We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place in Agra”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Friends Paying Guest House
Ranked #6 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Agra
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Managed by one of the young family sons, Bilal, FFriends Paying Guest House is a perfect place to stay when visiting Agra. The rooms are silent and clean, an the environment at the place is so nice. In Friends Paying Guest House you can feel being at home. The family is very friendly and Bilal, the son who cares about the guests is always making wathever people need to feel confortable, helping in anything you need at any time. He's a very funny young guy and you can trust him for anything you need. In addition, the Guest house is not in the Taj Ganj zone, wich is very stressing place,but it is only 10 minutes walking from Taj Mahal, so it's perfect for those who look for calm and friendly environment. Very nice and fresh food too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 387 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

At first our electricity didn,t work when every oher room did, when we told them they were slow to help and didn't seem to care. The promise of a hot shower was a lie it was very cold although the staff shower is hot, kick up a fuss and they give you a bucket of hot water. It was close to Taj Mahal but many hotels are this one was very noisy but I don't think I can blame the location as most of the noise was coming from the owners of the hotel themselves. The owners son was over friendly and very nosey, he looked over our shoulder when on the computer and questioned every desicion we made, I got the impression he didn't like us doing anything unless it was through them. For 500 Ruppes I guess it's ok but I think it better to pay a bit more a get a nicer place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uelmcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The owner's son first took me to a single room, which is used obviously for their staff. The ceiling is under the stairs, so its small. Then he took me to a double room and i bargened so hard to get 300. He always tells the guest to tell other people that i get the room for 500. (this is proofed by other guest.) the toilet is attached, but no hot water. I need to go up stairs to use public bathroom. You will need their help to switch on the hot water. But the son rushed (remind) me to take a shower every 3 minutes. I cant be bothered so i went for shower. The hot water only last for HALF bucket!!!!! I guess it needs more time to heat up, but, again, they will push you to shower a.s.a.p. for some reasons.
Dont stay at the room on the first floor. You will hear 3~5 men chatting loudly at the front. Their voice is so loud, sometimes even yelling.
The food is expensive, most items are more then 100Rs. No rice before 11:30 am.
The only good thing is that the wifi is free. You can only use at dining.
The daughter tried to give me henna so she can charge me for 50 Rs. The younger brother tried to sell tissue roll for 50 Rs....

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anny2216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Good location, near to taj mahal. good price but not trustful staff and not hot water. Food expensive and yusuf (one of the stuff) will try to get your money in a kindly way. He booked us (paying him extra money for his services of course) 5 train tickets. one of them was too close to grab the train after the visit in one city but. He insisted that was enough time…Ok, finally we lost that train and the three next ones (and also the money as well) So this hostel is not good to book tickets at all. do it by your own or even in other place. restaurant is expensive, there is a good one just crossing the street on the right.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeylaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendguesthouse, Manager at Friends Paying Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you for your Review . We provide here Home Food not Street Food . In Home Cooking My mom She use Best Spices and Best Oil in the Food because Same Food Our family Eat and We dont like if some one Become Sick with this Food . Our Price is very Reasonable but some time Guest like street Food and then they compare street food to our food . Is totally different . We booked here train Ticket and We Take 50/ Rupees Service Charge and then you get your Train Ticket within a minute .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Eight of us stayed one night here to see the Taj and Agra fort.
They arranged to have us picked up from the train station at midnight, which was awesome, especially because it was bitterly cold. Yusef arranged our tour guide of the Taj and our taxis. He let us keep our bags at the place all day after we had to check out. Our girls were able to change clothes during the day after we checked out. We had a delicious breakfast and lunch there as well.
Yusef and family were all very very kind and the price was incredible for a location so close to the Taj.
The only downside was that it was a very cold night and the rooms didn't have any kind of heating and bad insulation. We didn't stay long enough to try the showers.

Overall we would recommend Friend Paying Guest House, but maybe in winter find a different location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yakbutter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The location was second to none in my opinion. Close enough to walk to Taj Mahal, but far enough from all the noise. My room was as any other typical budget room in India. Nothing special & not too clean. Food in the restaurant was very tasty but a bit over priced. I would add few more Indian dishes to the menu. It's a shame that they have a choice of 10 different pancakes but have no samosas, etc on their menu. But what really made this place special for me were owners, especially a young fella who was helping me out with many things. Nothing was a problem for him and everything was possible. He was incredible and went many extra miles to make me feel comfortable and at home in is own home from which his parents/brother run the business. I would definitely recommend this place to other travelers. If you are looking for a quite place where you could recharge your batteries and had someone to help you with organising your stay, look no further. I wish them all the best!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsWyllma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was a fantastic place, Yusuf who runs the guest house is a wealth of knowledge about the area and the local sites as he is studying to become a tour guide. The newly refurbished upstairs rooms were really well presented and clean, the food cooked by his family was tasty and very fresh!
The bathroom was separate to the room and a bit of a chilly walk in winter, but I imagine in the summer it would be fine.
Really well priced, and one of my favorite guest houses thus far in India "and it's around the corner from the tja"

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lachie122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
2.4 mi away
Tourists Rest House
Tourists Rest House
#23 of 147 in Agra
592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.2 mi away
Friends Home Stay Agra
Friends Home Stay Agra
#22 of 210 in Agra
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Zostel Agra
Zostel Agra
#1 of 210 in Agra
532 reviews
0 mi away
Backpacker Panda Friends - Agra
0 mi away
Aman Homestay
Aman Homestay
#1 of 210 in Agra
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friends Paying Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friends Paying Guest House

Address: P-6, Taj Nagri | Eastern Gate Taj Mahal, Tajganj, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Agra
Price Range: $10 - $11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Friends Paying Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Explore the epitome of love and one of the most visited destinations of the World: Agra, with all home-like comforts and exceptionally customer friendly services..... Backpacker Panda, one of the finest hostels to enjoy and experience the fascinating historical Mughal city, always on its toes to serve you the best! Located just a stone's throw away from jaw-dropping splendid white marble mausoleum, Taj Mahal, one of the seven wonders of world! Just believe! Neat and clean dorms with cozy mattress, a multi cuisine restaurant with finger-lickin' food, well-equipped kitchenette, coffee and tea making facility, fast and reliable Wi-Fi, friendly and immensely helpful crew, clean and hygienic washrooms, safe abode, pure drinking water......Perfect for relaxation after exploring the magnificent city of love! So come, stay and live your backpacking moments! " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Friends Paying Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing