We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Touristy city and touristy hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orient Taj

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Orient Taj
Ranked #76 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Touristy city and touristy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

We only stayed here for 1 night and it was overall enjoyable. Since its a new property it is nice but we found the finishes to lack authenticity. Not integrated into the city but I don't think much is in agra. Close to the taj mahal so good location. Breakfast was good with many options both Indian and non-Indian but quality of food was just good. Free wi-fi was a great bonus.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drJ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    400
    236
    150
    192
See reviews for
529
444
37
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Level Contributor
270 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

We were in this lovely property from Feb 12 - Feb 13 a one night stay. But after visiting the property we felt should have been more for another one day. So all of you if you are planning stay in this property make it a 2 night stay..- 1 night for agra & another full day just for the property. Beautiful property absolutely well maintained. You cant stop saying an Awwww....after seeing it..In night it looks all the more beautiful with all the fountains and lightings on..The service can be a bit quicker food was great...rates are reasonable...Just one request if they can put up more signage boards regarding the location as we had a tough time locating it...So we will be catching up with you soon agagin...Ours was a family stay and my in-laws just loved it...Lovely garden, gorgeous landscaping, staff was good. Since it was our anniversary we were provided with a eggless complimentary cake which was just yummy. The rooms were spacious with a nice TV for entertainment. It is pretty nearby to Taj and since a bit far from market area you dont have much choices but to dine in the hotel itself. But they have got a lovely choice and tasty food so no worries. Their restaurants are really remarkable. The property is just quiet and clam its in a huge area

Room Tip: All rooms are good prefer to take in the Jahangir court as they are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SWLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

The rooms were set in individual Villas dotted around the perimeter of formal gardens; the setting was stunning at night.

The rooms were quite grand and well furnished with smart bathrooms.

The unheated outdoor pool was freezing (in February) and I found the gym facilities a little disappointing for a hotel of this quality.

The food, indoors and outdoors, was very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asclepios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed for one night on my 50th birthday, a truly memorable place for all the right reasons. The service was excellent on our arrival and throughout our stay, and we were made to feel very welcome. The building and grounds are beautiful with quality materials and with great attention to detail. Reception, breakfast room and our suite all huge with lavish chandeliers, curtains, furniture and decor. The food was also excellent. I would have liked to stay longer!

Room Tip: Our suite overlooking the gardens on the first floor was stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

The first thing you notice - security. Big gates welcome you into what can only be classed as a very good attempt at presentation and style. Once you through the bag checks you are welcomed by reception staff with garlands and a neatly placed red dot on your forehead. Definately not something we are used to upon entering a hotel. All the same it was different and made us smile. Check-in did take an age, but once things were done we were escourted through the gardens and water features to our stunning room. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom emenities are adequate. The main dining and bar areas are very good. Well staffed and gave a decent area to relax. The breakfast restaurant is large and offered a reasonable selection of food. Not brilliant, but ok - just. The hotel does represent a safe, comfortable, and calm oasis from the total caos that exudes outside the big gates. I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ausman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

Amazing value for a really nice place to get out of the Indian "circus". The website descriptions seemed unreal when comparing to the other "resort type" Agra prices. However we found the WGA to have nice, quiet villa situated rooms and very attentive staff. The property was only half full and so very calm and relaxing.

The weather was sunny but coolish so we didn't sit by the beautiful pool area. Adjacent to the pool is a spa and exercise facility. The spa offered complimenary sauna, steamroom and jacuzzi pool. We toured these to see what was on offer but did not partake. (too short of a stay to take in all of Agra)

The included breakfast is buffet style and consisted of Asian/Indian and American choices and was accompanied by continuous coffee or tea service. We had the dinner buffet one evening. Buffets are not my thing ever but the variety was a nice change from our usual Indian meals. The salad and fruit offerings have so far not caused any of the typical digestive issues that usually accompany uncooked food in this part of the world.

Getting around Agra is a separate charge and arranged by the front desk staff. Even the drivers of the clean taxis have vendor or guide friends that "show up" along your route to try to get your money for something.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eatgdfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

My husband and I only spent 1 night here but we were very happy with the hotel and the staff.Very clean rooms and the bathroom. Beautiful grounds, wish we had more time to explore further.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#16 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Taj

Property: Orient Taj
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282006, India (Formerly Wyndham Grand)
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Orient Taj 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Grand located in the city of Taj, has been built on 18 acres of land with a large frontage. A beautiful hotel property inspired by the intricacy of Mughal architecture with splendid lawns, fountains and ancient interiors that take you back to an era of emperors and princes with the modern facilities. A masterpiece of architecture it is built on ''Mughal Theme'' with world class modern hi-tech amenities. It is attracting global leisure & business Tourists. The royal ambience, the intricate craftsmanship and the beautiful landscape makes it the most preferred destination in the itinerary of tourists. A visual delight for holiday makers as it revives the grandeur of the Mughal Emperors.Wyndham Grand Agra is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic settings, perfect location and world–class amenities. The hotel has 160 spacious suites and rooms. It offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool and a luxury spa. The hotel has a variety of dining options, The Orient Café, Jharokha, Pakhtoon, Zaiqa serve authentic Mughalai , Indian and international cuisines. While Mharo Gaon, the village theme speciality restaurant is one of the major attractions in the city. Experience the heavenly beauty of Agra in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken and rejuvenate your senses … to make you experience pure bliss. We offer many facilities, such as:-• Agra’s largest swimming pool with a submerged Pool Bar • Al-Sehat (Spa), Gymnasium, Steam & Sauna• Ta-Dhin (Discotheque)• Kiddies Playground with slides• Lobby & Lounge • Conference & Banquet Halls • Banquet Lawns • Reception, Luggage Store & Travel desk• Wireless internet connectivity• Tennis Court/ Basketball court • Mughal Garden. Our rooms are well integrated with the following features:- Entertainment: • LCD TV with remote • DVD Player • Cable channels Bed Features: • Bed side electronic control panels • Telephone/ cordless • International direct dialling telephones lines Dining: • 24 hours room service • Minibar • Tea/Coffee maker Rooms Features: • Non-Smoking rooms • In-room amenities • Air conditioning • Direct dial telephone • Electrical outlet at desk level • Bathrobes • Bathroom amenities • Hair dryer • Safe • Bathroom telephone • High-speed internet access / WiFi (Surcharge) • Bathtub/shower • Iron and ironing board (On Request)• Minibar • Newspaper on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Orient Taj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing