We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER EVER GO THERE”
Review of Hotel Shahjahan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Shahjahan
Ranked #82 of 205 Agra B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel is the most terrible place I have ever stayed in. Please go through my miseries:
1. It's undoubtedly the most dirty place.
2. There are 2/3 people who claim to be the owner, and they themselves do not have any sync or communication among themselves. If you coplain to one of them about some thing, there readymade reply is 'give me 5 minutes, Ill get back to you'. You would get no reply, not in 5 minutes, not in an hour, not even the next day. The irritating thing is when you go to ask about it, you will find some one else over there, who is completely unaware of what you are saying and would take down your problem again, he would then ask you to wait for 5 minutes and the chain continues.
3. The servive is just UNBEARABLE AND BAD TO THE POWER OF INFINITY. If you ask some to give some water to your room, be assured it will never be delivered, you will have to come to the cafeteria and take it for yourself. Same goes for everything else. We had ordered for dinner and was told that they would inform us when its prepared, we waited for 2 hours after that, still no food. Finally we had to come to the cafe and ask about it, only to find that they had completely forgotten about it.
4. Now comes the worst part. The night we stayed there, it started raining and their roof was dripping. Our room got filled with water. We complained about it, and we were asked to wait. After hours when nothing was done, my father had to go down and shout on them. They then said that they will provide us with some other room. Trust me guys no one came back to your room after that any more to shift us, we had to spend that night in that way.
5.The next day, we were given another room. This room could not be locked from inside. We were two young girls in that room, and we had to spend the night in that way. TERRIFYING.

Room Tip: Please do not go there.
Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank Parcia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Shahjahan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 53 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just DON'T GO HERE. The owner is a terrifying, jittery, bright-eyed scamster who might just knock on your door late at night to attempt to guilt-trip you into paying three times the price you agreed. He lied to us about every single thing we discussed - the terms of our booking, the price of the room, the availability of other hotels; he told us our train had been cancelled (it hadn't) in hopes that we would book another ticket through him. The whole experience was horrible and exhausting. On the aforementioned 10 pm venture into our room (we were three girls) he shouted at us that we had ruined his day's work by not turning up for the taxi tour he had planned. Now, this was something he had tried to talk us into when we arrived at 4 am; we had most definitely not agreed. Needless to say, we slept very uneasily.
The room was small, filthy, and (cold) water poured straight out of the shower onto the floor - soaking our suitcases. We'd slummed it before, so we thought it might be fine, despite the other reviews - don't make the same mistake.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elllode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Need to be careful the staff ask for extra money in many ways!
The room in first floor is terrible, and also avoid the wooden rooms on second floo, the others are fine.
The hotel is quite noisy..its true.
The rooftop restaurant has a great view of the Taj, also the owner is friendly!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rentrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Hotel was not upto standarad.Room was very small. bedsheet was not provided.Hot water was also not available.Toilet condition was very dirty. toiletries item was not made available hand towel was also not provided.Night light was not working.charging point was not working.wi-fi facility was very poor.Bisleri botel was also not available on paid services also.Hotel staff was also not co-operative and asking for extra money.Only good thing about hotel is its location other wise overall rating is unsatisfactory.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandeep U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

this hotel is dirty, noisy and just not a good place to stay, i stayed here 1 sleepless night then checked out moved to hotel sheela a much better option.
they also have there own booking agency/ internet shop that as it turned out is the biggest rip off joint around i payed like double the regular booking fee,s to other places. i think its name was flighttraja or something i would recomend this less than the hotel!! which is really saying something

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kapper500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel was ok for what you may need for 1 or 2 nights ,
The front rooms are VERY noisey, but great views of the Tag Mahal, dont pay too much 500rupees for the top roof room, They do make a great cup of tea or coffee .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nicola_cousins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This place although a little expensive due to its place in the lonely planet guide is a good place to stay- the price can probably be haggled further. It has a nice view from the roof and the rooms are comfortable, with a big comfy bed. Our shower head broke first time we used it and they fixed it immediately no questions asked which was good to see. The location is great to the Taj Mahal and the staff are quite friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#85 of 142 in Agra
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saniya Palace Inn
Saniya Palace Inn
#100 of 142 in Agra
584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sheela
Hotel Sheela
#78 of 142 in Agra
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#31 of 142 in Agra
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sai Palace
Sai Palace
#24 of 205 in Agra
311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lucky Restaurant & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shahjahan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shahjahan

Address: Taj Mahal Road, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range: $12 - $17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Shahjahan 1*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Shahjahan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing