We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff but would not return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Agra - Regal Vista, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #35 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice staff but would not return”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Spent one night here as part of G Adventures Golden Triangle tour. Hotel was poor: Modern bland very noisy room, lukewarm water, room was cold (was very cold in India this January). Mothballs in sink, in shower-everything smells like moth balls (maybe this is a cockroach/silverfish deterrent). breakfast buffet Ok. Service staff helpful and kind. We had dinner at the restaurant in the building next door- food was average.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discerningCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    93
    72
    37
    15
See reviews for
94
123
12
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

When you arrived at this hotel after visiting Taj Mahal, you feel like you took the wrong turn in the street. The toilets in the bathroom were not clean, which contributed to give us a poor impression. You do not need to look outside or you could be scared.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here and were assured that there was hot water. When we tried to take showers, there was no hot water and were told that there was something wrong. Basically, it was excuses upon excuses. However, the rooms were very clean, but they were expensive. They do have free wifi, however you have to go to the lobby to access the wifi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamsad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We just had one night in Agra. This was enough in my openion. Beeing from the apple we're used to the noise so it didn't really bother us at all.
Hotel seemed alright for India, you can always have it cleaner and better - but then you have to pay for it aswell.

Good overnight place to stay in agra.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We changed our room twice and did not like the room we ended up in either.

A most unusual thing was the window in the bathroom into the bedroom, never ever seen that before!

Plaster was coming off the because the bath side against the wall had been mastic sealed in any room so water leaked to bedroom wall.

We only stayed one night the off to Taj Mahal where to our amazement cleaners spent all their time sweeping up leaves and left the piles of plastic bottles!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agra hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
306 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I suspect that many if not most travellers passing through the Raj Mahal are doing just that, passing through, and are part of some organised tour group spending one night in Agra while they visit the Taj Mahal and maybe also the Fort (which definitely is worth seeing). And for those purposes, it's fine; the rooms are okay and the staff are okay. It seems to have been reasonably recently built or refurbished; either that or they've just never quite gotten around to finishing everything, (while we were there the wifi was out and the lift kept breaking down). It's located on the outskirts of town in a pretty grubby area although the hotel itself is kept immaculately clean. One big warning however about the food (especially since you can easily become "trapped" in the hotel at dinner-time); it is quite abysmal, probably the worst that we had anywhere in India.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the tv and/or wifi works (if they actually have any like that)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Rajmahal Hotel is a pleasant enough hotel, with good-sized rooms and a good standard of cleanliness. The buffet was generous, although some spicier options would have been great. Our only annoyance was some staff refusing to change larger rupee for tipping - this may have been a ruse to force us to tip larger amounts.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jobyscoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
4.1 mi away
PL Palace Lords Inn Agra
0.7 mi away
Orient Taj
Orient Taj
#79 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#16 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#20 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Grand Imperial, Agra
0.2 mi away
The Retreat
The Retreat
#28 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agra - Regal Vista, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agra - Regal Vista, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Agra - Regal Vista, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: Taj Nagari Phase II A C | Fatehabad Rd, Agra 282001, India (Formerly Rajmahal Hotel Agra)
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Agra - Regal Vista, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Agra - Regal Vista, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing