We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Agra
Save
  
Ways to Experience Wildlife SOS
from $15.10
More Info
from $130.81
More Info
from $187.00
More Info
Reviews (1,087)
Filter reviews
1,087 results
Traveler rating
925
109
27
9
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
925
109
27
9
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elephant sanctuary sloth bear rescued elephants bear rescue facility dancing bear animal lovers these beautiful creatures rescue centre love animals care center spread the word their lives heart breaking life changing experience eye opening amazing experience these guys
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,087 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2020

I was able to volunteer here for 3 days. Memories to last a lifetime. Incredible place. I was honored to be able to help these incredible animals.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Connie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildlife_SOS1999, Guest Relations Manager at Wildlife SOS, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Connie,

Thank you for all your effort as a volunteer for the bears and elephants!

Your recommendation to other travelers to visit Wildlife SOS and support our association is appreciated. This helps us spread the word of compassion and help support the care of bears and elephants.

We look forward to seeing you again and host you as a volunteer for a longer period.

May we please request you to check out the website of refusetoride and spread the word to your friends and family so they can help us protect elephants and prevent elephant abuse.

Thank you again for your kind support.

Warm regards
Team Wildlife SOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020 via mobile

Excellent experience, learned a lot about sloth bears and elephants in India. It was really eye opening to learn about the cruelty these animals had endured and we were so happy to see them given a second chance at a peaceful life at Wildlife SOS. The tour guides were incredibly knowledgeable.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildlife_SOS1999, Guest Relations Manager at Wildlife SOS, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Daniel,

Thank you for your kind words about our efforts to protect the bears and elephants.

Your recommendation to other travelers to visit Wildlife SOS and support our association is appreciated. This helps us spread the word of compassion and help support the care of bears and elephants.

We look forward to seeing you again and volunteer for a longer time.

Your deep understanding to our work inspires our team.

May we please request you to check out the website of refusetoride and spread the word to your friends and family so they can help us protect elephants and prevent elephant abuse.

Warm regards
Team Wildlife SOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

A wonderful place to visit and see the excellent and committed work that both keepers and educational staff are doing to rehabilitate sloth bears and elephants from their brutal pasts. Located in two different facilities the animals are not there (as some people obviously expect) to provide entertainment for visitors but to live the remainder of their years in peace and freedom. We were never pressured for money but would certainly recommend donating as Wildlife SOS receive no government support at all for there continuing good work. Highly recommended

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank PukekoPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildlife_SOS1999, Guest Relations Manager at Wildlife SOS, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2020

Thank you for your kind words about our efforts to protect the bears and elephants.

Your recommendation to other travelers to visit Wildlife SOS and support our association is appreciated. This helps us spread the word of compassion and help support the care of bears and elephants.

We look forward to seeing you again and volunteer for a longer time.

Your deep understanding to our work inspires our team.

May we please request you to check out the website of refusetoride and spread the word to your friends and family so they can help us protect elephants and prevent elephant abuse.

Warm regards
Team Wildlife SOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020 via mobile

Very nice place. You can see a broutally wounded bears get their life back. I got a very informative tour with Miss Johi.
After the sanctuary you can have a very nice walk on the lake shore and see some birds species. If you are lucky, you will see pelikans and cranes landing on the water.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Viacheslav O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildlife_SOS1999, Guest Relations Manager at Wildlife SOS, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2020

Thank you for your kind words about our efforts to protect the bears.

Your recommendation to other travelers to visit Wildlife SOS and support our association is appreciated. This helps us spread the word of compassion and help support the care of bears and elephants.

We look forward to seeing you again and volunteer for a longer time.

May we please request you to check out the website of refusetoride and spread the word to your friends and family so they can help us protect elephants and prevent elephant abuse.

Warm regards
Team Wildlife SOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019

If you're making a trip to Agra and are interested in animal rehabilitation, I would recommend a visit to both Wildlife SOS locations if you have the time: the Elephant and Sloth Bear sanctuaries. They are outside the city and about a 10-minute drive apart from each other- you can hire a cab to get you there from downtown Agra or Wildlife SOS can arrange transport.

The price is inexpensive for what you get- a small group, behind-the-scenes, multi-hour tour of the sanctuaries while seeing the animals and learning about the important conservation, advocacy, and education work Wildlife SOS is doing to promote the well-being of elephants and sloth bears in India.

Note that the animals don't interact at all with visitors- you simply observe them. This lack of interaction is the true hallmark of an ethical sanctuary- the animals are not there to do any activities for tourists (even "natural" activities like swimming or playing), but simply to live their lives free from the horrible conditions of their pasts.

My only caveat is that many of the animals have very sad stories and injuries sustained in the squalid conditions they were in before being rescued, so mentally prepare to hear about and see that. And you might be asked to donate further and/or support the gift shop, but I didn't find the staff to be pushy at all. Everyone we encountered was knowledgeable, kind, and displayed a strong commitment to the animals.

Date of experience: November 2019
2  Thank CW11235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews