We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasure to stay”
Review of Orient Taj

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orient Taj
Ranked #104 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pleasure to stay”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I was on a 3 week tour of India and had booked various styles of hotels. But the Grand lived up to its name!! We were greated by very friendly and helpful staff who were only too obliging to our needs. The large rooms are very clean and comfortable and are like a small suite with what they are serviced with. The beds are very comfortable and a good nights sleep was had after a long days travelling. The rooms are in a courtyard configuration
The food was very good and it was nice to have some western food to just get our stomachs away from the spicey food for a day, Although there is Indian food if you require it. The grounds are huge with a lovely park attached to the hotel with statues in. There is also a flower garden with walks and fountains that light up at night. This area is excellent to be able to chill out in after the hustle and busle of outside.
The swimming pool was huge and it was with regret that I did not have the time to use it. This hotel is vey close to the Taj Mahal and you could walk it at a push. Dont forget to get to the Taj early for the ques.
Having Travelled to many countries throughout the world this hotel come in my favourite Top 10, and my only regret was that I was only there for the day. If I return to Agra I shall longer

Room Tip: Stay a couple of nights and asked for a room that overlook the gardens to enjoy the fountains at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ciderboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    405
    242
    154
    208
See reviews for
550
450
37
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Grand definitely describes this hotel well! Large rooms and bathrooms, very clean. Nice pool and pool bar too! The food at the buffet was good and they serve western breakfast choices along with Indian options. Watch out for rolling power outages all over India though. They can catch you off guard.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaS05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro,nj,usa
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Ideally located, 3KM from the Taj Mahal. The facility is very clean and the staff is very friendly. The restaurants are very pricey but the food was very delicious. Breakfast was included in the package we took. The rooms were decently sized and with adequate amenities. The place looks very royal.

Room Tip: Choose a room with Garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksrajiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed here for a night as we were traveling through Agra to visit the Taj Mahal and the Agra Fort. My first impression walking into the lobby was that the hotel was incredible. There are so many fine details and you can really see and appreciate the Mughal influence.

We arrived very early and no rooms were available, but after only 30-45 minutes we were given a room. The room was immaculate and everything was very nice. Unfortunately after our first impression, things only began to fall apart.

We went to the pool and there were no pool staff around, so we could not get a towel. Eventually a staff came by and provided us towels. The pool area appeared very nice, but upon close inspection of the pool I noticed that there was a lot of mold on the tile in the pool. This either reflects a lack of proper cleaning, or the chemical balance in the water is insufficient. The fountains that look so nice in the hotel pictures are not functional, and the advertised pool bar was not in operation.

We had lunch and dinner at the hotel. The service during both meals was horrible, the food was mediocre at best, and the prices were VERY high. I don't know where a hotel like this thinks they can get off charging 200 Rupees ($4 USD) for a can of Coke. I have spent a great amount of time in India and the standard at higher end hotels is more in the 120-150 INR range. A basic lunch with two cokes, two sandwiches, and a dessert cost us about $60 USD.

One more item of note is the noise. We were trying to go to bed around 11pm and there was construction noise outside of our room. We did not hear any construction noise during the day, but at night it was very apparent. It doesn't seem to make sense why a hotel would start construction when its guests are trying to sleep. It seriously affected our night's sleep.

I would stay here again on account of the actual hotel room, but I would plan to eat and spend my time elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregyaeg186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is a luxury hotel just couple of kms from Taj Mahal, one of the best luxury properties I have ever stayed, very cozy and luxurious rooms, amazing food, every corner of the property is well maintained, and with a palace like structure, gives you feeling of royal life... And a huge swimming pool with bar is icing on cake. Hotel staff is very generous...

Room Tip: Opt for garden facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhishekjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2012

One of the best hotels in Agra, both in terms of location & overall ambience & service.
The rooms are excellent both in decor & size (some rooms)
Dining was a pleasure in this property, but then we are pure indian food fans, so my opinion would be a little biased

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but the best of the lot are the ones in the main building ( housing the rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy6994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airb330
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Property just screams "India!" and is quite beautiful. We were originally booked at the Radisson and got bumped here FYI. The lobby, grounds, and room are all nice. The pool is large, but needs a good cleaning. It has many mold spots on it and the "swim-up" pool bar they advertise never opened. The beautiful fountains were all turned off too. The food is over-priced because they know travelers are not going to go out into Agra for food. I've stayed at 5* properties in New York that didn't overcharge this much. Service was slow too.

The construction noises started around 10 PM. What hotel starts construction around bed time? As an engineer, I had no idea what they could have been doing; they were either shooting a cannon or dropping about 5-10 tons of steel on the ground over and over again. It was really that loud! No apologies or explanations from the staff.

While not a bad place, it just could be a lot better; what you see advertised really is not what you get here currently.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airb330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
1.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 145 in Agra
3,899 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
1.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 145 in Agra
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Taj

Property: Orient Taj
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282006, India (Formerly Wyndham Grand)
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Orient Taj 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Grand located in the city of Taj, has been built on 18 acres of land with a large frontage. A beautiful hotel property inspired by the intricacy of Mughal architecture with splendid lawns, fountains and ancient interiors that take you back to an era of emperors and princes with the modern facilities. A masterpiece of architecture it is built on ''Mughal Theme'' with world class modern hi-tech amenities. It is attracting global leisure & business Tourists. The royal ambience, the intricate craftsmanship and the beautiful landscape makes it the most preferred destination in the itinerary of tourists. A visual delight for holiday makers as it revives the grandeur of the Mughal Emperors.Wyndham Grand Agra is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic settings, perfect location and world–class amenities. The hotel has 160 spacious suites and rooms. It offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool and a luxury spa. The hotel has a variety of dining options, The Orient Café, Jharokha, Pakhtoon, Zaiqa serve authentic Mughalai , Indian and international cuisines. While Mharo Gaon, the village theme speciality restaurant is one of the major attractions in the city. Experience the heavenly beauty of Agra in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken and rejuvenate your senses … to make you experience pure bliss. We offer many facilities, such as:-• Agra’s largest swimming pool with a submerged Pool Bar • Al-Sehat (Spa), Gymnasium, Steam & Sauna• Ta-Dhin (Discotheque)• Kiddies Playground with slides• Lobby & Lounge • Conference & Banquet Halls • Banquet Lawns • Reception, Luggage Store & Travel desk• Wireless internet connectivity• Tennis Court/ Basketball court • Mughal Garden. Our rooms are well integrated with the following features:- Entertainment: • LCD TV with remote • DVD Player • Cable channels Bed Features: • Bed side electronic control panels • Telephone/ cordless • International direct dialling telephones lines Dining: • 24 hours room service • Minibar • Tea/Coffee maker Rooms Features: • Non-Smoking rooms • In-room amenities • Air conditioning • Direct dial telephone • Electrical outlet at desk level • Bathrobes • Bathroom amenities • Hair dryer • Safe • Bathroom telephone • High-speed internet access / WiFi (Surcharge) • Bathtub/shower • Iron and ironing board (On Request)• Minibar • Newspaper on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Orient Taj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing