We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful surroundings and great value for money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Orient Taj

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orient Taj
Ranked #81 of 145 Hotels in Agra
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings and great value for money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

The Wyndham Grand is a lovely palatial type hotel that can sweep you away as soon as you enter the gates. We were only staying one night and would have happily stayed longer.

The certificate at reception is an award for best up and coming hotel in Agra and although everything was great, the hotel is so spectacular that anything short on the service becomes noticeable.
We had a few niggles about the service but nothing worth writing about. We didn't use many of the facilities but the pool is fantastic and overal worth a stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    405
    239
    152
    195
See reviews for
539
446
37
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Agra, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

When we arrived the hotel was one problem after another. The service was slow and limited beers, even local ones which seemed odd. The jacuzzi was dry, sauna off and the pool empty. When the bath water was cold I called the reception, they told me that maintenance would arrive but no one did. I called again and a male receptionist came and basically checked to see if I was telling the truth, he then called maintenance and they came and confirmed the water was cold. I was offered another room to have a bath in and to then return to this one... I don't think so. I rate this hotel 1 star.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGrand, Assistant Front Office Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Wyndham Grand Agra and I hope you had enjoyed your stay with us.

I appreciate the time taken to give us your feedback as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavour to provide to our guests.

Experience of our guests’ is first priority for all of us and we welcome feedback to improve aspects of our products and services consistently.

I apologize on behalf of our hotel for the unsatisfactory services you have experienced during your stay and hope to have your forgiveness in this matter.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Wyndham Grand Agra in near future.


Thanking you and with warm wishes,

Vikas Rajput
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agra hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had chosen this Hotel as our "little splash of luxury" during our trip to India.

Well the cost was in the luxury category, but the service certainly was not.

Check in was prompt and efficient, and the room was beautifully furnished, but a long walk through the gardens from the front reception area. Like other reviews have stated, the room smelt, I thought not of dampness but of sewerage.

The bed was very comfortable with beautiful bed linen - the iron was not in the wardrobe, so had to be brought across by housekeeping, and the coffee, tea and sugar provisions were not topped up and we had to ask for extra supplies.

The breakfast was good and the light lunch in the Coffee Lounge was tasty, but off putting to have so many staff watching your every move.

Unfortunately the lovely young lady on the Travel Desk could not understand English, so opted to make our own arrangements, the front reception desk could not change anything under 500 rupees and were very rude. I stood for over 5 minutes waiting to ask a question one morning and was totally ignored by the 4 staff behind the counter. 2 were on the phone and the other 2 were standing directly in front of me and checking receipts.

If this Hotel wants to gain a name for itself with international tourists, it needs to improve the quality of their staff and also provide international papers.

Room Tip: We were in Room 124 at the rear of the property which was a long way to walk from reception. Would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmopan, Belize
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We arrived at this hotel after a long day of travel. When deciding on this hotel we looked at trip advisor reviews and ultimately decided this would be the best deal and more unique experience, though the Radisson Blu was also a good option (with better service reviews) and closer to Taj Mahal. Anyway, upon arrival we were impressed with the grounds. I wouldn't go so far to say that it was grand, but it was very nice and felt somewhat palace like. Checkin took longer than we preferred, but not terrible. Dinner was another story, we ate outdoors at a nice buffet style dinner (food was okay- Indian and some continental dishes), but halfway through dinner someone from the front desk came and interrupted my colleague (a diplomat living in another part of India) to tell her they were unable to give her tax exempt status on the room... Instead of sorting this out directly, the rest of dinner was spent in a back and forth with the staff. After dinner things were assuaged somewhat when staff called the room to say dinner would be comped for our trouble. However at checkout we were still charged and they refused to take it off! Even after we call the manager. Anyway, the Taj experience itself was great the next day and upon return we went to the pool for a snack and to rest before out trek back to Delhi. Again service experience here was inexcusable. We waited for over an hour o get our food. We asked for the bill several times with no success so just left, but ater days overhead that it had ll been wrongly applied to our final bill, which resulted in another headache at checkout. To sum up the experience, this was a nice hotel but with TERRIBLE service. It's really not worth the headache if you are a stickler for good service and efficiency.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiplomaticERA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGrand, Assistant Front Office Manager at Orient Taj, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Wyndham Grand Agra and I hope you had enjoyed your stay with us.

I appreciate the time taken to give us your feedback as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavour to provide to our guests.

Experience of our guests’ is first priority for all of us and we welcome feedback to improve aspects of our products and services consistently.

I apologize on behalf of our hotel for the unsatisfactory services you have experienced during your stay and hope to have your forgiveness in this matter.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Wyndham Grand Agra in near future.


Thanking you and with warm wishes,

Vikas Rajput
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Entering Agra from the highway in a self driven car and finally reaching the hotel was sheer test of patience! The hotel was easy to locate once you got on to the right road, most of the hotels are along the same road.At the Wyndham, the check in was smooth and we were escorted to one of rooms on the ground floor, which are in clusters , spread across a large property. The room was large but with a distinct musty smell. There was damp across the wall next to the bed. We requested for a change of room and were again escorted to another ground floor room...which had the same dampness in the room. The rooms had the amenities without the finesse ! We were in two minds about changing the hotel. Eventually we were upgraded to a suite on the first floor which was really nice and tastefully done. A stark difference from the rooms downstairs, not just because it was a suite but the linen and upholstery was a class apart . The bathroom in the suite had a glass shower cubicle with very fancy gadgets/buttons...i did not venture trying them. There was another open shower area( with no shower curtain) which would wet the entire bathroom if you chose to use it. The fancy shower cubicle was possibly an afterthought !
The food (we ordered in) was very average.But i must give a thumbs up for the staff and service. Very hospitable and friendly. The Taj is a close drive from the hotel. On our return journey we opted fro a different hotel in Agra !

Room Tip: If your budget allows it choose the suites, else look out for another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RanjiniM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priors Marston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, huge rooms, stunning gardens with horse statues and wonderfully efficient and friendly staff. why there were not more guests while we were their I do not know because it seemed the stff outnumbered them. However do not be put off if you are looking for a hotel in Agra this is a must

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RalphPriorsMarston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

the best property that i have come across....when ever ill be there in agra ill come in this hotel for sure..excellent staff the quality of food was just waooo !!!!previously i used to stay in jp but this is far more better than jp and raddison

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank lakshya_parashar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#16 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Taj

Property: Orient Taj
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282006, India (Formerly Wyndham Grand)
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Orient Taj 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Grand located in the city of Taj, has been built on 18 acres of land with a large frontage. A beautiful hotel property inspired by the intricacy of Mughal architecture with splendid lawns, fountains and ancient interiors that take you back to an era of emperors and princes with the modern facilities. A masterpiece of architecture it is built on ''Mughal Theme'' with world class modern hi-tech amenities. It is attracting global leisure & business Tourists. The royal ambience, the intricate craftsmanship and the beautiful landscape makes it the most preferred destination in the itinerary of tourists. A visual delight for holiday makers as it revives the grandeur of the Mughal Emperors.Wyndham Grand Agra is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic settings, perfect location and world–class amenities. The hotel has 160 spacious suites and rooms. It offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool and a luxury spa. The hotel has a variety of dining options, The Orient Café, Jharokha, Pakhtoon, Zaiqa serve authentic Mughalai , Indian and international cuisines. While Mharo Gaon, the village theme speciality restaurant is one of the major attractions in the city. Experience the heavenly beauty of Agra in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken and rejuvenate your senses … to make you experience pure bliss. We offer many facilities, such as:-• Agra’s largest swimming pool with a submerged Pool Bar • Al-Sehat (Spa), Gymnasium, Steam & Sauna• Ta-Dhin (Discotheque)• Kiddies Playground with slides• Lobby & Lounge • Conference & Banquet Halls • Banquet Lawns • Reception, Luggage Store & Travel desk• Wireless internet connectivity• Tennis Court/ Basketball court • Mughal Garden. Our rooms are well integrated with the following features:- Entertainment: • LCD TV with remote • DVD Player • Cable channels Bed Features: • Bed side electronic control panels • Telephone/ cordless • International direct dialling telephones lines Dining: • 24 hours room service • Minibar • Tea/Coffee maker Rooms Features: • Non-Smoking rooms • In-room amenities • Air conditioning • Direct dial telephone • Electrical outlet at desk level • Bathrobes • Bathroom amenities • Hair dryer • Safe • Bathroom telephone • High-speed internet access / WiFi (Surcharge) • Bathtub/shower • Iron and ironing board (On Request)• Minibar • Newspaper on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Orient Taj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing