We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Value and Incredible Service”
Review of Hotel Rashmi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Rashmi
Ranked #34 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We ate at the Restaurant everyday and loved it! They were too accomidating, Raju brought our table up to the roof so we could have an amazing view of the Taj while we feasted. Too Awesome!

It was $5 and had hot water and wifi, I call it a winner! its still a normal Hostel in India, there are rolling blackouts so they lose internet and hot water for an hour every 12 hours, but they have backup power, for lights and for $5 I'll take it with a smile :-) TII: This is India The rooms we first got smelt a little funny so we took the ones on the "2nd" floor and they smelt fine.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GriffGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 187 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

Tried twice to book via email before arrival. Had no reply but thought we'd try it out anyway. There was a room available on arrival. It was a bit dank, but relatively clean. Our room was the closest to the reception desk - maybe 10m at most - but the porter grabbed our bags before we could stop him and then demanded a tip when he took them the few steps over to our room. Awkward.

The restaurant was average at best. Although from what we found, that's pretty typical of Agra. Good location - halfway between the ticket office and the Taj Mahal - and it's pretty cheap if you're on a budget, but for what you get, it should probably be a bit cheaper.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

After a 12 hour train ride, my husband and I arrived to the Rashmi at 4 am. The hotel owner had told me this would not be an issue when I had called ahead to let her know. When we finally arrived though, the staff working there were really rude. I understand that we woke him up, but he kept complaining about the time we were arriving and saying that we would have to pay extra. I said that was fine, but I just wanted to get to our room, and we'll take care of everything when the owner was around. He kept us there for about 20 min, as it took him forever to find the sign in book, get us signed in, and finally send us up to our room. Every time we saw that staff person, he was curt and rude overall.

When we finally got to our room after checking in, there were several mosquitos. Also, there was a 1x3 ft hole at the top of our bathroom, which opened up to another guest's bathroom. So if there was someone in our bathroom and their's at the same time, you could here EVERYTHING like it was happening in the same room.

This stay wasn't horrible, and the day staff were lovely, but I really hope that the nighttime staff person either improves or is let go- he gave us a pretty negative impression overall of this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandamf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

is is a good place to stay if you want to see the taj mahal in the morning. it is very close to the south gate and at the hotel they are very friendly to help you with organizing your trip. The rooms are clean and the food at the hotel is OK. I stayed one night and i was pleased. Good value, friendly people and good location .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soloslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

we stayed here on the night of 4/01/13. The rooms were small but reasonably clean, though the bedding was not warm enough for a cold january night and there was a window open in our room that we couldnt close. The shower was hot but only a small trickle, toilet was adequate. Wifi did not work at all, and staff refused to do anything when i told them about this. Even internet on their computer provided for guests did not work

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizak777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Hotel Rashmi for two nights and it was very nice. The room was smallish, but it was clean and comfortable. There were table and chair as well, so we could lounge around. Wifi was only accessible around the restaurant and lobby, but the connection was very good. They gave us breakfast voucher and the restaurant opened very early for those who want to visit Taj at dawn. The restaurant is a bit expensive, but the food was very good.

The hotel is located near East Gate about ten minutes walk from the gate. The ticket office is about two minutes walk. There isn't much to do in Agra other than going to see Taj, so it is better to be close and this hotel is very convenient.

My friend who is Indian wants to come back again with his wife to visit Taj and he said he will stay at Hotel Rashmi again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katsfukasawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is a good choice for a bare bones budget option in Agra. It has cute and quirky decor and a really nice staff. We were the first ones through the gate in the morning and got photos devoid of other humans which made us really happy. It is located very near the East Gate and if you get up early you can walk there in the dark undetected by touts! It has wifi that works in bed, cable television, hot water and a pretty good restaurant. The cleanliness factor of the bedding here is the reason that you are carrying your own sheets all over India. There are a few mosquitos making their way in through the drain so keep the bathroom door shut. The staff were very kind and accommodating. The hotel can be a little loud so you may as well get up early. The Taj opens at 6:50, I recommend getting in line at 6AM and having your tea and breakfast after due to the inconvenience of toilets. Buy your ticket the day before if you can, the ticket office closes at 5PM. Hope you have a lovely time at the Taj!

Room Tip: If you book directly through the hotel the high season price is 700 rupees including breakfast for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dustydiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Safari
Hotel Safari
#30 of 144 in Agra
144 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tourists Rest House
Tourists Rest House
#24 of 144 in Agra
576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#33 of 144 in Agra
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bear packer
Bear packer
#37 of 144 in Agra
18 reviews
0.7 mi away
Krishna Haveli Hotel
Krishna Haveli Hotel
#39 of 144 in Agra
65 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saniya Place
Hotel Saniya Place
#95 of 144 in Agra
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rashmi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rashmi

Address: Near Hotel Amar Vilas | Rajiv Nagar, TajGanj, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Price Range: $10 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Rashmi 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Rashmi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing