We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to believe that somewhere so close to the Taj Mahal can be so good at this price.”
Review of Hotel Taj Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Taj Resorts
Ranked #17 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbury Salterton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Difficult to believe that somewhere so close to the Taj Mahal can be so good at this price.”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

You arrive at this hotel along crowded street packed with people selling things and lots of cows. As you get close to the hotel you can see the Taj Mahal at the bottom of the street and this is a magical first view. The hotel staff are very welcoming. Rooms are a good size and clean. I was on the ground floor with a view out to a small park. Beware, in India, at least in the hotels I stayed in, floor number one might be the basement so check your room number. Here I had a room starting with 2 so was on the ground floor. Excellent included breakfast. enjoyed dinners in the hotel restaurant and you can even buy your ticket to visit the Taj Mahal from the hotel reception which comes with shoe covers and a bottle of water. The view of the Taj Mahal from the rooftop restaurant comes with another hotel's restaurant in the way but hey! this is one of the greatest things to see on the planet so I'm not complaining. Just one small warning, If you like an alcoholic drink the beer is limited to what they've managed to pop out to buy and it can be warm by the time it reaches the rooftop restaurant. In the main restaurant drink bills are listed separately from food on a hand written bit of paper, (maybe they don't have a licence). Indian wine is available but is expensive and nothing to write home about. Also beware of the tuck tuck and rickshaw guys offering to take you to the Taj Mahal, there's a police barrier a couple of hundred metres after you leave the hotel and they dump you here so you still have to walk the rest of the way and the total walk isn't far.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Pursuitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    622
    291
    81
    73
See reviews for
393
585
86
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Taj Resorts is located about 800 m from the East Gate of the Taj and about 150-200m from the Taj ticket counter at Shilpgram - an ideal location. Given the price range, I was pleasantly surprised at the neat, clean hotel and the courteous staff. Food was nice. Boasts of a small pool, a roof top restaurant with a view of the Taj. Getting there can be a bit of an issue for the first timers - reason being traffic restrictions around Taj. But the bottomline is - a great place to stay - highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
15 Thank Dennis1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. The staff was very helpful. The food in the restaurant was very good.
And a cool little view of the Taj Mahal from the roof top. The roof top terrace was a great place to relax, and with a swimming pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
512 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Location, location, location...The Hotel Taj Resorts is a good place to while visiting the Taj Mahal because you can easily walk to the Taj from the hotel - it takes about 15 minutes. So if you want to get an early start it is easy. Also, be sure to ask the hotel to get tickets for you so you don't have to wait in the queue (they add on 50 rupees per ticket - well worth it). Now for the hotel - the rooms are basic but have all the amenities. The hotel sent a driver to pick us up at the train station - that took away the hassle of haggling with the tuk tuk driver, especially after a long flight followed by the train ride from Delhi. They have a very nice rooftop with a view of the Taj; we had dinner on the rooftop restaurant since we arrived late in Agra - the food was just ok - service was nice and friendly.
Our room was fine: clean, hot water, wifi - but during the night, at about midnight or so, there was shouting and running in the hallway that woke us up. Not sure what had happened and after being woken up, we were able to go back to sleep and had a nice sound sleep until morning.
Breakfast is a nice buffet with the usual fruit, cereal, Indian and Western options.
We checked out and left our bags at the hotel. The reception desk got tickets to the Taj for us and off we went. When we returned in the early afternoon, we decided to get a driver for the rest of the afternoon to visit the Agra Fort, 'baby Taj' and a park across the river from the Taj. The hotel organized the car for us for 1,300 rupees for four hours. In retrospect and after ten days in India, I think we paid too much for that (probably should have been more like 800 rupees); we probably could have done better if we had negotiated directly with the drivers as there are so many of them around (but it was our first day in India!) Overall we had a very good experience at the Hotel Taj Rersorts: rooms OK, service friendly and efficient, good value for money considering the proximity to the Taj Mahal.
One word of warning - all along the road to the Taj, you WILL be hassled. Just ignore.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank TSinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nainital, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

stay 27 feb 2014 in this hotel. location of Taj Resorts is so nice. reception staff is very co-operative. Food is also good.

reception area is small but totally my first experience about this hotel is very good.

Room Tip: no wall watch in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank rav455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed for one night and enjoyed it. The staff picked us up from the railway station. They were very attentive and found solutions to our needs. The food at their rooftop restaurant was very good and their breakfast was plentiful. Tickets to the Taj Mahal are available at the lobby. The room had everything we needed and was clean. The price may seem a bit higher than other hotels, but their location (5-10 min walk to the Taj) and quality are worth the extra money. They also arranged transportation back to the railway station.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank desier26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Ok , so my two nights at the Taj Resort were booked as a treat whilst I travel around India for a few months. Needed a better hotel and pool to relax and recover , spending a lot more money than the rest of the trip .

Overall very happy . Friendly attentive staff . Comfy , clean rooms, good shower . Excellent roof top restaurant and pool .

Why not 5 stars ?
Attention to details.
Room safe and kettle not working . Both reported, nothing done . All items in minibar including coffee sachets beyond expiry date. Not good in hotel charging this amount.

Finally a very personal preference . A little too formal for star rating.... Relax ! Oh and the sitar music at dining too loud and intrusive but then I hate Sitar ! Well done , liked my stay but attention to details .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank abloke36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#19 of 145 in Agra
613 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
0.6 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 145 in Agra
3,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taj Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taj Resorts

Property: Hotel Taj Resorts
Address: Taj East Gate Road | Eastern gate of Taj Mahal, near Shilpgram, Tajganj, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Agra
#9 Business Hotel in Agra
#13 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Taj Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just located 550 meters from Taj mahal at Walking distance. 3 Star luxury hotel 34 centrally air conditioned rooms with modern interior design,a multi-cuisine restaurant(Bon-appetit), roof top swimming pool with the great of taj,rooftop restaurant with live music and two banquet hall of (250-300pax) capacity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Taj Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Taj Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing