We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in most respects”
Review of Orient Taj

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orient Taj
Ranked #98 of 144 Hotels in Agra
york
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good in most respects”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

The fountains and gardens at the back of the hotel were worth seeing. The pool area was very good but little used due to the weather. The public areas were clean, tidy and welcoming with good areas to relax. We used the indian food restaurant for dinners and found this good with live musicians playing in the background. Breakfasts were reasonably good with a fair selection of foods.
The location of the hotel was ok but walking from the hotel into the areas nearby was not particularly pleasurable.
The bedroom we had was set in a block set around a central courtyard. It was clean and dry although we found it a little chilly.
Overall staff were ok.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank geditramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_Grand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay and were impressed with the setting of the property as well as quality of accommodation.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    405
    242
    154
    204
See reviews for
547
450
37
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

We really had a bad experience at this hotel. When we arrived to our room the AC didn't work. It was so gross and humid in the room that even the comforter and sheets were damp. The front desk sent someone to fix it and when it still didn't work they just kept sending people. It took multiple request on our part for them to finally change our rooms.
The rooms are outdated and not very clean. The water does not get warm so I took multiple cold showers. Although the exterior and atrium of the hotel are beautiful, the rooms are a different story. The staff were also very poorly managed and the hotel is run very sloppily.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agra hotels

San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a bit eccentric, yet also a great choice for Agra. The grounds are beautiful. Ask for a room looking onto them rather than outward-facing. The rooms have some beautiful details, such as the inlaid stone floors, moulding, and beautiful paint colors. On the other hand, the wood furniture is pretty ugly and oversized, and the finishing work, especially in the bathroom is lousy. So it's an odd mix of lavish and cheap. The bed was very comfortable with nice sheets, yet they also provide crappy grey-white towels. There is an in-room safe and they provide as much bottled water as you like, yet charge $5 per hour for Wifi. There are several choices for restaurants and we had great service in all of them. In fact, despite what other reviewers seemed to experience, all of our encounters with the staff were very positive. The inclusive breakfast was also very good; buffet-style with more Indian than Western choices. All-in-all if you want a nice slightly Disneyland-ish Indian resort in Agra to chill at, it's a pretty good deal.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sfoartboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_Grand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay and were impressed with the setting of the property as well as quality of accommodation. We will definately work on our negatives with a hope of exceeding your expectations whenever we get the chance to serve you again.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Unfortunately we only stayed 1 night to visit the Taj Mahal, would loved to have stayed longer. The hotel and grounds are most attractive-with lit fountains at night. I found the staff very pleasant & accommodating and have already recommended this hotel to anyone visiting Agra.Sorry another reviewer missed breakfast, it was one of the best we had in India with chefs cooking both Indian & Western food to order.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_Grand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay and were impressed with the setting of the property as well as quality of accommodation. Your appreciation is really one of the biggest motivation factors for the entire team.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I visited the hotel with my wife on 14th Feb to show her the beautiful taj mahal and stay at a four star property as her valentine gift..I booked the hotel through their website and payed quite a decent sum for their premier room..I reached the hotel at around 3 pm via a very peaceful journey through Yamuna Expressway..The hotel was true to its word..GRAND at entrance..but may be that was it...First , there was no vallet parking available or anyone to take care of my car when i reached..The check in was easy but the room was not upto the mark of a 4star category hotel..We were stunned by the awesome property it was..The room was ok kinds..Do not expect a very lavish room...The housekeeping dint delivered the in room menu even after calling them almost 10 times in 30 mins...It was pathetic..We were dying due to hunger and they dint care...Also i requested for a cake which they promised to be complimentary...but was delivered to me almost after 1 hour..They also promised to keep a bouqet for my wife in my room but there was none..
The stupid reason they gave me for not keeping the bouqet was that the city is short of flowers due to valentine...Ohh my god..could you believe the stupid excuse they are giving...
Food was ok kinds...buffet breakfast was good..
Overall a very good property but not worthy to stay at all due to poor staff ...Please go for other good 4 star hotels in vicinity but surely not this one..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabs8451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_Grand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are deeply anguished that we let you down and did not come upto your expectations. We will definately work on our negatives. We are also surprised that you did not find the room service menu in your room. All flowers are not always available but definately if we get prior request we try to arrange for them. The cake of course would have taken 15-20 minutes to place as the cake was preplaced as per expected time of arrival but later on while checking the rooms again our team members took the decision of removing it due to delay in arrival and place a fresh cake after arrival.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back and exceeding your expectations.

Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a super hotel, but no consideration was given to compensating guests
when the entire hotel was blacked out from Wifi for Sunday 16th

I asked the front desk several times when Wifi it would be restored they said 9am Monday 17th this never happened

Such lack of consideration is not customer friendliness.

Bottom line we will not stay there again

Albert &Joan

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVKPINK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_Grand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your views on Trip Advisor.

We are deeply anguished that we could not come upto your expectations as the server had crashed and inspite of our technical team continuosly trying we could not restore the wify in the particular time we had assumed we would be able to.

We assure you that whenever given a chance again we will definately exceed your expectations.

Regards,

Taresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver bc
Level Contributor
88 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The shell and grounds of the hotel are very impressive. the rooms are mixed mash of different styles. Looks like some renovations have been done but left half undone. No hot water when we arrived. Wasn't even at a busy time as we arrived late at night. We decided to order room service but had to order a room service menu first. Both orders I have to say was very fast and friendly. Absolutely not information regarding the hotels services or amenities that you would find in most hotel rooms. ie spa, rooms service, pool hours etc.

There are a lot of wonderful hotels to stay at in Agra. Pick a different one.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghalston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_Grand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that you had a nice stay and were impressed with the setting of the property as well as quality of accommodation. We have already started working on our negatives wherever we have disappointed you and assure you of exceeding your expectations whenever we get the chance to serve you again.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 144 in Agra
3,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
1.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 144 in Agra
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Taj

Property: Orient Taj
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282006, India (Formerly Wyndham Grand)
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Orient Taj 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Grand located in the city of Taj, has been built on 18 acres of land with a large frontage. A beautiful hotel property inspired by the intricacy of Mughal architecture with splendid lawns, fountains and ancient interiors that take you back to an era of emperors and princes with the modern facilities. A masterpiece of architecture it is built on ''Mughal Theme'' with world class modern hi-tech amenities. It is attracting global leisure & business Tourists. The royal ambience, the intricate craftsmanship and the beautiful landscape makes it the most preferred destination in the itinerary of tourists. A visual delight for holiday makers as it revives the grandeur of the Mughal Emperors.Wyndham Grand Agra is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic settings, perfect location and world–class amenities. The hotel has 160 spacious suites and rooms. It offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool and a luxury spa. The hotel has a variety of dining options, The Orient Café, Jharokha, Pakhtoon, Zaiqa serve authentic Mughalai , Indian and international cuisines. While Mharo Gaon, the village theme speciality restaurant is one of the major attractions in the city. Experience the heavenly beauty of Agra in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken and rejuvenate your senses … to make you experience pure bliss. We offer many facilities, such as:-• Agra’s largest swimming pool with a submerged Pool Bar • Al-Sehat (Spa), Gymnasium, Steam & Sauna• Ta-Dhin (Discotheque)• Kiddies Playground with slides• Lobby & Lounge • Conference & Banquet Halls • Banquet Lawns • Reception, Luggage Store & Travel desk• Wireless internet connectivity• Tennis Court/ Basketball court • Mughal Garden. Our rooms are well integrated with the following features:- Entertainment: • LCD TV with remote • DVD Player • Cable channels Bed Features: • Bed side electronic control panels • Telephone/ cordless • International direct dialling telephones lines Dining: • 24 hours room service • Minibar • Tea/Coffee maker Rooms Features: • Non-Smoking rooms • In-room amenities • Air conditioning • Direct dial telephone • Electrical outlet at desk level • Bathrobes • Bathroom amenities • Hair dryer • Safe • Bathroom telephone • High-speed internet access / WiFi (Surcharge) • Bathtub/shower • Iron and ironing board (On Request)• Minibar • Newspaper on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Orient Taj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing