We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the nicest place we stayed at in India”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chambal Safari Lodge
Ranked #4 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Probably the nicest place we stayed at in India”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Chambal Safari lodge combines heritage, elegance, wildlife and comfort in a peaceful rural location; a rare combination. Close enough to Agra to reach for lunch after a morning tour of the Taj Mahal, the lodge is a wonderful place to relax and to reflect on the experience of the Taj tour before moving on to the wildlife treats ahead. Excellent food came with very good service. Manager Surinder clearly knows what his clients need and makes sure that everything works well. Lunch outside was in a setting hard to beat. The gardens set in a glade in a few acres of woodland surrounded by farmland attract a wonderful variety of birds and other wildlife. Resident bird guide Sunil takes visitors round the property finding and identifying birds with great patience and expertise. He is still on hand after dinner to locate other wildlife including palm civet cats. The boat trip on the Chambal River is not to be missed for the surprises to be found in and above the water and along the banks of this great river. There were other trips available that we did not have time for. At least two or more days, perhaps even a week would be needed to justice to a stay here

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizziesbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    67
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
54
78
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We found the room very comfortable (althought the bed had a footboard, which is not good if you are tall). The grounds were nicely laid out, and we found the food good (though breakfast could have been more interesting, and real coffee would have been good). The trip to Bateshwar fair was really interesting, and Bateshwar itself was very picturesque. The river safari was very good ( we saw river dolphins, gharials and marsh mugger crocodiles, as well as turtles and lots of birds). We also walked to Fort Ater, which was stunning; we were expecting something far less impressive. The owner was very welcoming, and made sure all the guests' activities were arranged efficiently. One downside was that the drivers' accommodation was very poor, which is a shame when one of the aims of the lodge is to support the local community. Our driver said their food was not good either, and the local staff were rude to visiting drivers. I have no proof of this, but have no reason to disbelieve him. Other than this, I would recommend a stay here; it is not luxurious, but very comfortable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chapyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I'm a bit surprised at one or two of the earlier reviews because they don't seem to have taken advantage of what is on offer here. Firstly, the welcome was warm and friendly from people who are passionate about conservation and nature. There are excellent naturalists on hand to ensure that you get to the right places to see nature at its best. Sure. the cottage accommodation is not in the 'luxury' class but it is clean, well maintained and well furnished. There are top end suites available too, I understand. Our visit was for three nights, which I think was about right. We had a guided tour of the estate, a river safari and visits to the local villages, which were highlights for us. We saw mongoose at the back of our chalet, owls and fruit bats in the trees, gharials, crocodiles, pied king fishers, lots more birds and painted storks on the river safari and potters in the villages. It was a great experience. As for value for money; we thought it was excellent. We arrived at lunchtime and had a lovely lunch on the green, dinner aperitifs around a camp fire. All in all a very good experience! Our next visit to India will include a revisit here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Piggywiggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 577 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have to agree with both Boulbon and KeepSmilingUK. Chambal Safari Lodge isn’t worth a long stay or a special detour.

Located some 70 km southeast of Agra (it took us 2 hours to reach by car) in flat agricultural surroundings on the outskirts of the village of Jarar, the 12-room lodge is comprised of a large Mela Kothi with two guest rooms, a separate wing containing two suites and a number of smaller cottages dotted around the grounds. The lawns, shady, mature trees, hammocks, deck chairs, fire pit, general decor and buildings are tasteful and provide a nice setting in which to relax. A selection of teas, biscuits and water are provided at the Mela Kothi for guests to help themselves to during the day and complement the three meals served daily.

The lodge’s vision is attractive too. Set up as an eco-lodge, it strives to ensure that all its activities are sustainable and involve the local community as much as possible and its large tree nursery is helping reforest the surroundings. What sold it to us however was the wide range of proposed safaris and its relative proximity (40 minutes drive away - I had somehow pictured it beside the river in much wilder surroundings) to the National Chambal Sanctuary, a protected stretch of the Chambal River known for its reptiles, river dolphin and Indian skimmers.

Regardless of whether or not guests opt for one of the safaris, there’s a surprising amount of wildlife on site. The mature trees surrounding the lodge (the only substantial copse for miles) contain fruit bats, numerous birds and civet cats (we also spotted a large blue bull and an Indian hare next to our room as well as a scorpion in it) which can be ticked off on the excellent complementary checklist of local plants and animals provided on arrival. Note to owners: the nature trail around the property could be improved with plant nameplates.

Our dolphin suite was large, airy, relatively cool (air conditioning backed up the ceiling fans), tastefully appointed with old, locally sourced furniture and came with a huge bathroom, with double sinks and a vast shower (though in keeping with the lodge’s eco-credentials, guests were urged to have bucket showers). There wasn’t a TV (or wifi) in sight and a private walled, if a little bleak, garden and the suite’s location away from the main house ensured maximum privacy. Thoughtful solar powered torches and mosquito coils were also provided.

Unfortunately, things degenerated from then on. The owners were away and the lodge was fast emptying. After the other three couples (all from the UK) had departed, we shared the lodge with day visitors (down from Agra presumably) who fell on the lunch buffet like locusts and a large group of Indians who did nothing but complain, which didn’t do much for the ambience. With the owners absent, the lodge felt rudderless and the management left in charge didn’t seem to be. The manager - at least I presume that’s what he was - spent most of the day lounging in one of the hammocks after meals had been cleaned away and standing silently with arms folded while meals were served. We never learnt his name and were never really made to feel welcome by him or anyone else and only a couple of the younger guides were friendly and actually smiled.

Electricity was sporadic and during the end of our three night stay in mid March (when the mid-afternoon temperature was nudging 34°C) it virtually stopped altogether, so that cooling down and recharging batteries proved challenging.

The library was locked.

The food was disappointing and the least varied or generous on our trip. It was also the spiciest and only thing that was constantly good was the pickled jackfruit. Breakfast was uninteresting and unvarying and the packed breakfast we were given for our river safari consisted of a couple of stale sandwiches of cloyingly sweet jam and processed cheese.

Nights were marred by canine concerts from the neighbouring village - even earplugs, closed windows and air conditioning/fans (when they worked) couldn’t drown out the howling which lasted all night, every night.

Our driver’s accommodation was positively primitive and it left me feeling uncomfortable (and a tad colonial) leaving him to his mosquito infested dormitory while we headed for our lush quarters. Apparently the food provided wasn’t better than the accommodation.

Worst of all we were stuck with a guide whose knowledge was patchy and with whom we didn’t get on. Our “naturalist” was anything but. Mistakes were constantly made, explanations were sparse and enthusiasm was lacking. Worse was our guide’s smarminess and the way he treated the other (more menial) members of staff.

Our pre-arranged package included a river safari, a jeep safari, a camel safari to Ater Fort and a visit to the Bateshwar temples. All, with the exception of the river safari which was superb in terms of wildlife sightings (with a true naturalist it would have been unforgettable), were disappointing and badly planned. Our camel safari was shambolic as our guide disregarded our request to walk rather than ride, left the trip till late morning by which time it was too hot to enjoy or take good photos and provided very little information on the Fort. Our visit to Bateshwar consisted of tea (albeit excellent) on a terrace overlooking the river. We learnt nothing about the complex or the temples or indeed the annual pilgrimage that our visit coincided with and didn’t explore any of the buildings, never mind one of the caves.

Tired of ingratiating behaviour, mistakes with identifications, bad planning, lack of explanations and a dearth of knowledge, we decided to cancel our last day’s jeep safari (the low probability of spotting a hyena or blackbuck in the high crops helped swing the decision) and went for an early morning walk around the countryside on our own instead. We were soon dissuaded to venture any further by our encounters with locals, who on the whole didn’t seem very friendly (though it was true they were sometimes caught in compromising positions) and bands of children all clamouring for photos or Rupees which weren’t conducive to birding. In the end we spent most of our time in the lodge’s tree nursery and saw a good number of birds up close, including some stunning green bee-eaters. The “manager” spotted us returning but didn’t ask whether we’d enjoyed our walk or why we’d cancelled our planned safari.

While I feel bad writing a less than glowing review for a lodge whose credentials I admire and whose owners had shown us considerable kindness, I am disappointed both in the service provided and the overall experience. Perhaps things would have been better had they been around but, while I am perfectly willing to put up with a sporadic power supply, finding a scorpion under my case and humdrum food, they, combined with poor daily planning, lack of sleep and an increasing irritation with a guide with whom we were stuck, soon became unbearable. In the end we couldn’t wait to leave and did so early.

Tips:

Opt, if the budget will stretch, for one of the two suites.

If you only do one safari, make sure it is the river safari and insist on going early in the morning not just to maximise sightings, but also for the lovely sunrise over the river.

If you visit Bateshwar take plenty of mosquito repellent and insist on seeing a temple.

In February-March, the mustard crops are high so spotting hyenas and blackbuck is hard. Wait if you can until after the crops have been harvested to maximise sightings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank wucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Folks I'd only recommend this place if you're a serious birder.

Accomodation & food is basic and prices too high for whats on offer. Huge cracks in the traditional rural-style doors which let in too much of the weather. Nothing else to do here other than birding & crocs etc and that too only if the weather is on your side.

This all would have still been fine but what really got me is that somehow we didn't feel particularly welcome. All the attention was on visiting foreigners and perhaps resident birders ... Having travelled the world, this was a first for me. And certainly a last as far as chambal lodge is concerned...

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank FromAshish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a small (11 rooms) well managed property. You need these sort of "oases" in the middle of all the hustle n bustle that is india.
Food adequate, rooms tastefully appointed, surrounds maintained well to add to birding experience. Palm civets at night. V good birding guides -Sunil Kumar.
For the birder this is a gem-,the river provided Many lifer opportunities. This has to be the top spot for the "tiger" of Indian birds- the Indian Skimmer.
Good sightings of Ghariyal and Marsh crocs. Dipped on the gangetic dolphin. Flamingoes and sm pratincole was a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rusky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Having visited this property regularly for over a decade now, I can happily anoint it my most preferred destination to escape metro madness. The place has character, the service is great, the staff warm and the food delicious. Will recommend for devotees of the off-beat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CuttingLoose_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
36.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
37.8 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
38.0 mi away
Hotel Safari
Hotel Safari
#32 of 143 in Agra
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.8 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 143 in Agra
3,956 reviews
36.9 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 143 in Agra
2,758 reviews
36.1 mi away
Jaypee Palace Hotel & Convention Centre Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambal Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambal Safari Lodge

Property: Chambal Safari Lodge
Address: Mela Kothi Road, Agra 283104, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chambal Safari Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run eco-lodge nestling in 35 acres of reclaimed land. An oasis of peace, tranquility, and gracious hospitality. An opportunity to explore the Chambal Valley. River Safari for Gharials, Marsh crocodiles, Gangetic river dolphins, and Indian skimmers. Jeep safaris for Black-buck & Sarus cranes. Camel safari to Fort Ater, and excursions to the medieval temple complex at Bateshwar - site of the second largest animal fair in India (Sonepur in Bihar being the largest). Nature walks and village walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Chambal Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing