We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Property ; Bad Service”
Review of Orient Taj

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orient Taj
Ranked #106 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Hi,

If you are planning your weekend break to Agra, you may look at Wyndham, the property is spread out, & has comfortable rooms, however that's IT. Had booked for a Corporate Travel over 10th & 11th May, for our office (have stayed earlier as well).

The Front Desk team lacks basic politness, it seems they dont want you there, our luggage was kept in the sun for 5 hours as rooms were not ready when we reahed & had to start the conference, the rooming list was messed up, rooms AC's stopped working in the middle of the night & people were only given another room after much arguement.

You cannot have the Buffet B/F in your room ( some 5*+ hotels allow it), they serve the food in Zaika, which will get crowded over the weekends.

Now the good part why the property has earned 3 * from me, the swimming pool area is good, & with family can be a good recreational spot, there is a lot of greenery inside the property & gardens post 9 pm, are a delight to sit in & roam with family /spouse.

You can relax as the property is spread out so you are not disturbed, the room service is pretty okay. The rooms (if your AC works) are comfortable, the sleep quality is good.


The EAM Vivek , is a professional & wants to build this property, there are some people in the Restaurant . Simran, Abhinav who are polite & professional.

Final - If you are not a sucker for 5* service, but want to enjoy no frills weekend, then go here atleast once to experience the property.

Suggestion to the Hotel : Have some more activities to engage kids.

Room Tip: You may want to choose birbal court, it's closer to the pool, reception & not to far from Za...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ApoorvCrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_Grand, Operations Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Dear Mr. Apporva,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Wyndham Grand Agra recently during your conference and thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

As you were the repeat guest of the hotel ,you feedback is extremely important for the organisation which you discussed with us in detail at the time of check out.
Not only it give me the opportunity to address the issue, and find a way to fix the problem, it also demonstrates your desire for our hotel to improve in our service to you and all of our Guests. I truly welcome comments from our Guests, both positive and negative, because it is the only way I can learn what our Guests are experiencing when visiting our hotel.

Let me offer my apologies for the situation you encountered. This is something that we try to avoid but, obviously, we sometimes fall short of the mark despite all our best efforts in satisfying the needs of every Guest. After all, it is the Guest’s point of view that is most important to us.

Your feedback has been shared with the team & we are working on improving on the negatives.

I shall pass on your appreciation to team member and I am sure this will motivate them further in their drive to exceed guest expectation.

However as per our discussion you were planning for another trip with the family. I assure you of exceeding your expectations on your next visit.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback.

Warm Regards,
Wyndham Grand Agra Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,501)
There are newer reviews for Orient Taj
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 1,501 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014

The room was big with lavish setup fresh & soft linen with a fragrance of cleanliness which was giving us a feeling of home..Chef was very co operative he provided us milk & khichidi apart from menu for my two years old kid. Such a courteous & generous staff. The perfect combination of hotel & hospitality.I will definitely come back next year.

Room Tip: Choose front side rooms with garden views
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaudhary8589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_Grand, Operations Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay and were impressed with the setting of the property as well as quality of accommodation.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

The journey was tiring,we were fully drained as the weather was not favorable. But as we entered the hotel we got very warm welcome at reception. One of the staff escorted us to room, Room was big spacious,neatly cleaned with fresh linen.Bathroom amenities used are decent with lovely fragrance.Staff is very courteous & helpful.Food was good .overall we had a wonderful stay. thanks for a making our trip a memorable one.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Singh250788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_Grand, Operations Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our product and service.

I have conveyed your compliments to the team, for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

It is our constant endeavour to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable. Appreciation such as yours increases our motivation to achieve the expectations that our guests have on us.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Thank you and warm regards,
Wyndham Grand Agra Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and we were gobsmacked by the size of this complex.We paid for a slightly better room than the base room but ended up in one of the more tired villas.It was adequate but some things didn't work properly such as the powerpoints and the master light switch is very confusing to work.Our first night we slept with some light on as we couldn't work this thing.They had a master control gadget that was playing up.The breakfast was adequate but go early as they run out of things and they don't get replaced quickly and the coffee brewed,stewed and bitter.Could get omelettes to order though.The pool area was fabulous and had great banana lounges etc.What let the whole place down was the attitudes of the staff.The reception men made me wait 10-15 mins whilst they pretended not to notice me and I only wanted to ask a question-They served the men before me who were checking out so wasn't impressed by this!The staff all expect to be tipped for everything too-it's an attitude which had been missing from our previous hotels.On checkout they insisted we pay 400 INR for kitkats from the mini bar-we had actually bought these ourselves!Anyway threw 4 of them at the staff instead!Anyway not sure I'd stay here again.They also bunch everyone in the groups of villas together so can be noisy.Visually stunning resort but staff attitudes need to change!
Eat at Pinch of Spice-great restaurant INR 100-150 return trip and the best food we tasted in India-don't eat at this overpriced place.Tuk tuk's available outside the gate.We also bought our own beer rather than pay this hotels expensive prices.Room has a mini fridge!

Room Tip: Some of the villas are tired and older-ask for a newer room.They look like they are building new one...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelsonfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_Grand, Operations Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Valued guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Wyndham Grand Agra recently. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that you were impressed with the setting of the property .

From your feedback i came to know about some area of improvement as well. It does not only give me the opportunity to address the issue, and find a way to fix the problem, it also demonstrates your desire for our hotel to improve in our service to you and all of our Guests. We truly welcome comments from our Guests, both positive and negative, because it is the only way we can improve our guest satisfaction. After all, it is the Guest’s point of view that is most important to us.
Let me offer my apologies for the situation you encountered. This is something that we try to avoid but, obviously, we sometimes fall short of the mark despite all our best efforts in satisfying the needs of every Guest.
I hope you can allow us the chance to improve in this area and stay with us again.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

After contending with cattle and camels on the main road in Agra, we were thrilled to have such beautiful accommodations.
The check-in was very efficient, and a manager and bell staff escorted us to our rooms.
Hotel features quiet, spacious, traditionally furnished rooms and beautiful landscaping.
Housekeeping was very attentive.
Breakfast and dinner buffets featured a large variety of tasty Indian and International dishes.
Never been to a buffet with so many waiters, bus boys, coffee pourers, etc.
Overall, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waynay6405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_Grand, Operations Manager -Wyndham Grand at Orient Taj, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our product and service.

I have conveyed your compliments to the team, for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration. We are happy to note your culinary experience as well.

It is our constant endeavour to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable. Appreciation such as yours increases our motivation to achieve the expectations that our guests have on us.

We are grateful for your feedback and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

Thank you and warm regards,
Wyndham Grand Agra Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We were 02 couples & at the time of checking, we waited for 20 mins to get the rooms but when we entered the room it was twin bed( two seperate beds) when we raised the the objection, they informed that they do not have the double bed rooms available, though we pre requested double bed rooms & they will change only once rooms gets free. After some time we realised that the room airconditioning was not working, when we complained about the same we were informed that ACs are perfectly fine & they will start cooling soon. At the same time we heard somebody screaming outside the room on the staff , we realised it was the adjacent room wherein the guest was shouting at them for the AC not working. After some time our rooms were changed as the ACs of that entire block was not working.
We planned to go for swimming in the evening, while we were about to enter the pool , the incharge their stopped us & asked us if we were wearing the swimming trunks & it seemed like he is not aware of how swimming trunks should look & he was confirming after stopping the guests.
Next day we wanted to have Pizza so we orderd from Pizza hut. When the delivery boy came to deliver, he was stopped outside the gate of the Hotel & we had to go and pick up our order from the gate & it was around 10 pm. As soon as we collected our order the security guard of the hotel locked the hotel gate on our face & informed that we have to leave our carry bag of Pizza if we wish to come inside the Hotel, Our family was inside the room not aware of this drama created by the Hotel security guard. When we insisted him to open the door or call the duty manager, he very proudly infront of us called the reception & explained his action against us.
Finally doors were opened to us after 15 mins & when we went inside the Hotel to launch our complaint to the Manager, we were told that there is no manager on duty in the Night.
I also observed that whenever I passed the lobby area during the 02 nights & 03 days of my stay, I used to see some or other guest shouting in the lobby on some issues they must be having with their own issues with the Hotel managment.
The icing on the cake was on my last night of my stay, I observed mosquitos in rooms so asked for mosquito repellent & too my biggest surprise they got me mosquito coil(kachuaa Chaap), the amount of smoke it was emitting in the room, I doubt the smoke detectors are in working condition.
I would not advice anybody to visit this Hotel with their family or friends..

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jagotaashish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Our family of 2 adults and 4 children (aged 17, 14 & twins 9 yrs) stayed in two rooms for one night. The hotel is truly beautiful with large rooms and lovely bathrooms. We had booked 2 rooms - a double with extra bed and twin with extra bed. This could not be accommodated unless we were in totally separate accommodation blocks which given the size of this hotel was a problem. We had to go with doubles for both rooms. We arrived just before lunch and although the rooms were ready for us to use, there was no extra beds. As we were going on a tour we asked at reception for these to be delivered before we got back for dinner. They were not there when we returned so asked again for delivery while we were at dinner. It was after 8:30pm when we returned from dinner and the beds were still not there. We had to ask a 3rd time for these and they still were not delivered until 8:55pm!! The hotel was not busy and the main gentleman at reception was dismissive of us from the moment we arrived to check in.

Breakfast and dinner were included and were both excellent. The restaurant staff were friendly and very attentive. The pool was beautiful and very clean with lovely pool towels. Wifi is charged for and can only be for one device.

When we walked into the stunning foyer of this hotel we were very excited to be staying here - it was disappointing that the service let it down.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieFs_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_Grand, Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased to know that you were impressed with the setting of the property as well as quality of food .
We are distressed by the fact that we could not come up to your expectations in some areas.
We have already shared your feedback with the team and assure you of exceeding your expectations whenever we get the chance to serve you again. Apologies for letting you down in certain aspects.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.
Regards,
Wyndham Grand Agra Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 142 in Agra
4,001 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.7 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Taj

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282006, India (Formerly Wyndham Grand)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Price Range: $40 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Orient Taj 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Grand located in the city of Taj, has been built on 18 acres of land with a large frontage. A beautiful hotel property inspired by the intricacy of Mughal architecture with splendid lawns, fountains and ancient interiors that take you back to an era of emperors and princes with the modern facilities. A masterpiece of architecture it is built on ''Mughal Theme'' with world class modern hi-tech amenities. It is attracting global leisure & business Tourists. The royal ambience, the intricate craftsmanship and the beautiful landscape makes it the most preferred destination in the itinerary of tourists. A visual delight for holiday makers as it revives the grandeur of the Mughal Emperors.Wyndham Grand Agra is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic settings, perfect location and world–class amenities. The hotel has 160 spacious suites and rooms. It offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool and a luxury spa. The hotel has a variety of dining options, The Orient Café, Jharokha, Pakhtoon, Zaiqa serve authentic Mughalai , Indian and international cuisines. While Mharo Gaon, the village theme speciality restaurant is one of the major attractions in the city. Experience the heavenly beauty of Agra in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken and rejuvenate your senses … to make you experience pure bliss. We offer many facilities, such as:-• Agra’s largest swimming pool with a submerged Pool Bar • Al-Sehat (Spa), Gymnasium, Steam & Sauna• Ta-Dhin (Discotheque)• Kiddies Playground with slides• Lobby & Lounge • Conference & Banquet Halls • Banquet Lawns • Reception, Luggage Store & Travel desk• Wireless internet connectivity• Tennis Court/ Basketball court • Mughal Garden. Our rooms are well integrated with the following features:- Entertainment: • LCD TV with remote • DVD Player • Cable channels Bed Features: • Bed side electronic control panels • Telephone/ cordless • International direct dialling telephones lines Dining: • 24 hours room service • Minibar • Tea/Coffee maker Rooms Features: • Non-Smoking rooms • In-room amenities • Air conditioning • Direct dial telephone • Electrical outlet at desk level • Bathrobes • Bathroom amenities • Hair dryer • Safe • Bathroom telephone • High-speed internet access / WiFi (Surcharge) • Bathtub/shower • Iron and ironing board (On Request)• Minibar • Newspaper on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Orient Taj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing