We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property but a not so Great Experience!”
Review of Orient Taj

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orient Taj
Ranked #111 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Wyndham Agra is an amazing property with a beautiful layout that holds you mesmerised. Literally makes you feel like an Emperor. Rooms are quite good and large. We stayed at The Jehangir Court and the view from the room was out-of-the-world.
Breakfast was okay not outstanding. The low point was the miser approach of the management. Do not expect free Sauna and Steam as you do in ITC and the upkeep is definitely sloppy. The heaters did not work. All of us were shocked out of our skins with a mid-aged white lady rushing out in a towel after the Fire-Alarm went off. The hooting did not stop for 10 mins. despite calling the front desk.
It is sad that such a beautiful property gets neglected by guests because of the cold unwelcoming approach! Could compete with ITC if amenities and services are improved

Room Tip: Take the Jehangir Court. The long shot view is amazing, only you have to walk down through the garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RPSKohli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay and were impressed with the setting of the property. We apologise for the minor problems faced by you. We hope all our guests understand and appreciate if the fire alarm starts, incase a guest has created such a situation where the same happens due to smoke detection. We also would not switch it off, just so that the noise stops, till the time we have checked all concerned areas to ensure no guest or the property face any harm.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

It was a prime placed service apartments with all amenities. excellent service personnel and front office staff. helped and was very friendly. loved the stay. Food is good. but it is preferable to have food outside. water seeping on the wall was a lil turnoff. on the whole a nice place to crash for yhr weekend

Room Tip: Rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alokjain1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are deeply anguished that we let you down in certain areas and will definately work on improving our selves.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback. We are committed to consistently providing warm and efficient service to our guests and their appreciation is our greatest reward.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

we booked this hotel on recommendations from friends who had just stayed there.
the entrance of the hotel is definitely GRAND but that's where it ended.
we were allocated 2 rooms in the villas. when we got to our room we noticed that there was a very noisy family who were occupying a few rooms in our villa and they were screaming to each other from room to room as well as upstairs to downstairs. we requested the hotel to change our rooms as we knew that if we stayed in the same villa it would be a very disruptive night. we were told that we needed to wait 15 minutes to get another room, to which we agreed. they mentioned that they could give us 1 room with twin beds and the other with a king bed. we were 2 couples but we agreed to this as well. we had our 5 year old son sleeping with us so we required the king room. we were shown the room and as I lifted the duvet I noticed that they joined 2 single beds and placed some cushions in the centre. I was not prepared to accept this so we called reception and informed them. they mentioned that they had no other rooms and I had to accept this room since we were not happy about the 1st room they gave us as well. I told them either give us a proper king size bed or we move to another hotel. they said they'll get back to us. eventually 2 hours after we checked and several calls later in we were finally given another room, the hotel had a problem with their heating system and it was extremely cold, we requested a heater which came in about 15 mins later. we requested extra blankets, they brought in 2 single duvets and supplied that. the chair in the room was wobbly. the shower was in the bath tub. it took 15 minutes for the water to drain out before the next person could go in.
breakfast was good
when we checked out we informed the manager of our disastrous stay. she went as far as denying that we were supplied a room with 2 beds joined to make it into king size.
our friends had stayed in the hotel rooms which were better so if you still decide to stay there insist you get the hotel rooms

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shamjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Hotel is good as the brand name.. really a grand property with the largest swimming pool of Agra in this hotel. rooms are good with modern amenities... kids zone , lush green garden , Jacuzzi , spa, Gym,,,, & the best part is evening folk dance activities.... Food is also good...everything is as per standard..... except room service.. they are not trained as per standard - which plays a major role in hotels.. apart from this everything is awesome.

Thanks & Regards,
Travel Agent In India
+91-9911802491

Room Tip: All are good... every category has its own taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel-Agent-InIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are deeply anguished that we let you down in certain areas and will definately work on improving our selves.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback. We are committed to consistently providing warm and efficient service to our guests and their appreciation is our greatest reward.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting the Taj Mahal and, initially, were very impressed by the hotel. The hotel itself is very attractive with various blocks of rooms attractively located around a central courtyard. We had opted for a deluxe double room and weren't disappointed - the room was very spacious and had everything you could ask for. We had one meal in the hotel and, to be frank, it was a disaster. The food was poor, took an age to arrive and the service was also poor - we were presented with our bill after the main course before we even had a chance to consider a pudding and/or coffee! If we ever return to Agra - and I doubt we will - we would definitely look elsewhere!

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe double
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Wyndham Grand, Agra and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are deeply anguished that we let you down in certain areas and will definately work on improving our selves. The feedback has been shared with the concerned teams, even though the bills are not presented till the guests ask for the same still it might have happened due to some miscommunication. Apologies again for the same.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback. We are committed to consistently providing warm and efficient service to our guests and their appreciation is our greatest reward.

Inspite of your feedback to the contrary we still look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in December 2013 during our tour of India. The hotel is really nice and our suite was lovely. This could have been one of our favourite hotels in terms of the facilities and the standard of the rooms but the service we received was terrible and ruined the stay.

When we arrived, our room was not ready, we did not mind this but were told it would be 10 minutes. We were eventually taken to our room over 30 minutes later making us late for the driver and guide taking us to the Taj. We did explain we needed to go whilst we were waiting and requested they just took our bags for us once it was ready but they would not let us go and insisted we waited. Once we got to the room, our bags took a further 10 minutes to arrive and only came as we were on our way out of the hotel to meet our driver. The staff insisted we went back into the room to take the bags in - they gave no consideration to our schedule and the fact it was their delay that was causing inconvenience to us.

When we returned in the evening, I went to have a bath which was supposed to be a Jacuzzi bath - none of the functions worked, the water was barely warm and then the bath leaked all over the floor. The shower functions did not work either and there was no hot water. The lights did not work and the fire did not work. The maintenance came and change the fire, replaced the fuse and things did work but now the bath no longer held water and so could not be used and there was mud all over the floor from their shoes. They said they would send housekeeping, we waited 30 minutes, nobody came, we called and eventually somebody came and cleaned the floor but not very thoroughly.

At check-out, we were asked about our stay and I said we had had some problems. There was no apology or questions about what had happened I was just handed a form to complete and given my credit card back. The staff did not appear interested at all and were very unfriendly.

I know that things can go wrong in a room and this was not a problem in itself but the attitude of the staff, the constant waiting around for them to solve problems and the lack of interest on check-out all meant that we would never recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah-Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Our expectations for a Wyndham branded property were dashed at this hotel. The property feels quite old and poorly maintained. For example, light fixtures were being held together with ordinary packing tape. The overall management also seemed quite poor. There was a rowdy bachelor party in the room across the hall and even after multiple calls the management wasn't able to quell the noise. At the restaurant the waiter was completely incompetent and the menu listed several items which were not available.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank PickNitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
1.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 144 in Agra
1,614 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Taj

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282006, India (Formerly Wyndham Grand)
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Price Range: $56 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Orient Taj 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Grand located in the city of Taj, has been built on 18 acres of land with a large frontage. A beautiful hotel property inspired by the intricacy of Mughal architecture with splendid lawns, fountains and ancient interiors that take you back to an era of emperors and princes with the modern facilities. A masterpiece of architecture it is built on ''Mughal Theme'' with world class modern hi-tech amenities. It is attracting global leisure & business Tourists. The royal ambience, the intricate craftsmanship and the beautiful landscape makes it the most preferred destination in the itinerary of tourists. A visual delight for holiday makers as it revives the grandeur of the Mughal Emperors.Wyndham Grand Agra is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic settings, perfect location and world–class amenities. The hotel has 160 spacious suites and rooms. It offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool and a luxury spa. The hotel has a variety of dining options, The Orient Café, Jharokha, Pakhtoon, Zaiqa serve authentic Mughalai , Indian and international cuisines. While Mharo Gaon, the village theme speciality restaurant is one of the major attractions in the city. Experience the heavenly beauty of Agra in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken and rejuvenate your senses … to make you experience pure bliss. We offer many facilities, such as:-• Agra’s largest swimming pool with a submerged Pool Bar • Al-Sehat (Spa), Gymnasium, Steam & Sauna• Ta-Dhin (Discotheque)• Kiddies Playground with slides• Lobby & Lounge • Conference & Banquet Halls • Banquet Lawns • Reception, Luggage Store & Travel desk• Wireless internet connectivity• Tennis Court/ Basketball court • Mughal Garden. Our rooms are well integrated with the following features:- Entertainment: • LCD TV with remote • DVD Player • Cable channels Bed Features: • Bed side electronic control panels • Telephone/ cordless • International direct dialling telephones lines Dining: • 24 hours room service • Minibar • Tea/Coffee maker Rooms Features: • Non-Smoking rooms • In-room amenities • Air conditioning • Direct dial telephone • Electrical outlet at desk level • Bathrobes • Bathroom amenities • Hair dryer • Safe • Bathroom telephone • High-speed internet access / WiFi (Surcharge) • Bathtub/shower • Iron and ironing board (On Request)• Minibar • Newspaper on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Orient Taj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing