We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice oasis in the hectic Agra”
Review of Heritage Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heritage Homestay
Ranked #25 of 202 Agra B&B and Inns
Lagos, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A nice oasis in the hectic Agra”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This old English officers residence, is a quiet oasis in a hectic city. When you have struggled with the crowds and salesmen at Taj Mahal, it is really comforting to rest at the Heritage Homestay. The rooms are simple but clean, quite spacious and with western toilet and shower with warm water. Our son got sick after our checkout, but without hesitation, the landlord let him stay in the room for most of the afternoon. Two nice restaurants within walking distance and a parachute battalion around the corner for protection, what more do you need?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bertilsigurd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    52
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
36
144
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Following a rather fraught week in Delhi attending meetings, my colleagues and I found ourselves with a day to spare and decided to take a trip to Agra. The Heritage Homestay stood out as a suitable place to stay and we were not disappointed. The owner is lovely and we were made to feel very welcome the entire time we were there. The area is a sea of tranquillity amongst the hustle and bustle of Agra and was a breath of fresh air. The beds were comfortable and the food was excellent- would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

From start to finish the Singh family were beautiful. Welcomed us warmly with delicious chai and many biscuits and showed us to our immaculate room. Seriously if you are in India and need a few days downtime this place would be wonderful to spend a few days unwinding. The property is huge and in a very quiet area. they were the best rooms we stated in in India. So clean and bathroom great too! Huge rooms with sitting area to sit and lounge room downstairs to relax. Mr Singh was magnificent, so genuinely interested in his guests he shared stories from other guests he had and told us all about his family, his daughter who lives in Melbourne (where I'm from). He even gave us an insight into his religion and their Indian way of life. What a lovely man. Veenu and jita were also wonderful. Their cooking was great. Breakfast in particular, get The Indian breakfast, Chappatis are grat here!! Mr Singh treated us as his children and looked after us so well. We asked where we would be able to purchase a bike lock to lock our bags up for the train and he had a spare one at home do he spent lots of time looking for the keys and gave it to us free of charge. When I tried to tip him he politely refused and said we are like family, no need for giving him money. What a lovely experience staying here. I recommend it for everyone who comes to Agra! Thank you so much Singh family, well be back :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We decided to do a homestay to try to get a bit closer to the "real" India, We arrived very late at night and were perhaps taken aback that the room was quite basic i.e no water or glasses, However in the morning, we had a lovely breakfast and discovered a very large garden with peacocks, and a very hospitable family. We both actually had the best nights sleep we had in India, as the house is in a residential area of similar large properties.( And no incessant dogs barking!) We had dinner there on our second night with 5 other guests and had a delicious great value meal ( thoroughly recommend!). The extended(4 generations) family were all very welcoming.
This is not for those expecting a five star retreat, but the opportunity to stay with a family, have some home cooking and get the chance to chat to other travellers. The room we stayed in downstairs had very small windows, though it was a large room, the en suite was immaculate. The rooms upstairs have bigger windows.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scot-smiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I spent two days at HH, quite a change after a week of impersonal business hotels, and the Singh family made me feel genuinely welcome; finally in India.
The HH location is slightly outside the centre (you will need a car), which means quiet sleep, extremely important in India. The rooms are basic, but large and comfortable, including the bathrooms, and everything is spotlessly clean. There was plenty of hot water for the shower. The beds are extremely firm, the way I prefer, but this may not be everyone's cup of tea.
Mrs Singh cooks wonderful meals: I experienced breakfasts and dinners, and every dish was as simply vegetarian as it was varied, colourful and really filling.
WiFi was provided for free, and it worked perfectly.
I will certainly go back the next time I visit Agra.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pl_vidale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambery, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Agra is all about Heritage and Heritage Homestay is a very convenient place to stay in a very quiet neighborhood. Plenty of room is exactly what you may need to balance the experience of the joyful crowd of Taj Mahal. As a family we stayed with Mr Singh and his family three days in July 2012. We had very pleasant evening chatting in the garden and he was extremely helpful when we had to find a doctor and medecine for my elder daughter.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pblac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon USA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We decided to change our plans at the last minute and had to find a place in Agra for the very next day. We searched on Trip Advisor and Heritage Homestay had the best reviews for what we were looking for. We were not disappointed! We arrived to find that a late lunch had been prepared for us. Lunch and dinner were home-cooked and very tasty. We enjoyed the 'family style' meals which we shared with some guests from Germany. Rooms are large and comfortable, there is plenty of hot water, and after staying in Delhi and Mussorie where our rooms were freezing, it was a pleasant surprise to be so comfortable, with extra blankets and a heater in the room, just in case. The Singh family is warm and welcoming and since this is their home which they've opened up to visitors, it's quite an honor to feel a part of this family if only for one night. I'd recommend this homestay to anyone coming to Agra who wants to get away from the noise of the city. It's so quite and peaceful here that we had the best night's rest in more than two weeks of traveling in India. Enjoy your stay in Agra even more by staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NamasteJudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.0 mi away
Bansi Home Stay
Bansi Home Stay
#4 of 202 in Agra
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 143 in Agra
3,960 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Homestay

Property: Heritage Homestay
Address: 52a Gaugh Road, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 202 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run home stay with 4 generations living in a turn-of-the century British heritage home. Breakfast is included and additional meals can happily be provided on request. Surrounded by gardens, we provide clean and comfortable rooms with a relaxing, pollution-free atmosphere. We are located near Clarks Shiraz Hotel and 2 km from the Taj Mahal, Red Fort and market; close enough for easy access, but far away from the noise and crowds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heritage Homestay Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing