We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room, Questionable Service”
Review of Hotel Taj Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Taj Resorts
Ranked #18 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Upon arrival, the desk clerk was selling the hotel and coming off a bit sleazy..."My friend, as our special guest, you are invited to use our Computer and Internet." Of course, once we use the computer and internet for five minutes, we are given a bill that was not mentioned previously. The room looked nice and new and the bathroom was clad in stone and was incredibly clean but the floor of the room had a uniform sticky coating on it and felt uncomfortable for bare feet. The hot water for the shower does not run 24 hours as mentioned on the website and one needs to request for it to be turned on if a shower is desired before the evening, this process taking about an hour or so. The location is good and bad which is to say that it is within walking distance of the nicest hotel in Agra and the east gate to the Taj Mahal but it is quite remote from the rest of the city. The streets are pretty much deserted after 7pm and look grim but allows for a restful night, the most quiet and restful night I had during my two weeks in India. The staff is strange: one waitor told me that I could tip him any amount I wanted before he even did anything for me, another staff member followed me down a hall and tried to walk into my room without saying a word for an unapparent reason and they all generally came off dodgy. The worst part of the hotel is the restaurant where they had a father son team perform a disturbing musical dance number at 7am where the father played a loud instrument and the son who could not have been more than 8 years old was wearing a lot of makeup and danced in an effeminate manner which included a lot of winking. I am also 99% positive that I got food poisoning from the eggs in their complimentary buffett breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fujiye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,332 - 1,338 of 1,658 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2011

We were on a Delh Agra Jaipur trip. We reached the hotel a little late in the night, having driven down from Delhi.It has a very comfortable location to see the TAJ .The rooms are spacious and clean, while the restaurant serves a great variety of wonderful dishes.The morning buffet was tolerable, most north Indan items were very oily ones but overall it was ok.Still there are some issues with the staff.Overall it was a nice hotel and can do lot better if they handle with some staff and hot water issues.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikebrown007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Our room was below ground level and had no window! Room was clean and tidy. Bathroom was in good condition. We had no hot water so asked for some and it was only slightly warm. (didn't get any better the next day either)Its winter in Dec so quite cold! Towels where wet, asked for some more, and they where also damp. Great location. 10min walk to the eastern gate. Yes you do have to go to a different office for your ticket for Taj, you cant get them at the gate.
Breakfast was included and was good. Don't expect to get good coffee in India! We where able to leave our luggage there after checkout no problem.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy_and_Vicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Pros:

Clean hotel and clean rooms
Decent service (the desk was not great, but the bell hops tried very hard)
Great location- walking distance to the Taj
Decent prices for a room

Cons
We had a big hassel getting the rooms we requested when we checked in-- we had asked for a room with an extra cot but they gave us a room that couldn't fit the extra cot. We also requested a room with two twin beds for two guys and they got a room with a double bed. After pretty much throwing a fit they finally fixed our rooms and the rooms we got were ok.

The electricity went out multiple times while we were there. It would only be out for a minute at a time, but it was still annoying.

The restaurant staff does not speak english very well. They tried to provide good service but because of the language barrier we struggled to get what we wanted. One guy in our group had to send back his meal twice.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SariPoage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

very impressed with this hotel but we only had one night in agra. Not much else to say about the hotel, food was ok i suppose, atmosphere was non existent, it had a pool on the top but they were working on it so could not use, overall i would recommend this hotel for 1 or 2 night for visiting the taj.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mistersnappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Good location just outside of the East Gate of Taj, walking distance to the gate is about 7min. Room is good size but we had the room in basement due to high occupancy. Free wifi but not stable that same as their electricities. If you plan to visit Taj early in the morning, this hotel provides good location. Breakfast is indian and food is very indian.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mingi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

as told earlier...it has a vry gud location connectin many tourist places...well furnitured rooms nd as cleanliness...a key feature is its pool provided at the top of roof...
talkin abt d staffs dat they well kno how to welcome warmly nd dey add to its service...
its resturant food is also gud provided with delicous nd tempting food...hope dis is suffice for u to undrstand abt d hotel...i suggest...

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank diwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#17 of 143 in Agra
700 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taj Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taj Resorts

Address: Taj East Gate Road | Eastern gate of Taj Mahal, near Shilpgram, Tajganj, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Agra
#13 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range: $40 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Taj Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just located 550 meters from Taj mahal at Walking distance. 3 Star luxury hotel 34 centrally air conditioned rooms with modern interior design,a multi-cuisine restaurant(Bon-appetit), roof top swimming pool with the great of taj,rooftop restaurant with live music and two banquet hall of (250-300pax) capacity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Taj Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Taj Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing