We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms and grounds”
Review of Orient Taj

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orient Taj
Ranked #98 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Melaka
Level Contributor
145 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms and grounds”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

This hotel, which used to be the Taj Orient, is just down the road from the Taj Mahal. It is set in lovely grounds, modelled after Mughal gardens. Our room was on the ground floor of a small building standing by itself at the side of the garden. The rooms are set around a central courtyard. Inside, the furniture and fittings are luxurious and ornate. The only quibble I have is that the marble floors make the room a little chilly in winter.
Dinner in their formal Indian restaurant was excellent. Breakfast was fairly good too. Service was attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inftraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    405
    242
    154
    204
See reviews for
547
450
37
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We booked the hotel through Makemytrip.com (we booked our flights and then found out we get a 500 rs discount if we book our hotel through them). So glad we stayed here! The hotel was a Taj Orient before and is now a Wyndham. The grounds are stunning and the rooms are in groups of "villas". The service at the hotel is quite good and the staff try to help as much as they can. We stayed in two rooms - unfortunately they did not have any baby cots but the beds are extremely comfy and huge (king sized) so our travel bed fit nicely between us. We also paid for an additional bed in one room and this bed was also very comfy (additional 1500 rs through makemytrip booking). Overall the hotel grounds look amazing with a "modern traditional look" while the rooms (especially the bathrooms) have a fully traditional look). The staff were nice enough to provide a late check out (we went to the Taj Mahal and came back to check out at 1:30 p.m.)

There is free wifi which worked easily on our phones but we encountered some issues when trying to connect through our laptop. We called to ask for some help and was told someone would be over in 5 mins... an hour and three calls later we finally got someone! Also check in took about 20 mins ( though they did let us sit down in a nice area and sent over some warm rose tea to warm us up!). I've been using the 110 shaving outlets in the hotels for my breast pump (easy to feed a baby on the go at the heritage sites) and this particular outlet's power was very low. Another thing to point out is that the bathroom water is warm but not hot.

The breakfast buffet is pretty basic but good enough. We also had the buffet dinner, the puppet show is a joke (extremely annoying noises!) but the dancers were entertaining. The hotel pool is gorgeous but we unfortunately did not have time to test the waters out (it is outdoors and not heated).

Overall, we were a group of 5 adults and a two month old in two rooms and we all enjoyed our very short stay (got in at 7 p.m and left the next afternoon).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YasHKinZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

The Wyndham Grand/Orient Taj was one the last hotels we stayed in on our tour of India. Up to this point, we'd been staying in heritage hotels, so it made quite a change to be in a western style, modern, grand hotel. It was spotlessly clean, run like clockwork - and everything really did work, even the fancy light panel in the bedroom.

The room was very spacious, the bed comfortble, the funishings rich, and the food very well cooked and prepared. However, for all that, it lacked character. It felt un-real and sterile.

Also, as other reviewers have commented, I felt we were being watched like a hawk when in the restaurant. I had literally taken just one mouthful of my food before I was asked if everything was okay. Followed closely by another couple of staff asking the same. I think I spent more time saying I was okay than actually eating my food. Things would be so much better if they just relaxed a little and were a little less earnest. Having said that, the food was excellent.

On the downside, the reception staff and duty manager was less than helpful when my daughter tried to cash a travellers cheque - a brusque "no" was all she got, even though I had cashed one just an hour or so earlier. And even though I had been assured I would be able to get an early breakfast prior to our sunrise visit to the Taj Mahal, everywhere was closed and in darkness. So, no breakfast.

Finally, the prices in this hotel come as a bit of a shock after the rest of India. We're talking top London restaurant prices. The food was good, but not that good.

And one small point of detail, but one which was quite frustrating - the Wifi log in procedures were tortuous and so unnecessary when the only people who could possibly get past the stringent hotel security would be bona fide guests.

I would recommend this hotel only for those who crave a top-end western style hotel during their trip to Agra.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tervuren, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

quiet oasis near the Taj. Great bed and linens. Clean. Quiet. Great staff. I would stay there again. The pool is amazing but I was there in Nov so it was too cold, but it looks inviting. Three restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snitz020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

My 2 days stay in the hotel was quite..it's actualy quite. You don't feel you in Agra. Hotel is huge.. Rooms are good.. The best looking area is the swimming pool. You see the pool and you feel like lumping into it.. Service is good..not great.. But they easily get awAy. Their Indian speciality restaurant called has a nice ambience and decor. Good live sitar playing. Pleaset service but food has to be taken care off..though it isn't bad.

Overall a good upcoming property, needs service improvisation and voila..a very good stay ensured.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pritiweekendtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac Lake, Ny
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

it is a beautiful facility in Agra, which is not exactly picturesque. The building and grounds are simply lovely, as are the rooms. Staff is a bit too solicitous but most helpful. The dinner restaurant was pricey but the breakfast buffet was generous, varied and delicious.

There was an issue of the credit card company not responding to my charges (which always makes me suspicious that the vendor simply wants cash) but it was resolved by the mgr.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myrnarock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I have been there with my group, on Deepawali night we were there, Completely indian food which a indian would love but my group of Chinese people no choice, It was pre-booked and paid, but they specially come and ask for drinks which my group didnt knw it was separately charged and they never show menu and cost of any of the drink, just after the meals when my group was ready to move towards to the rooms they stopped and ask to make the payment which was really high. They should give us menu or they should tell us its chargeable. NO shampoos in Bathrooms but conditioner was there, which makes you more upset. Breakfast was awesome. Lunch at 1st floor coffee house. Amazing service with good staff. this staff make this trip fruitful.

we also faced the issue of baggage handling. Nobody visited help us with luggage.

Internet is FOC but doesnt work properly.

But room service was good.

Still i will surely visit this hotel again. As i will say these all things can be improve...and might be next trip this hotel management will serve us better.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VarunKhera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 144 in Agra
3,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
1.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 144 in Agra
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Taj

Property: Orient Taj
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282006, India (Formerly Wyndham Grand)
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Orient Taj 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Grand located in the city of Taj, has been built on 18 acres of land with a large frontage. A beautiful hotel property inspired by the intricacy of Mughal architecture with splendid lawns, fountains and ancient interiors that take you back to an era of emperors and princes with the modern facilities. A masterpiece of architecture it is built on ''Mughal Theme'' with world class modern hi-tech amenities. It is attracting global leisure & business Tourists. The royal ambience, the intricate craftsmanship and the beautiful landscape makes it the most preferred destination in the itinerary of tourists. A visual delight for holiday makers as it revives the grandeur of the Mughal Emperors.Wyndham Grand Agra is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic settings, perfect location and world–class amenities. The hotel has 160 spacious suites and rooms. It offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool and a luxury spa. The hotel has a variety of dining options, The Orient Café, Jharokha, Pakhtoon, Zaiqa serve authentic Mughalai , Indian and international cuisines. While Mharo Gaon, the village theme speciality restaurant is one of the major attractions in the city. Experience the heavenly beauty of Agra in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken and rejuvenate your senses … to make you experience pure bliss. We offer many facilities, such as:-• Agra’s largest swimming pool with a submerged Pool Bar • Al-Sehat (Spa), Gymnasium, Steam & Sauna• Ta-Dhin (Discotheque)• Kiddies Playground with slides• Lobby & Lounge • Conference & Banquet Halls • Banquet Lawns • Reception, Luggage Store & Travel desk• Wireless internet connectivity• Tennis Court/ Basketball court • Mughal Garden. Our rooms are well integrated with the following features:- Entertainment: • LCD TV with remote • DVD Player • Cable channels Bed Features: • Bed side electronic control panels • Telephone/ cordless • International direct dialling telephones lines Dining: • 24 hours room service • Minibar • Tea/Coffee maker Rooms Features: • Non-Smoking rooms • In-room amenities • Air conditioning • Direct dial telephone • Electrical outlet at desk level • Bathrobes • Bathroom amenities • Hair dryer • Safe • Bathroom telephone • High-speed internet access / WiFi (Surcharge) • Bathtub/shower • Iron and ironing board (On Request)• Minibar • Newspaper on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Orient Taj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing