We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Orient Taj

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orient Taj
Ranked #111 of 147 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Didn't have enough time here as we only stayed for one night. Close to the Taj which is what we wanted.
Great service and beautiful buffet for dinner and breakfast.
Didn't get to appreciate this wonderful hotel sd much as would of liked. Next time

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGrand, Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valueable feedback and we look forwrd to welcome you back at Wyndham Grand Agra in near future.


Thanks and Regards,
Vikas Rajput

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,107 - 1,113 of 1,521 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel feels very grand indeed. It's as if you are staying in one of the forts in Agra. The hotel laws are beautifully landscaped with a lovely fountain that comes on every night giving a very majestic look to the hotel. It is about a 10 minute drive to the Taj Mahal.

Rooms are just fine. Certain things need to be paid more attention to like providing shower caps and sanitary bags in the bathrooms. We did have the room service one night but food wasn't anything great and expensive too. Breakfast is a good spread with both Indian and Continental varieties. Would surely recommend this hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: Choose one nearer to the lobby if you don't want to walk too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGrand, Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your valueable time and feedback as it helps us to improve our services and serve our guests in better manner. And we look forward to welcome you back and stay with us in future.

Thanks and Regards,
Vikas Rajput

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel wa quite palatial and clean with exceptional service, The meal in the Pahktoon restaurant in the hotel was one of the best we had in India. I'd definitely recommend the hotel, well worth the price. We stayed in the main part of the hotel, with a lovely, spacious room.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main part of the hotel, with a lovely, spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EGray1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGrand, Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your kind words as it motivates our team to serve our all guests in better manner.

We look forward to welcome you back at Wyndham Grand Agra in near future.

Thanks and Regards,
Vikas Rajput

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Hotels provides you a much needed break from the city life, you feel like a royal guest with the kind of architecture and in room facilities. Hotel staff needs to improve on communication skills, they are not very good with spoken English.


  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Rajat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at this Wyndham this November. It's modern, well designed and comfortable. Also a little expensive at the restaurant and bar. We tend to prefer heritage type hotels, but if you're looking for a hotel that has everything, this is it.

Stayed: November 2012
Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

It is probably the second best hotel in Agra, after the oberoi amar villas.

The rooms are very large. They have the most beautiful gardens. Also it is situated outside the hustle bustle of the main city, but it is very close to the Taj Mahal. all in all, it is probably the best place to stay in Agra.

Also I would like to thank the director Mr. K.K. Sharma for dropping me to Delhi in his car.
Thank you for a wonderful three days.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivek19732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were booked into this hotel by an agency, so weren't too sure what to expect. Overall, the place is very pretty, but comes off making you feel like you're in Las Vegas, not like you're in India. While the rooms are nice and comfortable, as in previous reviews, if you look a little closer, you will see where the veneer is coming lose. Overall, its a nice place. I found to to be quite expensive, however. The best ting it has going for it is that it is very close to the Taj Mahal. We ate in two of the restaurants and both times we were either the only ones there or nearly the only ones. The food was good, though portions were small and again, high priced. While we are glad that we had the experience of staying in this type of hotel, we would probably not stay here again. We would be looking for something a little more authentically Indian and not so "flashy".

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
#14 of 147 in Agra
1,449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
1.3 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 147 in Agra
4,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Taj

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282006, India (Formerly Wyndham Grand)
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 147 Hotels in Agra
Price Range: $73 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Orient Taj 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Grand located in the city of Taj, has been built on 18 acres of land with a large frontage. A beautiful hotel property inspired by the intricacy of Mughal architecture with splendid lawns, fountains and ancient interiors that take you back to an era of emperors and princes with the modern facilities. A masterpiece of architecture it is built on ''Mughal Theme'' with world class modern hi-tech amenities. It is attracting global leisure & business Tourists. The royal ambience, the intricate craftsmanship and the beautiful landscape makes it the most preferred destination in the itinerary of tourists. A visual delight for holiday makers as it revives the grandeur of the Mughal Emperors.Wyndham Grand Agra is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic settings, perfect location and world–class amenities. The hotel has 160 spacious suites and rooms. It offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool and a luxury spa. The hotel has a variety of dining options, The Orient Café, Jharokha, Pakhtoon, Zaiqa serve authentic Mughalai , Indian and international cuisines. While Mharo Gaon, the village theme speciality restaurant is one of the major attractions in the city. Experience the heavenly beauty of Agra in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken and rejuvenate your senses … to make you experience pure bliss. We offer many facilities, such as:-• Agra’s largest swimming pool with a submerged Pool Bar • Al-Sehat (Spa), Gymnasium, Steam & Sauna• Ta-Dhin (Discotheque)• Kiddies Playground with slides• Lobby & Lounge • Conference & Banquet Halls • Banquet Lawns • Reception, Luggage Store & Travel desk• Wireless internet connectivity• Tennis Court/ Basketball court • Mughal Garden. Our rooms are well integrated with the following features:- Entertainment: • LCD TV with remote • DVD Player • Cable channels Bed Features: • Bed side electronic control panels • Telephone/ cordless • International direct dialling telephones lines Dining: • 24 hours room service • Minibar • Tea/Coffee maker Rooms Features: • Non-Smoking rooms • In-room amenities • Air conditioning • Direct dial telephone • Electrical outlet at desk level • Bathrobes • Bathroom amenities • Hair dryer • Safe • Bathroom telephone • High-speed internet access / WiFi (Surcharge) • Bathtub/shower • Iron and ironing board (On Request)• Minibar • Newspaper on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Orient Taj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing