We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome in Agra”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Heritage Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heritage Homestay
Ranked #19 of 192 Agra B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A warm welcome in Agra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

We were looking for a room in Agra expecting to find a serviceable hostel at best, and were really impressed by Heritage Homestay. Our taxi had difficulty finding the place, even having been told that it was behind a major hotel that he knew (Clark's Shiraz), but eventually we found it. The Homestay (also called 'Green's Residence') was set in a large garden, and surrounded by buffalo fields shared by peacocks - a surprisingly tranquil setting in such a tourist-centric town.

We were greeted by Veenu and taken up to our huge, marble-floored room. It must've been some of the largest quarters we stayed at in India, and with a pleasant bathroom, TV and aircon. It seemed like the master bedroom of the house! We had to double-check the price (Rs1400) as it seemed remarkably good value given that the econo-hostels were only a few hundred less, and the luxury hotels ten times the amount.

After a nap to recover from our 36 hour train journey, we set out to see the Taj for sunset. We were surprised that it was only 10-15 minutes away by auto-rickshaw. It was, of course, an incredible sight and we stayed until closing. I would really recommend coming to Agra off-season, since the whole place was much quieter than we expected, and the price of autos much easier to negotiate than elsewhere.

The next morning we had breakfast with Swaran Singh - the father of the homestay owner - who told us all about their family history, four generations of which are currently living at the house! The building was originally constructed to house just a single British army office during occupation, but Mr Singh's family purchased it in 1952. It was fascinating learning about the local history while polishing off delicious potato paratha after potato paratha.

We then spent the day exploring the Red Fort and Fatehpur Sikri - both recommended. Get to Red Fort early, before the tour groups, and then catch one of the many buses to FS in the afternoon.

Before dinner we sat outside with Swaran and his brother Gurcharan and talked more about everything from arranged marriage to the Commonwealth Games. He told us that if we were around for longer he would have taken us out to the nearby villages to explore. We wished we could stay longer, but sadly had a flight to catch. We had another delicious meal (vegetarian food especially recommended here) and then bed.

It was enjoyable visiting Agra for the world-famous palace, but this incredibly helpful and kind family really made it for us. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trainsplanesandjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    52
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
36
144
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
al ain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

Such a nice experience! Great family, quiet location out of town, and fabulous food!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annalees315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

My partner stayed here in August 2010, we had been travelling for almost five months by the time we arrived here, so we were pretty used to all types of accomadation. So when we arrived in India we decided to give home stays a try. Heritage Home Stay is like a beautiful hotel, the family are all so lovely. The head of the family was also kind enough to show us the photo album of his daughters wedding aswell as giving us an insight on India and the culture. We also enjoyed some of the best Indian food I have ever tasted. Overall this is a fantastic please to stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nataliej91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

We spent much too little time at the Heritage homestay. The welcome was extremely warm, and we ended up spending more time with the wonderful host family than seeing Agra - that really says it all.
We highly recommend this homestay with spacious, immaculate rooms to anyone wishing to spend some quiet family time away from the throng of Agra without having to stray far from the center. Enjoying one of the wonderful home-cooked meals is also recommended.
Thank you once again for a wonderful stay.
Tomi and Kim

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kstaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

My wife and I had a lovely stay at Green's Residence. It was initally hard to find as the Auto driver tried to make out that he didn't know where it was when he simply wanted to tout us to another hotel.

With amazing luck we bumped into another Auto driver who is a friend of the owner and he walked with us to the accomodation.

The family is very welcoming, and the head of this house is a interesting chap to talk to; there were lots of majestic peacocks around; and the food was very tasty and served right on time. The house is quite far away from the main sights, but to be honest, as Agra was one of the most hassly placess we visited in 10 weeks in India, it was nice to be away from all the bustle.

The only negative for me was that the bed was very hard... you might as well have been sleeeping on the floor! If they got some a better matress, I don't think I'd have a single complaint

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunkyMunkey106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

We enjoyed staying at this homestay and were delighted to spend time with the Singh family. We did not eat there, as many previous posters suggested, but we were fed some fruit and tea. The rooms were very large and comfortable. My only complaint was the window in the bathroom - it seemed to let many bugs in at night, so that when we entered the bathroom in the morning, there were bugs EVERYwhere. Not the end of the world, but not my ideal situation. Overall, this homestay offered great rates and comfortalbe place to lay your head at night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starseed35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

There were four of us traveling through India and we stayed one night at Heritage Homestay. This place was PERFECT. The family was exceptional, food was outstanding, rooms were large, bathrooms were large, and A/C in the rooms. You'll truly get a true India culture experience staying here. The husband and grandfather took me on a "field trip" through the rougher part of Agra and toured me through a white marble factory...just ask and I'm positive they'll take you too. If I ever travel to Agra again I will certainly stay here.

It's a 5 minute drive to the Taj Mahal.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Awtar Mansion - Homestay
0.0 mi away
Pearl of Taj Indian Home Stay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aman Homestay
Aman Homestay
#1 of 192 in Agra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.0 mi away
N.Homestay
N.Homestay
#5 of 192 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bansi Home Stay
Bansi Home Stay
#4 of 192 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Homestay

Property: Heritage Homestay
Address: 52a Gaugh Road, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run home stay with 4 generations living in a turn-of-the century British heritage home. Breakfast is included and additional meals can happily be provided on request. Surrounded by gardens, we provide clean and comfortable rooms with a relaxing, pollution-free atmosphere. We are located near Clarks Shiraz Hotel and 2 km from the Taj Mahal, Red Fort and market; close enough for easy access, but far away from the noise and crowds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heritage Homestay Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing