We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis in a very hectic City”

Chatrath's Indian Home Stay
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chatrath's Indian Home Stay
Ranked #15 of 183 Specialty Lodging in Agra
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Oasis in a very hectic City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

We arrived in Agra very late on the 14 November, Mrs Chatrath was very gracious and accommodating, she waited for our group of six adults and three children to arrive and provided an exceptionally home cooked meal, I recommend everyone try her Ginger Tea. Meena Chatrath's Agra homestay is central to most of Agra's attractions and being a gated community we felt very safe, In my opinion It's better value than the local hotels. If travelling to Agra do as we did and stay at Mrs Meena Chatrath Agra Homestay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quack40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonny c, Owner at Chatrath's Indian Home Stay, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Thank You so much! We loved having you over as well. We appreciate the kind words of encouragement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We loved Chatrath's home stay. Mrs Chatrath was so welcoming, we almost felt like we were in our own home. The room was big and comfortable and very clean. Having a home cooked Indian meal for dinner was really special and the food was delicious! The property was about a twenty minute drive from the Taj and was in a secure, quiet area with a guard, so we felt very safe. It was really nice leaving the chaos of Agra behind to go back here at night. I would definitely recommend staying at Chatrath's home stay in Agra.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wrigglespingpong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2011

Mrs. Chatrath make us feel at home immediately. Our dinner was excellent, as was breakfast -- request sarson ka saag (a Punjabi dish with mustard greens). A great place to stay after a day at the Taj and Agra Fort, with a visit the next day to the "Pink City."

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clifford2116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

Had a 3 nights stay in October. We were recommended by our driver to this place and were really greatful to him as the homestay is very close to Taj Mahal. The hostess/owner Mrs. Chatrath was gracious and a great cook. We paid for cooking lessons with dinner which cost us around Rs. 400 each. I can confidently say that it's the best Indian food I have ever had.....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanAndSue91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
1.1 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrath's Indian Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrath's Indian Home Stay

Property: Chatrath's Indian Home Stay
Address: 19 Gulmohar Enclave, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 183 Specialty Lodging in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy guest house located just minutes from the Taj Mahal. The property is managed by a veteran hotel professional and her retired Air Force Officer husband. The property features 4 air conditioned bedrooms, uninterrupted power supply, and a hearty breakfast that is included in the tariff. Come and experience the best in Indian hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing