We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in all ways”
Review of Orient Taj

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orient Taj
Ranked #106 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed March 20, 2013

he most beautiful property of Agra.our family stay was on mid of Feb 2013 . we enjoyed the hospitality.The hotel staff IS excellent ,The hotel has a small viewing area from where you can see the Taj Mahal. Breakfast was sumptuous .. again I must point out that the staff is very friendly and quite helpful.
In terms of cost I think when compared to the other luxury hotels it is definitely lesser but a lot more in terms of value .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chelyama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Wyndham Grand Agra!

We thank you for choosing Wyndham Grand Agra during your visit and for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community.

Your positive observations regarding our property, hospitality, food and staff Excellency is truly inspirational for all of us.

We all look forward to welcome you and your family back at Wyndham Grand Agra in near future.

Thanks and Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,501)
There are newer reviews for Orient Taj
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,008 - 1,014 of 1,501 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here while in Agra this month. It is like an oasis in the desert. You enter a perfectly beautiful resort after being surrounded in the chaos that it India during the day. It is spotlessly clean with good food. The pool is lovely. The only flaw was spotty wifi connection.

Room Tip: I asked for an upstairs room after finding that the downstairs room was a bit mildewed. There was no...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ilene m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Wyndham Grand Agra!

Thank you very much for posting your experience at Wyndham Grand Agra on Trip Advisor and for appreciating the resort, food and our pool facilities.

We have also noted your feedback on Wi Fi connectivity and shall review the same.

Thank you once again for your recognition and we hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits at Wyndham Grand Agra.

Thanks and Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great property, good location - near to the Taj Mahal on one side and Market full of eating options on the other. Suite rooms are really beautiful. They also provide spa services which are good. Bathroom was neat and clean and the shower cabin is a real highlight. Its got crazy lighting and an FM.

Room Tip: Don't take a room in the section which is being renovated, try booking a Suite.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JigyasuBajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Wyndham Grand Agra!

Thank you for your valuable time and feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to note that you have had a great stay with us.

We all look forward to welcoming you back at Wyndham Grand Agra again in future.

Thanks and Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We loved this hotel and its beautiful grounds. Our room (superior) was very nice, though it a large damp patch on the wall and the toilet seat was broken. The setting of the rooms around small courtyards was very effective.

The staff were friendly, the food was good though the drinks were very expensive. The pool area and service was excellent. It was a shame that we couldn't order food around the pool but the only place that served lunch was in the coffee shop on the first floor of the hotel which we thought was a bit strange. The coffee shop was nice but several drinks were unavailable - only international gin was available and then they had no tonic!! We were surprised that all the restaurants were almost empty on both the evenings that we stayed the, as was the bar, though we thought that this was down to the prices. We ate in the Indian restaurant which was very good but it was empty apart from us.

We would definitely use this hotel again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YorkielassEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGrand, General Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Wyndham Grand Agra!

Thank you for taking out time to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your feedback. We have shared your feedback regarding room; bathroom and restaurant experience with our team and would like to assure you that the concerns will be certainly addressed and also assure you of improvements for your future visits to our hotel.


Look forward to welcome at Wyndham Grand in near future.

Thanks and Regards,

Wyndham Grand Agra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

What a great place!!! The hotel and grounds are stunning. The service and food are excellent, and the rooms are big enough with good ambiance. Its around a 5 min car ride from the Taj Mahal and Taj Nature walk is nearby. Good food, rustic village theme open air restaurant, Multi-crusine coffee shop and fine dining Pakhtoon!!! Breakfast was good. Huge property with the biggest swimming pool in Agra, kids pool also available.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brar_harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is very nice and is quite new. In fact there are parts still being built, although we were not subject to any noise or disturbance. It seemed to lack atmosphere and was quite empty. The food is alright, nothing special, but like other 5 star hotels, very pricey. Also very expensive for a beer! Bufffet breakfast is good. The rooms were very impressive and comfortable. Wi-fi was available and we were not charged. The air conditioning was not optimal. The swimming pool is fantastic, and very refreshing after a few hours walk in the sun around the sights. The staff were all very polite and friendly. A credit to the hotel, in fact. The place is immaculetly clean. It is very convenient for the East Gate entrance to the Taj Mahal. On the downside, the hotel could improve by providing a bit more tourist information. Maybe some maps to help people decide how to plan their day could be considered. Whenever I asked about going somewhere, the solution seemed to be to take one of the hotel taxi's or tours, which were expensive. I did hire a taxi and guide for a day through their travel desk, and this service though expensive was really good. There are also Tuk-tuks outside as an alternative, but it would be good to know exactly where you are, and where the sights are, before you leave the hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms nice and comfortable
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bree P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is without doubt the nicest hotel i have ever stayed in. The hotel and grounds are stunning. The service and food are excellent, and the rooms are out of this world. Its around a 10min car ride from the Taj Mahal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 142 in Agra
4,004 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.7 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Taj

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282006, India (Formerly Wyndham Grand)
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Price Range: $40 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Orient Taj 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Grand located in the city of Taj, has been built on 18 acres of land with a large frontage. A beautiful hotel property inspired by the intricacy of Mughal architecture with splendid lawns, fountains and ancient interiors that take you back to an era of emperors and princes with the modern facilities. A masterpiece of architecture it is built on ''Mughal Theme'' with world class modern hi-tech amenities. It is attracting global leisure & business Tourists. The royal ambience, the intricate craftsmanship and the beautiful landscape makes it the most preferred destination in the itinerary of tourists. A visual delight for holiday makers as it revives the grandeur of the Mughal Emperors.Wyndham Grand Agra is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic settings, perfect location and world–class amenities. The hotel has 160 spacious suites and rooms. It offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool and a luxury spa. The hotel has a variety of dining options, The Orient Café, Jharokha, Pakhtoon, Zaiqa serve authentic Mughalai , Indian and international cuisines. While Mharo Gaon, the village theme speciality restaurant is one of the major attractions in the city. Experience the heavenly beauty of Agra in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken and rejuvenate your senses … to make you experience pure bliss. We offer many facilities, such as:-• Agra’s largest swimming pool with a submerged Pool Bar • Al-Sehat (Spa), Gymnasium, Steam & Sauna• Ta-Dhin (Discotheque)• Kiddies Playground with slides• Lobby & Lounge • Conference & Banquet Halls • Banquet Lawns • Reception, Luggage Store & Travel desk• Wireless internet connectivity• Tennis Court/ Basketball court • Mughal Garden. Our rooms are well integrated with the following features:- Entertainment: • LCD TV with remote • DVD Player • Cable channels Bed Features: • Bed side electronic control panels • Telephone/ cordless • International direct dialling telephones lines Dining: • 24 hours room service • Minibar • Tea/Coffee maker Rooms Features: • Non-Smoking rooms • In-room amenities • Air conditioning • Direct dial telephone • Electrical outlet at desk level • Bathrobes • Bathroom amenities • Hair dryer • Safe • Bathroom telephone • High-speed internet access / WiFi (Surcharge) • Bathtub/shower • Iron and ironing board (On Request)• Minibar • Newspaper on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Orient Taj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing