We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the view is incredible!”
Review of Saniya Palace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saniya Palace Inn
Ranked #100 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed January 26, 2012

i spent one night in this hotel; the price we paid was reaaaaally cheap...we booked form Italy, and actually they didn't reserce what we asked, but anyway we found some rooms. In the bedroom there were just a double bed and a sink, the bathroom was very small. The cleaness of the bedsheets was....not so good, BUT afterall i would stay there again cause the view on Tah Mahal form the terrace was amazing, We had a good dinner there, and also the breakfast. The food was good and also cheap; and the view really makes you forget that the rooms are not so nice...

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank giuf86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
There are newer reviews for Saniya Palace Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

351 - 357 of 584 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2012

We booked a 1000Rpbs DELUXE room back in about Sep for DEC 25 (that's right, it is Christmas!!), and had since been in touch w/ the hotel through emails. We gave them our scheduled arrival time (by train), and reconfirmed our booking with the hotel 2 or 3 days before our checking in, and they also reconfirmed our booking.

Our train from Dehli was pretty much on time, and so were we turning up @ the hotel for our pre-booked room. When we arrived we told the man in-charge @ the reception counter that we have a reservation and gave him our names. He then brought us (with other enquiring tourists) straight up to the roof restaurant and we were puzzled. When we asked him where was our room, he then brought us straight back down, out of the hotel building, crossed a small road!!

We refused to follow him further and asked him what happened. This slimy man told us he reserved a room for us in another block of building which according to him is the same hotel!! He urged us to follow him to look at the room in that of the other block for the same price. The room he showed us was ridiculously dark, damp, smell and horrible, and was actually belong to another hotel called xx Inn!!!

We confronted him, and he relunctantly admitted that all rooms of Saniya Palace were filled, and that he did not hold a room for us!!! Since it was Christmas, good and reasonable priced guest house are all full!! We spent the next few hours in Agra with our driver (who drove us from the train station to Saniya place) looking for a place to stay. We finally checked ourselves in @ about 8pm in the last available room in the Retreat and end up spending US$150 for a night!!

Our first trip to India was tainted by this slimy man in the Saniya Palace. Do not let him taints yours holiday, STAY AWAY FROM IT!!!!

Room Tip: You have to be so LUCKY to get a room
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Louandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I did not stay in the hotel, but enjoyed visiting the roof terrace for drinks and food and chatting with other travellers whilst gazing at the Taj Mahal as dusk fell. I stayed in a more boring/modern area, this place is in a back-packer area, with the associated pro's and con's! (even getting here involved negotiating around 3 different mini scam attempts from the tuk-tuk driver! You have to love 'em!) :-)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TK1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at the Saniya Palace. The building is quite nice, with pleasant and quiet lounge parts. I had a single room without bathroom for 250Rps by night, the room was extremely dirty, with spiders' webs all around the bed, and so much mould on the walls and ceiling. The common bathroom was such disgusting that I didn't dare to enter inside.
The roof top restaurant was pleasant, with a nice view on the Taj Mahal. I took a biryani but it was too spicy that I could hardly eat it. The lassi was wonderful.
The welcome was really dissuasive, when i was asking them something I felt as if i was annoying them a lot.
My stay was quite horrible and my favourite moment was when I left the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pleonasme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

A very friendly hotel in a very busy/noisy area - but this is Agra! A lovely terrace with great views of the Taj Mahal and decent food. Clean rooms and a nice atmosphere, a good budget option. Very helpful staff and a good central location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Georgina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend in December 2011. The view of the Taj Mahal from the rooftop restaurant is spectacular... but that's about all it had going for it. We had booked a 650 rupee a night room, but when we turned up they only had 1000 rupee a night rooms. Not too terrible... but I woke up covered in bites and after closer inspection the bed was riddled with bed bugs. When we told the owner, he tried to blame us and then wanted to charge us for moving rooms. We stood our ground and were moved to a 550 rupee a night room (suddenly there was one available!)

There was one particular man that worked at the hostel that basically treated us like a walking dollar sign. We got overcharged for laundry, which was poorly done and not dry when we got it back! And when we tried to organise a taxi through the hotel he quoted us a ridiculously high price (nearly triple what we'd paid when we arrived).

Other guests had similar problems and found they were often quoted a far higher price by this one particular member of staff, than when they asked others (Stay away from the guy with the tear shaped birth mark!)

The Taj Mahal was amazing, but our stay at the Saniya Palace tainted our experience of Agra.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Surprisingly noted the reviews of the hotel booked the hotel and while entering I saw the unimaginable entrance of the hotel. Drain on both sides of the hotel was filled with urine a smell of natural perfume (better don't call it as urine smell). On the side of the lobby a Gen set is installed which is above the permitted sound level and pollution is 100%. You have to walk on the stairs with full strength because of its height. The room allotted to me is visible only when there is electricity. Only those who are habituated with drain smell, working class with full of strength and whose vision is perfect can stay or else god may save you.
When you book any reservation for railway etc.,you should be prepared to pay double the amount of ticket.
If you want Mutton, Beef will be served in the name of Mutton.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stanley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#85 of 142 in Agra
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#31 of 142 in Agra
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sheela
Hotel Sheela
#78 of 142 in Agra
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rashmi
Hotel Rashmi
#36 of 142 in Agra
186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taj Plaza
Hotel Taj Plaza
#102 of 142 in Agra
490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sheela Inn
Hotel Sheela Inn
#92 of 142 in Agra
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saniya Palace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saniya Palace Inn

Address: Chowk Kagziyan,South Gate, | Taj Ganj, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Price Range: $10 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Saniya Palace Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saniya Palace is a perfectly located budget hotel. Taj Mahal is 5 minutes walking distance, Agra fort is 2 KM and 2.5 KM from the Agra Fort train station and from Agra cantt 6 KM, airport 10 KM. We are in Old city of Agra full of tradition and full of mughal culture, even old market of Agra is walking distance from Hotel. We have one of the best terrace with the view of Taj Mahal. We provide multi cuisine. All clients relax on the terrace on their arrival to watch Taj Mahal with some drinks. The double Rooms start from 600 Rs to 1200 rs. We provide free pick up service during the day from the Agra cannt station. We always try to do our best service for our clients. We provide city tour of Agra with our believe persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Saniya Palace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saniya Palace Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing