We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap but very bad”
Review of Sai Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sai Palace
Ranked #23 of 210 Agra B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 27, 2014

It is cheap, location is close enough to Taj but after that rest is a nightmare.
Bed linen badly stained, replacement ones we asked were not any better, looks like no proper washing machine.
Rooms are beyond basic, infact dangerous with cables hanging right beside the shower head.
You need to use a padlock to lock the room...
Booked the room with Aircon, first night when we needed it, there was no remote... so make sure you get one.
Zero sound insulation, our room had a 50cmx100cm hole covered with somesort of a mesh/straw. I asked for a plastic sheet to cover but no one wanted to hear.
Restaurant food ok but was afraid to eat as the kitchenlooked dirty with people smoking in it.
Also don't get your laundry there...... you will be sorry...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ImajPhotoAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 316 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

I had a really good stay at the Sai Palace recently- March 2014, so perhaps it has improved since the previous reviews.
-The staff were friendly, happy, welcoming and helpful
- There is a variety of rooms, I had a single room with bathroom, the hot water switch was outside my door, so each time I wanted to shower I would switch it on myself and wait 5minutes and the water was hot - this was no problem.
- There is a nice atmosphere in the hostel, a good place to meet other travellers.
- The rooftop bar has a lovely view of the taj, cheap tasty food, friendly service
- It is in an excellent location, 2min walk from the south gate entrance to the Taj and 10 minute walk to East Gate. The south gate area seemed to be where most of the other hostels are, with restaurants and facilities all a close walk.
- My room was clean, and a very reasonable price. They give you a good deal, were honest and seemed trustworthy. I felt very comfortable as a solo female traveler staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feeox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed in this place because my friends were staying there. The location was great, in the Taj Gang area and five minutes walk from the South Gate. The rooftop restaurant has a view of the Taj, albeit a slightly impaired one. Breakfast and coffee was absolutely fine and I felt that the service was swift, attentive and with a smile. We got a bit of advice about where the best sunset spot was and also how much to pay for the rickshaw.

Ok, the room was a bit of a dive. It smelt damp, there were mosquitoes and the bathroom was falling apart, even the floor. The shower was warm but more of a trickle than a shower. But what else what I expect when I am paying only 400 Rupees a night in a great location in Agra? This hotel sits in between average and very good. It just wouldn't be right to give it a 'Very Good' outright because of the room (not that the room bothered me at all). Still, a solid budget option and definitely worth a go.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank Sonny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Location is great. Room size is ok and it is clean. Roof top resturant have a view on Taj.

Staff are cold, not helping much. Hot shower is completely controlled by them. You need tell them 20 mins before your shower which is ok. Worst is they turn it off so quickly (within 30 mins) hot water is not enough for the second person. You need tell them again which is very annoying. Wifi never worked when the time we stayed there. When people complain, they told everyone it's normal in winter which is absolutely not true, since wifi works at all other resturants with descent speed in Agra. We will not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank yxiao9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

On the positive side: the hotel's location is 5 minutes away from the Taj's South Gate. Also the staff was doing their best to assist us in arranging some trips outside of Agra
BUT...
We booked the most expensive room with "Taj Mahal view", and it turned out to be the worst room with no proper window, smelly and claustrophobic, that you don't want to spent another second in. As for the promised "view", you can only see Taj if you go all the way to the end of the rooftop terrace, and definitely not from the room. We strongly complained to the staff, which offered us a slightly better room, but still with no proper window, with the shower that was always running and the room itself so dump, that we couldn't dry our closes for 2 days.
Overall, not a good hotel, but from what we saw, there are no better hotels so close to Taj...

Room Tip: Don't book in advance, if you decide to stay here, have a look at the rooms first and negotiate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We appreciated our stay at Sai palace which is very good value for money in a place which is not well reputed for his hotel. Great view on the Taj Mahal from the roof, good staff and clean room. The bed was so small.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas_henrion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Unfriendly staff
Really cold room, we had to ask for bed clothes and blankets and they didn't suit the bed
There was no hot water, the shower didn't work and they didn't help us
Dirty room and facilities
Noisy room and hotel (they use a power generator)
Not really cheap
Nothing special for the restaurant (under-cooked chicken)

Room Tip: Do not ask the taj-view room as it has a small window to the terrace and its really more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fernando Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#51 of 143 in Agra
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#33 of 143 in Agra
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saniya Place
Hotel Saniya Place
#95 of 143 in Agra
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Safari
Hotel Safari
#30 of 143 in Agra
155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#35 of 143 in Agra
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shahjahan
Hotel Shahjahan
#67 of 210 in Agra
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sai Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sai Palace

Address: 3/117, Chowk Kagzi, Tajganj, | near Hotel Kamal, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range: $10 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Sai Palace 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Sai Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sai Palace Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing