We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Royal & Spacious Masterpiece - Truly an experience.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orient Taj

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Orient Taj
Ranked #73 of 146 Hotels in Agra
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Royal & Spacious Masterpiece - Truly an experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

I have visited agra many times and have started in some of the finest hotel there. During my last visit to Agra, a few months ago, I had a glimpse of Wyndham Grand Agra, and thought of checking it out for my next visit.

So, a pre-booked Wyndham for my stay ( March 2012) though an online travel portal. After the reservation, I called the direct reservation desk to check the conformation and was pleasantly surprised that they had all the details within minutes of my third party online booking. ( I feel it is a better was to re-conform with hotel about each reservation to be on safer side.

Agra is not really a polite city. There is a natural rudeness in dialect and I have experienced it in the staff of the best five stars of Agra in past years. I was happy to notice that the guys here were must more polite ( i think they were trained better ).

The check-in was quick and I as asked if I had a preference of the room time. I preferred to chose one in the non smoking section.

The hotel is a designer's masterpiece. There is no much detail in every aspect of design. RIght from the lobby, its roof, the passages to room units , doors, walls, decor in the room, the large lawns for walks, the pool, the statues of horses in the lawns.. everything seems to be done with a lot of personal interest.

The staff is non-disturbing and leaves to at peace ( unlike other agra hotels ) Even while you walk though fountain paths, or lawns, and happen to meet a staff, you are subtly greeted with prompt namaskar, and moves off swiftly, leaving you to your privacy. Yes, this is a very private place. I would not recommend it to you if you are looking for lot of activity, except of the the filk dances in the evenings.

The buffet breakfast was nice and normal. Nothing exotic, but good basic, fresh and tasty preparations. There were multiple hot-counters also.

What I liked most:
> Detail of design and implementation.
> Room sizes( 390 soft for a standard room is large as compared to other hotels in same range)
> Electronic switch controls in rooms, including a special 'mood' button.
>The large walk areas, paths, passages
> The subtle approach of staff to everything in attending the guests.

I did not like .
1> Water fixtures in the bathroom. Too tight to operate at times, but they work well.
2> The fountains were not completely used and we wished they don't save money onto this .
3> The greens and flowerbeds around the fountain paths were not manicured to the level of the hotel.

I saw some construction in the backside of the hotel and came to know hotel is opening up soon haveli suits ( similar to amarvilas). Also, a helipad is seemingly coming up inside the hotel.


Overall, I was satisfied with the hotel and its services. I would like to stay here again, if the prices don't go up drastically, which I feel may happen. I hope they retain this quality and details in future too.

Room Tip: Try if you can get a ground floor room with garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshOnGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    400
    236
    150
    192
See reviews for
529
444
37
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

We arrived a the hotel with two prepaid rooms at 1045 on a Friday night. Our local travel agent personally called them and reconfirmed our late arrival with them at 17:00 that afternoon. There was a big wedding there and they had given our rooms away. It took them nearly 45 minutes to admit this along with a very farfetched fabricated story and inform us they had rebooked us at two DIFFERENT hotels on the other side of town! The other couple was our daughter and son in law and we didn't want to be separated. After much argument, they finally arranged us a suite at another hotel with two roll away beds in the living room. Not a great experience at the time. By the time we got settled is was extremely late. They were not apologetic at all and the general manager NEVER returned our call. I also sent a comment to Wyndham customer service in the US and again NO reply. Our treatment, the lack of honesty and the utter lack of caring about what they did was so bad, I will never stay at this or any other Wyndham again. If you go to Agra stay at the Oberoi, the Taj, Trident or any other rated hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agra hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
306 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

A good choice in Agra. Beautiful gardens and the rooms are very spacious and in mogul style centred around a courtyard. It was a little noisy at night from fireworks from a nearby wedding but nothing major. Good breakfast with excellent service. The bindi and lei on arrival were a really lovely touch and there was good security (like every hotel we stayed at in India. Our only real negatives are the restaurant prices (very expensive) and the water in the bathroom wasn't hot ony luke warm......which would be a problem in the cooler months for sure. Overall the Wyndham Grand was an affordable slice of luxury in Agra and we would definately return for the oasis it offered.

Room Tip: We visited the Taj Mahal from the West gate at 4pm in the afternoon for sunset and there were NO que...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Booked a suite for 2 nights as going to Taj Mahal a lifetime dream and a very romantic location to find on the first night that they had put us in a standard room. When asked why we were told to go through booking agent and it was nothing to do with them even though the booking form said "SUITE". Woman very rude and not very helpful. We had booked 6 months prior to our holiday. Spoilt a stay that had been booked in advance at an expensive hotel not the standard that you would expect.

Room Tip: Check they have given you the right one!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hedgehog50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

All 31 of us arrived at the Wyndham Grand Agra at night and we were warmly welcomed with flower leis and beating drums.

The staff was gracious and our room assignments were arranged with minimal delay. The hotel is not a conventional hotel because it feels more like a resort with many of the rooms located in separate building behind the main hotel surrounding a beautiful garden. The buildings are designed like the old architecture and the rooms are well adorned in Indian motif. We felt like we had gone back in time and checked inatbone of the emperor's palaces.

Service was good but not exceptional.

Great photo opportunities. We found in-room dining a little expensive but the pro ports were generous.

Breakfast buffet was standard.

I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

Beautiful room especially comparing the other great hotels in Agra. Room was large, scious and the staff were very plesent and respectful. The architecture is similar to te mughal era structures that you find across Agra. Breakfast too is well laid out withite a few options for all palates. Overall a beautiful experience and definately recommended

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abhinavarya10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

My two friends and I stayed here for a quick one night stay during our tour of India. I thought the experience was first class. The rooms are big and beautifully appointed. The grounds are very lush with flowers and fountains. The service was excellent. I loved the beautiful entrance way and receiving a garland of flowers upon entry. My only complaint is that during our dinner dining at the restaurant’s outdoor buffet restaurant, my friends and I got completely eaten up by mosquitoes. I alone, must have had at least 100 bites on my feet and calves. That was unfortunate, however the food, service and ambiance at the restaurant was very good. Although our room was lovely, the button on the wall in the bathroom to flush the toilet was very hard to maneuver. My friends and I remarked that you really have to put 100% of your weight and strength into your press just to be able to flush the toilet. I don’t know if this is with all of the rooms, or just unique to our room #151, but you will get a workout. It is a very nice place to relax and stroll after a long day touring the Taj Mahal. I would definitely recommend it to friends (but bring your mosquito spray!!)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaWatDeeKah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 146 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#16 of 146 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 146 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Taj

Property: Orient Taj
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282006, India (Formerly Wyndham Grand)
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 146 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Orient Taj 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Grand located in the city of Taj, has been built on 18 acres of land with a large frontage. A beautiful hotel property inspired by the intricacy of Mughal architecture with splendid lawns, fountains and ancient interiors that take you back to an era of emperors and princes with the modern facilities. A masterpiece of architecture it is built on ''Mughal Theme'' with world class modern hi-tech amenities. It is attracting global leisure & business Tourists. The royal ambience, the intricate craftsmanship and the beautiful landscape makes it the most preferred destination in the itinerary of tourists. A visual delight for holiday makers as it revives the grandeur of the Mughal Emperors.Wyndham Grand Agra is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic settings, perfect location and world–class amenities. The hotel has 160 spacious suites and rooms. It offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool and a luxury spa. The hotel has a variety of dining options, The Orient Café, Jharokha, Pakhtoon, Zaiqa serve authentic Mughalai , Indian and international cuisines. While Mharo Gaon, the village theme speciality restaurant is one of the major attractions in the city. Experience the heavenly beauty of Agra in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken and rejuvenate your senses … to make you experience pure bliss. We offer many facilities, such as:-• Agra’s largest swimming pool with a submerged Pool Bar • Al-Sehat (Spa), Gymnasium, Steam & Sauna• Ta-Dhin (Discotheque)• Kiddies Playground with slides• Lobby & Lounge • Conference & Banquet Halls • Banquet Lawns • Reception, Luggage Store & Travel desk• Wireless internet connectivity• Tennis Court/ Basketball court • Mughal Garden. Our rooms are well integrated with the following features:- Entertainment: • LCD TV with remote • DVD Player • Cable channels Bed Features: • Bed side electronic control panels • Telephone/ cordless • International direct dialling telephones lines Dining: • 24 hours room service • Minibar • Tea/Coffee maker Rooms Features: • Non-Smoking rooms • In-room amenities • Air conditioning • Direct dial telephone • Electrical outlet at desk level • Bathrobes • Bathroom amenities • Hair dryer • Safe • Bathroom telephone • High-speed internet access / WiFi (Surcharge) • Bathtub/shower • Iron and ironing board (On Request)• Minibar • Newspaper on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Orient Taj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing