We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place close to Taj”
Review of Palmstay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palmstay
Ranked #63 of 207 Agra B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here our first night in India. We got in late and they had a driver pick us up and when we got to the house they had a delicious meal ready for us. The accommodations were basic, but clean. The bathroom is a wet room style and the beds are European standard for softness. The family is fantastic. You meet the mother, son and daughter. They are very helpful in arranging itineraries and transport. Would stay here again if I travel to Agra.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mish_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 87 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

We booked 2 rooms for our 2 nights in Agra. Unfortunately, I was struck down by a bad biryani so was bed bound on the second day with much stomach AGRA-vation. However, to paraphrase previous reviews, the family was very friendly and the accommodation was clean and reasonably comfortable. However, the rooms could have used some heating as the January nights were bitterly cold. The location was a little way away from the main drag but walking proved good exercise. Transport was efficiently organised as needed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quokka_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

These guys were very friendly - we had a great dinner and breakfast - only a 10 minute drive from taj - rooms were basic and very clean - good shower.

Agra only worth a day/night - a 6.15am start for taj got us to the gate for a 7.30am opening - there were about 100 in the queue - well worth being early as we got all the photos done without the crowds

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiwi-traveller-PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

This was our first Indian homestay and it exceeded our expectations. The family were all very friendly and gave us some very valuable travel tips. We only spent one night, but I wished we had stayed longer. The room was very clean and comfortable with wifi, tv, and lots of hot water. Breakfast was delicious and the location is great - very close to the Taj!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerbyRam23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have stayed here 4 nights It was through the previous trip advisers recommendations that we came and I can but agree to the positive comments that have been previously made. The family, the standard of cleanliness leave little to be desired. a good example on how to run a homestay...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foggydew910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Spent a night here on our visit to the Taj Mahal on our last night of our 20 day india trip. The room is clean and very basic (with A/C and ceiling fan), clean shower and toilet with hot water. The bed was very hard (not a problem if you like hard mattresses). There's a lot of construction work going on in the area but the nights are quiet.
The family live on the ground four and above are 4 or 5 guestrooms. We were met a the gate by Varun the owner. They immediately brought us coffee and biscuits, and a bottle of water. Varun chatted with us about our Indian holiday and gave us all sorts of advice. In the evening, we wanted something light to eat so he drove us to McDonalds (a 2 minute drive and a 15 minute walk back). McDonalds was a treat after 3 weeks of Indian food. We met Varun's little boy who is the cutest...
The next morning, we went to the Taj at 6.30 and returned for breakfast freshly cooked by Varun's mother. We had great onion and tomato omelettes with toast, butter and jam, and fresh fruit and coffee.This very friendly lady joined us for breakfast and we had an enoyable chat.
If you're looking for inexpensive accommodation with great hospitality, I highly reccommend Palmstay homestay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidayer011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here two nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Varun and his family did everything they could to ensure we had a great time in Agra. They advised us on the best places to go and do what we wanted in Agra avoiding the more frenetic parts of the city. They were kind enough to offer us tea and coffee before we went to the Taj at 6 in the morning and cooked us a very tasty continental breakfast on our return.

We had a late train on our last day and Varun was kind enough to open up a disused room for us to shower after a sweltering day exploring Agra. I also highly recommend staying with the family as you get to know India that little bit better and benefit from their insights on travelling in India, we left with a much greater confidence in seeing the country.

The room was large, spotless with excellent air con, hot water and Wi Fi exactly what we needed after a good day in Agra.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Max H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Galaxy
Hotel Taj Galaxy
#37 of 147 in Agra
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 147 in Agra
4,253 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmstay

Address: 23 Phase 1 Taj Nagri Vip Road Hig | Fatehabad Rd, Behind TDI Mall, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 207 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing