We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A TERRIBLE HOTEL IN THE WONDERFUL PLACE OF TAJMAHAL”
Review of Sai Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sai Palace
Ranked #21 of 207 Agra B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 18, 2013

1. The first thing about the hotel is , it do not look like hotel rather look like a guest house.
2. Though seems to be nearer to taj by viewing from rooftop restaurant, it is away.
3 .Room service is terrible. No drinking water supply in room.
4. No hot water for children too.
5. No blankets are provided. Provided with white bed sheets that general supplied in railways. 6. Restaurant food is so so so but costs very high at the range of 3* hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sraha2128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 323 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

Hotel is in a back alley quite a ways from railway stations, but conveniently close to the Taj Mahal - about 5 min walk! You can see much of it while you sip your morning Chai from the rooftop restaurant.

Checkout is an early 10am, but they offered us free luggage storage for the rest of the day.

We requested a pickup from the train station, but never received an email back. Our train was late so we arrived in the middle of the night. I wasn't impressive with the night staff, but the main day staff was very helpful!

I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meljoyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

First of all, the positives .. a five person room for 3 people, so cheap! The room was acceptable, the bathroom not so nice. Great location for the Taj Mahal, walkable to all gates. The negatives: the 'air con' in the room can only be described as a turbo jet. Unable to sleep with it on for fear of taking off and room unbearably hot without it. Avoid the restaurant. Although the food is edible, it's not worth the MINIMUM 1 hour wait. 4 people in the kitchen, nothing happening and then one would slope off to the shop to get a Sprite, another 5 minutes later to get a bag of noodles.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeccaFeeBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We chose to stay at Sai Palace because it had decent reviews, is walking distance to the Taj, and was good for the budget minded (800RS for a double air-con room). Other than the location and okay restaurant, I cannot say enough negative things about this hotel.

Sai Palce, like many budget hotels in Tajganj, offers free pick up from the train station, yet the driver's who come get you can be very belligerent and pushy. While this isn't entirely the fault of hotels like Sai Palace, it doesn't make for a positive first impression. We tipped our driver quite nicely and politely declined his services for the next day SEVERAL times, but he got frustrated, stormed off, and muttered rude comments about me to the management (while I was standing there), but the staff didn't apologize or say anything about it. Needless to say customer service wasn't a strong point at this place.

The room was just generally unclean. The bathroom door didn't shut or lock, and there were several open air areas that let bugs into the rest of the room. The shower head tap fell off while I took a shower, and the water was rust coloured!

The room we booked was advertised as a 'double AC room'. After settling in we asked for the AC to be turned on (it's often left off until you ask them to put it on), and they told us they 'didn't turn it on until April'. What? In March it's getting pretty damn hot in Agra, and to be paying for AC and then not to have it is a major annoyance.

Check out time is a ridiculously early 10 AM. Considering many people visit the Taj for sunrise, it's quite a rush to come back and shower/eat breakfast/ pack your things by 10 AM.

Overall, not a good option for the price. While many of the hotels in Tajganj are a bit scuzzy, I imagine you could get something cleaner, better secured, friendlier and with AC BEFORE April for around 800 RS.

Room Tip: The room right by the restaurant is not a good choice.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

View of Taj is no more available as few newly erected buildings hinder the view. And if you are Indian with your family, I will not suggest you to stay there. The receptionist clearly told me, as I was with my parents, "are yaha pe toh foreigners theherte hai (usually foreigners stay here), aap uhaan pe chale jao, achhi room mil jayegi (you go to that place, you can have a decent room).

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank souvikces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at sai palace for two nights as part of a flying visit to see the sites. The location was spot on, only 5 mins walk from the south gate of the taj. Big bed, with bathroom for 760rs. Great value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Hotel has a nice inside ambience. Rooms are basic but clean enough just one tiny cockroach. Nice natural light with a central open stairwell. What we expected for the price we paid. But the roof top restaurant's view of the Taj is overrated with a couple of other tall structures nearby. We ended up going to Hotel Kamal's restaurant for a nice sunset view.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank globaltrotters55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#33 of 147 in Agra
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saniya Place
Hotel Saniya Place
#95 of 147 in Agra
603 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#50 of 147 in Agra
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Safari
Hotel Safari
#28 of 147 in Agra
157 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tourists Rest House
Tourists Rest House
#23 of 147 in Agra
589 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pyrenees Homestay
Pyrenees Homestay
#23 of 207 in Agra
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sai Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sai Palace

Address: 3/117, Chowk Kagzi, Tajganj, | near Hotel Kamal, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 207 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range: $10 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Sai Palace 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Sai Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sai Palace Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing