We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A class hotel with zero service”
Review of Orient Taj

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orient Taj
Ranked #106 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stayed there for two nights A great Looking Hotel nice rooms good food and very very bad service.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajmadurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,501)
There are newer reviews for Orient Taj
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,287 - 1,293 of 1,501 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2011

This is truly a beautiful hotel. I found the service to be quite friendly, efficient and accommodating. Each little block of rooms has its own courtyard. The rooms are a bit strangely decorated (too much furniture) but comfortable. The hotel was nearly empty, which I found strange but preferable to the loads of tour buses coming and going. We went elsewhere for dinner but enjoyed cocktails at their lovely bar and a fantastic breakfast. I will also say that the free wireless internet was a welcome change from the other hotels we visited. I think I may try another hotel if I returned to Agra, but I would not be disappointed to have to stay here again. This property is very good as it is, but it has the potential to be great.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clh6262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

A hotel with old world charm of haveli s of Rajasthan , yet fitted with all modern facilities .

Room Tip: Can't say !
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DOSIMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We went there in a large group of about 8 families. The place has all the amenities required for a decent getaway. Ideally located very close to the Taj Mahal. The rooms were very spacious and nice. The decor was very up to the mark. The bathrooms was spacious and well maintained except for the shower head in our room which was a little clogged up. They were also unable to cater to our request for a large number of spare bed and a few of us had to make do on the first night cramped in one bed. Although I must say that the beds were quite big and spacious. The pool was big nice and well maintained. The morning buffet was quite extensive and nice. The food was very expensive though when we ordered a-la-carte. Though with a mall nearby, it did not prove to be too much of a problem. The staff was courteous and friendly. Overall .... two thumbs up.

Room Tip: Get garden facing rooms on the upper levels.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sameer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

First impressions on arriving was 'Wow!'. The place looks great, and we stayed for a few days and got to know the place. Some of the things will echo other reviews. These are not necessarily criticisms, but meant as constructive feedback for the hotel to achieve what it clearly aspires to.
1. It's virtually empty, and yet we were put next to the building site.
2. The service is overpowering. They've obviously been trained to greet every customer at every opportunity and check with everything was ok, but sadly they haven't been sufficiently trained in how to provide it. At this level, staff must be far better trained and less sloppy. Whether it's slapping food down on the table in any old manner. Failing to recognise that guests need tables to put food on, when by the pool, or napkins. Staff are very well meaning and polite, but they really don't have a clue. They need more training, and stronger leadership if the hotel is to achieve what it aspires to be.
3. Don't eat dinner in the restaurants. The food is merely adequate, but expensive. Breakfast is good though, and the Dosa's are excellent.
4. They really don't have many staff. In 3 days, I got to know all of them quite well! I guess as it's so empty, they don't need many staff....
5. Who fitted the rooms? Very big and nicely designed, but then the electrical switches and the bathroom light was from the local budget hardware store. Really broke the image of luxury! On the subject of which, my bedside sockets were broken. I reported it and was told that they were fixed. They weren't. The embarrassed manager went to check himself and apologised. Fact is, there's a slap-dash / that will do attitude undercurrent in the hotel. A walk in the gardens shows lots of stuff falling apart etc. Given it's a new hotel, some parts look less than impressive if you wander from the core pathways.

I don't want to put people off from going here. It's worth staying here if you get a good deal. It's so close to being a great place, but too many little things get in the way. I'm sure they'll sort it out.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kossuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Totally surprised by the size of this beautiful hotel - more like a resort. Food and rooms fine but the reception areas and restaurants very comfortable. Enjoy the taj mahal - it truly is amazing and way better than I had ever imagined.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enid24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Everything about the hotel looks fantastic - grounds, lobby, rooms, pool area, dining areas, etc. The service was generally very good as well. A couple of minor issues prevented me from giving this 5 stars:
* Issues with items in my room. The bedside control panel was broken, and the floor lamp fell apart when I touched the shade to turn it off. Neither were big problems, but it does make you wonder what might be lurking below the surface.
* I was sick a night I was there, but tried to go to dinner with my friends anyway. After literally 1 bite of food and half a bottle of beer I realized I couldn't sit there any longer and would not be able to eat, so I left. My friends were charged for my meal anyway (with I think a small discount). IMO this is somewhat shoddy for a luxury hotel - my "meal" should have been comped when it was clear I wasn't eating (it was buffet-style, mind you, so I didn't order and waste a large pile of food, only a couple of small appetizers that had been brought to me).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriangleMan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 142 in Agra
4,004 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.7 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Taj

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282006, India (Formerly Wyndham Grand)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Price Range: $40 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Orient Taj 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Grand located in the city of Taj, has been built on 18 acres of land with a large frontage. A beautiful hotel property inspired by the intricacy of Mughal architecture with splendid lawns, fountains and ancient interiors that take you back to an era of emperors and princes with the modern facilities. A masterpiece of architecture it is built on ''Mughal Theme'' with world class modern hi-tech amenities. It is attracting global leisure & business Tourists. The royal ambience, the intricate craftsmanship and the beautiful landscape makes it the most preferred destination in the itinerary of tourists. A visual delight for holiday makers as it revives the grandeur of the Mughal Emperors.Wyndham Grand Agra is perfect for an extended break with its idyllic settings, perfect location and world–class amenities. The hotel has 160 spacious suites and rooms. It offers many leisure options, including a large swimming pool and a luxury spa. The hotel has a variety of dining options, The Orient Café, Jharokha, Pakhtoon, Zaiqa serve authentic Mughalai , Indian and international cuisines. While Mharo Gaon, the village theme speciality restaurant is one of the major attractions in the city. Experience the heavenly beauty of Agra in all its tranquil glory. Recreated and preserved to awaken and rejuvenate your senses … to make you experience pure bliss. We offer many facilities, such as:-• Agra’s largest swimming pool with a submerged Pool Bar • Al-Sehat (Spa), Gymnasium, Steam & Sauna• Ta-Dhin (Discotheque)• Kiddies Playground with slides• Lobby & Lounge • Conference & Banquet Halls • Banquet Lawns • Reception, Luggage Store & Travel desk• Wireless internet connectivity• Tennis Court/ Basketball court • Mughal Garden. Our rooms are well integrated with the following features:- Entertainment: • LCD TV with remote • DVD Player • Cable channels Bed Features: • Bed side electronic control panels • Telephone/ cordless • International direct dialling telephones lines Dining: • 24 hours room service • Minibar • Tea/Coffee maker Rooms Features: • Non-Smoking rooms • In-room amenities • Air conditioning • Direct dial telephone • Electrical outlet at desk level • Bathrobes • Bathroom amenities • Hair dryer • Safe • Bathroom telephone • High-speed internet access / WiFi (Surcharge) • Bathtub/shower • Iron and ironing board (On Request)• Minibar • Newspaper on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Orient Taj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing