We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient location for visiting the Taj Mahal”
Review of Hotel Taj Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Taj Resorts
Ranked #17 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a good hotel in a convenient location for visiting the Taj Mahal. Which I would recommend purchasing a guide for (best thing we did) The staff were helpful and arranged a car for more distant sites to see and also to the light show. The Roof top Pool was a gem and we ate at the restaurant both nights and enjoyed the entertainment. There is free use of the internet and helpful staff to print out documents if needed. Breakfast is buffet style and didn’t disappoint.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kslangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snkrdm, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Taj Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us. We are happy to know you liked location, restaurant and rooftop pool. Your comments are important for us to encourage the staff to provide better services to the guest.Thank you for staying with us and we hope to once again extend our warm hospitality to you, should your travels bring you back to Agra.

Thank you,
sunil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,584)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Taj Resorts
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,017 - 1,023 of 1,584 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

Well located hotel within the wider enclosure of the Taj (you have to walk back from the hotel up the road to get your Taj tickets). Hotel itself is clean and quiet. We were on the 2nd floor towards the back. Rooms had a window but that was all frosted glass so no view out (turns out there is not much of a view anyway), probably best to keep the sun and heat out.
Food in the hotel (breakfast, lunch, diner) is not too bad. Good selection. Diner can be eaten on top of the restaurant but be prepared to eat in the dark as the only light is the torch light you get given by the staff on the table.... they also provided us with some anti-mosquito smoker under the table.
Travelling with 3 kids the swimming pool was important and it is not too big and not heated but that it is ok to cool down after a long day out and about.
Photos as shown on their website are correct, rooms were good and we had 2 connecting rooms which was perfect.
Showers are good but as mentioned by others we had one shower room without shower curtain/glass so water would get across the bathroom making the tiles very slippery, just pay attention to that and you will be ok.
Oh best of all, we were given 2 1,5 liter water bottles complimentary every day (per room) and that is very much appreciated.
I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gloggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snkrdm, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Taj Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to write for Hotel Taj Resorts Agra on Trip Advisor.. We are happy to know you have the comfortable stay in the hotel. We really appreciated your comments on service, food, location, and rooms. We are certain you will experience the difference in your future visits. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for staying with us.

Thanks you,
sunil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

It is difficult to figure out a hotel based on reviews since there are extreme views from different travelers. So with much trepidation, I checked into this hotel on the 10th of April, 2013 along with my family. I must say I am more than happy that I stayed here and recommend this place to all visitors, when Indian or from a foreign country.

The check-inn was smooth, they had our names in their list already. The rooms (102 and 103) were smaller, but very cosy with good AC, LCD/LED TV and free wifi. You also get 2 bottles of mineral water complimentary. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful at all times. Food was just great.

Tajmahal east gate is about 500-600 meters away. Rickshaws, auto-rickshaws, battery operated cars operate right infront of the hotel, so getting to the gate is not a problem. Entry tickets to Tajmahal are available in the Hotel reception, so that is very convenient.

There is a small but cosy roof top swimming pool and a restaurant. There was live music when we went there. But later we shifted to the AC restaurant in the 1st floor, since it was pretty dark up there and quite a few mosquitos.

The hotel has facility for car drivers to stay for the night. Our driver was very happy with the arrangements. Car parking is also available.

So go ahead, book a stay and have a great trip to Agra. Cheers.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mukesh65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snkrdm, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Taj Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us. We are very happy to know that your experience is good from the hotel. Your comments are important for us to encourage the staff to provide better services to the guest.Thank you for staying with us and we hope to once again extend our warm hospitality to you, should your travels bring you back to Agra.

Thank you,
Sunil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with excellent rooms and the best WiFi in one's room. Great swimming pool but not much relaxing room around it. Breakfast was excellent. Highly recommend this hotel as good value for money when visiting agra.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Hennopsrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snkrdm, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Taj Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to write for Hotel Taj Resorts Agra on Trip Advisor. We are happy to know you liked the spacious rooms ,breakfast,pool and wifi in the hotel. Your comments are important for us to encourage the staff to provide better services to the guest. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.Thank you for staying with us.

Thank you,
sunil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Taj in February 2013. We stayed on the ground floor, which was behind a single glass door. It was fairly quiet, which was very nice. However, the room just didn't seem very clean - the linens seemed dirty and the room decor a bit tired. Also, our toilet was leaking. We had someone come in to have it fixed, and after tinkering around with it for a few seconds, said it was fixed. It definitely wasn't!! It continued to leak immediately after. But we just forgot about it, since we were there in Agra to see the Taj Mahal, and not to stay in a luxurious hotel.

The morning buffet was standard - nothing special.

Advantages: within walking distance to the ticket booth on one side of the hotel, and also to the entrance to the Taj on the other side.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mich789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snkrdm, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Taj Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us. . Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and we regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations.We really take a measure to improve the maintenance part of the hotel. We hope to be able to deliver a better stay experience to you, should you stay with us again in the future. Thank you for staying with us.

Thank you,
sunil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Got picked up by the hotel taxi driver 300 rupees each way and swiftly transfered to the hotel about 15 minutes away. Check in was swift and friendly and the rooms were very comfortable. We did not use the roof top swimming pool but it looked very nice. The restaurant on the ground floor for breakfast was a little hot and stuffy and the breakfast served was average.

The massive plus point for this hotel is the location and it would have been nice if on check in we were advised of the following:-
1) exit the hotel and turn left, walk 300 meters up to the Taj ticketing office on the right hand side of the road
2) purchase your tickets rps 750 (£10) and hop onto the electric courtesy shuttle bus which then take you back pass the hotel and to the Taj Mahal entrance
We unfortunately turned right out of the hotel and went down (700 meters) towards the Taj Mahal and had to go back up to the ticketing office

Overall a pleasant stay with nicely appointed rooms

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank PetervCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snkrdm, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Taj Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to write for Hotel Taj Resorts Agra on Trip Advisor. . We are happy to know you liked the location of the hotel.The hotel is situated walking distance of Taj Mahal with many other options within a radius of 3 kilometers from the hotel.You feedback gives us valuable insights into what are important for our guests. It is very encouraging to know that all of these factors met with your expectations and contributed to your positive experience.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to once again extend our warm hospitality to you, should your travels bring you back to Agra.

Thank you,
sunil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

nicely located hotel on east gate of taj, on walking distance from TAJ MAHAL,battery operated vehicles are available from hotel gate,nice 2 walk 6.30am for taj photography.nice roof top restaurant,ultimate photography of taj mahal frm roof top,.lovely restaurant with cool environment,.best food of agra,chilling at roof top near pool is very relaxing,hotel staff is very helpful with wide knowledge of agra

Room Tip: we got middle room experince was good
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MUKESHA749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snkrdm, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Taj Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us.We appreciate your feedback on our location,rooftop restaurant, tajview and rooftop pool.your feedback is very important It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.Thank you for staying with us.

Thanks you,
sunil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#19 of 142 in Agra
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.1 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taj Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taj Resorts

Address: Taj East Gate Road | Eastern gate of Taj Mahal, near Shilpgram, Tajganj, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Agra
#9 Business Hotel in Agra
#13 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range: $31 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Taj Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just located 550 meters from Taj mahal at Walking distance. 3 Star luxury hotel 34 centrally air conditioned rooms with modern interior design,a multi-cuisine restaurant(Bon-appetit), roof top swimming pool with the great of taj,rooftop restaurant with live music and two banquet hall of (250-300pax) capacity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Taj Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Taj Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing