Overall, the staff is okay, and the restaurant is nice. There is a huge balcony, however, monkey can come in sometimes, which make it not so nice to stay outside and the staff warned us to close the window at all time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Declese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

It is close to the Taj, it takes 20 minutes to reach the West gate, a very good point.
The room are neat, a lot of hot water. A flat screen T.V and a lot of channels.
All the AC outlet work for recharge our devices.
The Wi-fi is there but internet is very intermitted.
The restaurant is one of the best in our journey in India.
The only sad part of that good location is that you gonna need earplugs to sleep well, because of the proximity of a busy boulevard.
Other thing you need to know, negotiate the price of your room with a smile.
if you stay more than one day, the staff is always ready to help.

Room Tip: Very good restaurant, a nice menu and a good service choose a room far from the street and from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Normand Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We were supposed to stay here for 2 nights, 23 to 24 Feb. Mr. Naveen thank you for understanding my problem. We were an elderly couple. I had hurt my leg. There
was no elevator so I could not stay here. The Hotel was situated on both sides of a very
busy road. To be able to eat you had to cross from the new side to the main Hotel - very
difficult for me. The old section was very busy and what I could see of the dining room it was full and all the young guests were very happy. Mr Naveen was very understanding and gave us another address - a Hotel with an elavator. Not many owners are so polite and correct - we were not charged for our stay.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank eva m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Thank you to all of the staff at Ray of Maya especially MAYANK AGRAWAL who helped us so much with copying, printing and sending off some important documentation. Your help was so appreciated Mayank! Our room was lovely and quiet and the bed most comfortable. We had a great sleep and are rested and ready for the Taj Maha, this morning! Will definitely recommend your hotel to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillowNanoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Don't judge Ray of Maya by it's surroundings!
We spotted this place from afar actually, since it's exterior are colorful and stood out..as we got closer we started to dread it. When we first arrived I almost thought "oh well thats money down the drain" you had to walk along a small dirt road it felt like walking towards a back-alley motel. So glad we chose this hotel (looking at the state of the area, I doubt we could've done any better) I was relieved to see the stairs up to the lobby was fairly clean and decorated in local motif.
The staff greeted us, very friendly. Checking in was a breeze and was showed to our room, fortunately there were ground staff to help with our 4 big bags up the stairs!
We chose this place for the price & how it looked in pictures, fortunately it was not far off from the real thing. The room was spacious, pretty clean, decent bedding, more local motif wall decorations, good working TV with some international channels. The bathroom was not disappointing.
We got a room facing the back yard so we're a bit protected from the main street noise. The room included breakfast but you had to cross the street to the restaurant.
Location of course is great just a few steps to Taj Mahal entrance. For the price I would recommend Ray of Maya.

Room Tip: Try get a room facing the back yard especially on a busy weekend, the view is not much but quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RizwaNeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#33 of 143 in Agra
500 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#18 of 143 in Agra
1,658 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Panna Paradise
Hotel Panna Paradise
#40 of 143 in Agra
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tourists Rest House
Tourists Rest House
#23 of 143 in Agra
582 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel The Taj Vilas
Hotel The Taj Vilas
#24 of 143 in Agra
477 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Madhushrie
Hotel Madhushrie
#62 of 143 in Agra
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ray of Maya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ray of Maya Hotel

Address: Fatehabad Road | Taj Ganj, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range: $17 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ray of Maya Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have opposite 2 restaurants at our second property Maya Hotel& Restaurant: One A/C and one roof terrace restaurant. We do have stairs. We do have at Ray of Maya Property: 2 suite rooms: one super deluxe suite with a steam bath cabin and balcony 3200-INR, one super deluxe suite with a steam bath and balcony 4000-INR. We do allow pets and love children. We have limited parking space in front of hotel. We offer airport and railway pick up/drop service. Hotel has free high speed WiFi. At request we serve your meals and orders at your room or on our roof terrace with view of Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Ray of Maya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing