We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Agra”
Review of Orient Taj

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orient Taj
Ranked #111 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Wyndham Grand is one of the recently launched hotels in Agra and we stayed there for 2 nights. Its one of the most beautifully constructed hotels in Agra completely in sync with the architecture of various monuments like Taj Mahal (main reception building in white marble and remaining buildings in red sandstone). Its luxurious and royal in every sense of the term and also has a XL sized pool. The service, food, ambience - infact everything about the hotel is superb. Please do not miss the numerous lemon trees which have grown in the huge central garden. A great place to stay, and we got it cheap thanks to the off-season!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srininet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,152 - 1,158 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

First impression was WOW! The architecture of the hotel was beautiful, and our room was beautiful. I felt like a luxury stay with restaurants, breakfast hall, disco, pool, gym and a realy nice garden. The staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Luxury stay in Agra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sivanitast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stay for one night in this hotel on my Delhi-Jaipur-Pushkar-Agra trip. I chose this 5-star hotel to end my Golden Triangle trip, which was also my first trip to India. I can't be happy enough I save the best for last!! This hotel has everything I want for luxury stay in Agra; big swimming pool, spa, modern gym, a huge and nicely set garden, just to name a few. From outside it looks like a fort, but from inside it is more like maharajah palace. The lobby was amazingly beautiful with high ceiling and very detail decoration.

I booked Deluxe Room and I got special discount for low season. The rate was including breakfast and free wi-fi.

Location
The hotel is close to Taj Mahal, less than 10 minutes driving if you want to catch the Taj at sunrise. There are several hotels located near Wyndham Grand and most of them are also 5 star hotels. The hotel looks so grand and solid with very high gate from outside, security check is thoroughly strict so you will feel very safe inside the hotel.


I arrived at 8 pm that night after long trip by car from Jaipur. During check-in (which was quite fast), the staff gave me welcome drink, cold towel and took care my luggage. Initially I was given the room next to the elevator. I asked them to change the room as there were a lot of local guests at that time making loud talk, I was afraid it will disturb my sleep. After 10 minutes waiting, they gave me the room 263 at the end of the block, the furthest from elevator. I was so happy; beside it was very quiet, the view was also good, one side facing the huge garden and on the other side facing swimming pool. During that night (probably it's regular), I can hear a slight traditional Indian music performed on the stage housed in the garden. It didn't disturb me, instead it added the Indian ambience on my stay.

Bedroom
Impressively huge for what you call a Deluxe room! It was clean, fresh and has big windows facing pool and garden outside. It has big living room with gigantic wooden cabinet, wooden table, high standing mirror and full set of couches. It also has electric heater that built like firewood place, very nice (although I didn't need it at all!). LCD TV with decent number of international channels. The bed, the pillows, the sheet, all were heavenly. Air condition worked very well. There are study desk and dining table as well. Wi-fi speed was very good, I posted a lot of photos from my laptop and it was free (included in the rate). You need to contact the front desk for password, though. If you want to use wi-fi for your mobile-phone, you need to register your mobile first to front desk for security reason. Safety deposit box is inside the wooden cabinet.

Bathroom
Spacious, but rather plain than the rest of the room. The big cubicle shower was so amazing with multi faucets panels and big rain shower. It was my first time to have a multi faucets shower in hotel room and I really enjoyed my shower more than ever. LOL. The toilettries were standard, not really special, and there were also hair dryer and magnifying mirror. All taps and switch worked well. Clean thick towels, slippers and bathrobe were provided, as expected.

Staff
Most of them are friendly, helpful and speak good English. No hassle at all. They were quick in response and always greet you with smile everytime they passed you.

Dining
On my first night, I ordered the hotel's signature club sandwich. They delivered it exactly within 30 minutes as they said to me when I made order. It was huge sandwich but very good; pricey but worth it regarding the taste, the late night and the fact that I was too tired to go to any restaurants outside the hotel.

Breakfast was what you expected for 5-star hotel, with decent variations and fresh & tasty food. Many of them were Indian food. However, at that time, the restaurant were very crowded, some guests needed to wait for a while to get table.

Facilities
The hotel has a modern gym, salon and spa with huge treatment room and jacuzzi. The swimming pool is now in fully function after the renovation and it was very nice during the hot days. Lot of sunbed and also gazebo around the pool. However I noted no staff attended the pool bar at that time.

I didn't try the gym and spa although looked very nice.


In overall, I recommended this hotel for your stay in Agra, especially if you want to see the Taj Mahal. I think it has good value for a luxurious hotel, with unique garden setting and beautiful interior. Will I come back? Absolutely!

Room Tip: I think my room 263 has one of the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy_zu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The first impression you get is "wow!". The architecture is wonderful. Then the rest of the stay goes downhill from there. The plaster in the rooms are falling down, especially in the bathrooms. The staff is not trained well, know little English and seem to work for tips. no tips=no service.
food is mediocre, especially for an international chain. It was raining the second day and the hotel does not provide umbrellas for the guests. The dining area & the lobby are accessed through an outdoor garden. The last day, we asked the concierge to get the luggage. When the bellhop arrived (after 30 mins), we gave him a tip and showed him our luggage, he disappeared without getting our luggage. it took 3 more calls before the front desk finally sent people to get them.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachelleG19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Good:
This hotel perfectly complements the scale and elegance of The Taj Mahal. Its architecture puts it in the league of castles rather than hotels. Add to it the lavish green open spaces, ravishing fountains and snappy animated sculptures - and what you get is a perfect weekend getaway. Its not very far from Taj Mahal, and thus allows one to visit Taj early in the morning without compromising the breakfast. The rooms are also quite majestic.
Bad:
One major pain point was reaching this hotel.
There are limited signages between the point you enter Agra and upto the hotel. At least the major crossings must have them.
Ugly:
The food prices are a bit over the top. A meal for 2 will trim your riches by a cool 2,000-2,500 (Sans booze).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nilabhkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Wyndam Grand is relatively new and is built to a very high standard. On entering the hotel one is immediately greeted by a spacious and luxurious lobby, which leads to a central garden surrounded by room blocks in a modern interpretation of traditional architecture using contrasting red and beige stonework. Access to the rooms is through the gardens, which lead to smaller courtyards off of which the rooms are arranged. The rooms themselves are furnished luxuriously in keeping with the rest of the hotel. This was the only hotel where Wi-Fi was not complimentary. We took our dinner, which was a buffet service, outdoors alongside the pool. The food was plentiful and good. There are several restaurants elsewhere within the hotel offering different choices. Breakfast was buffet style, good and plentiful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flo-Mal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

When you walk inside this 'modern fort' (that's what i am tempted to call it instead of calling it a luxury hotel), ypu walk into an era where emperors used to exist. The grandeur, the architecture, the 'jaali nakkashi', the retro phones that function, the miniscule designs that adorn the inside of the ceilings....all of it makes it just so breathtakingly different from any other top class luxury hotels.

When you walk past the reception area, you enter a huge open ground that has fountain rows and lush green lawns. On both sides and far ahead, are huge 'buland darwaza' kind of gates, each of which is an entrance to a set of 4 seperate rooms.

The staff is definitely couretous and there are various dining areas, both open and closed. They even have a in-pool bar with stools submerged in water all around. The bar actualy turns into a 'bar' only when you order a drink or beer.

There is a kids area with few jhoolas and best thing is, the floor here is covered with foam like padding so no worries if kids fall on it. Rooms are comfy and elegantly done up.

If you ask me about the food, well the pricing was a great spolier and i couldnt gather any sense or courage in my mind to order food. It was not about affordability. It was about criminal wastage of money. One normal, yellow dal was over Rs. 700. Imagine how much a panner dish would be. I had asked for a glass of milk for my 2 year old son. I was billed Rs. 273 for that! A 30ml Old Monk was priced at Rs. 300 (the full bottle comes at that rate!!)

May be, they should look at the food prices. With everything else at a luxury cost, the food rates could be reduced. We got the food a good dhaba from outside and it tasted as a dhaba food is - yummy, delicious and amazingly priced.

But we did enjoy the in-pool bar and ordered a beer while we took a dip. It was a price we paid for the experience of it, so no issues. You also have complimentary steam, sauna and jacuzzi, so don't forget to use that.

Few cons -
1.The room service is a bit slow, as the property is laid out on a large area.

2. Rooms are elegant but small, in view of number of things they have put in the room. I wonder why couldn't they make the rooms little more spacious when the entire place hinges on the concept of a royal grandness.

3. The food is extremely extremely expensive

4. The fountains, surprisingly are only up and running for 2-3 hrs in evening. I really wanted to sit in the bar area on the first floor, where you have the long line of fountains seen till far. But when we reached there by 9, fountains were all shut.

Overall, its a must visit, and after you have seen the Taj in 1-2 hrs, spend a full day exploring and enjoying this fort of yours. It is surely your ..what can you say, 'Sultanat-E-Holiday'

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ankit g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
1.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 144 in Agra
1,614 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Taj

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282006, India (Formerly Wyndham Grand)
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Price Range: $56 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Orient Taj 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Grand located in the city of Taj, has been built on 18 acres of land with a large frontage. A beautiful hotel property inspired by the intricacy of Mughal architecture with splendid lawns, fountains and ancient interiors that take you back to an era of emperors and princes with the modern facilities. A masterpiece of architecture it is built on ''Mughal Theme'' with world class modern hi-tech amenities. It is attracting global leisure & business Tourists. The royal ambience, the intricate craftsmanship and the beautiful landscape makes it the most preferred destination in the itinerary of tourists. A visual delight for holiday makers as it revives the grandeur of the Mughal Emperors.Wyndham Grand Agra is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic settings, perfect location and world–class amenities. The hotel has 160 spacious suites and rooms. It offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool and a luxury spa. The hotel has a variety of dining options, The Orient Café, Jharokha, Pakhtoon, Zaiqa serve authentic Mughalai , Indian and international cuisines. While Mharo Gaon, the village theme speciality restaurant is one of the major attractions in the city. Experience the heavenly beauty of Agra in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken and rejuvenate your senses … to make you experience pure bliss. We offer many facilities, such as:-• Agra’s largest swimming pool with a submerged Pool Bar • Al-Sehat (Spa), Gymnasium, Steam & Sauna• Ta-Dhin (Discotheque)• Kiddies Playground with slides• Lobby & Lounge • Conference & Banquet Halls • Banquet Lawns • Reception, Luggage Store & Travel desk• Wireless internet connectivity• Tennis Court/ Basketball court • Mughal Garden. Our rooms are well integrated with the following features:- Entertainment: • LCD TV with remote • DVD Player • Cable channels Bed Features: • Bed side electronic control panels • Telephone/ cordless • International direct dialling telephones lines Dining: • 24 hours room service • Minibar • Tea/Coffee maker Rooms Features: • Non-Smoking rooms • In-room amenities • Air conditioning • Direct dial telephone • Electrical outlet at desk level • Bathrobes • Bathroom amenities • Hair dryer • Safe • Bathroom telephone • High-speed internet access / WiFi (Surcharge) • Bathtub/shower • Iron and ironing board (On Request)• Minibar • Newspaper on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Orient Taj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing