We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stands out in front!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chambal Safari Lodge
Ranked #3 of 211 Specialty Lodging in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Chambal Safari Lodge was just wonderful. Our experience at the lodge was one of our best in India. Relaxed and comfortable. I would describe it as upscale, rustic. The staff was so good. Everyone! We enjoyed getting to talk with several of the employees. The food was some of the best that we had on our entire trip. The excursions were very enjoyable - blackbuck safari with Gaj, river safari, camel safari to Ater Fort all really good. Our walk through the nearby village was a treat. I never knew that 2 Americans could cause such interest. The funny part was the villagers - children and adult - were so much more interesting than us!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Savuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 210 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile


Welcomed with tea and coffee in the spacious gardens with bouganville growing up the walls and onto the roof of the main lodge. Our accommodation was in a bungalow in the garden. Large bedroom, lounge, bathroom with walk in shower and private walled garden. All newly appointed and spotless. Food was buffet style and very good.
Tour of local village with guide from lodge was a real eye opener and worthy of the whole stay. However there were plenty of other sights to see including an excellent river cruise to see crocodiles and dolphins (if you are very lucky).

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MysteryTripMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Of all our travels, in India and abroad, our trip to Chambal seriously stands out. The most unusually gorgeous ravines where dacoits once prevailed, the lovely wildlife, the relaxing jungle lodge and a sense of non-touristyness. Chambal Safari Lodge is a lovely, sprawling eco-friendly place which really can't be called a resort because it doesn't come with any sort of material lavishness. Instead, you can look up at a tree and the sky beyond while lounging on a hammock outside your cottage, and enjoy cups and cups of tea at the main lawn with other guests. yes, no room service, so not an ideal place for those looking for total pampering. This one is for serious birders/wildlife enthusiats/shutterbugs. We chased blackbucks in the village fields, took a boat safari on the gorgeously blue Chambal river and spotted birds we'd never seen before. The food at the Lodge, it must be mentioned, was awesome. Delicately prepared Indian food, it was lipsmacking and totally not like the typical buffet food one is used to at hotels and resorts. Now Chambal Safari lodge isn't cheap - but it's worth all the money just for the exclusivity of the adventure.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nehabhatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This was the beginning of a two week stay in India on an organised trip and it was a perfect antidote to long travel and the noise of Delhi. The morning safari on the Chambal River was magical and bird life was plentiful. We also visited the Bateshwar temples. The temples as a whole on the banks of the river were breathtaking. Thoroughly enjoyed our wander around the village, guided by a local villager and the ceremony in the Hindu temple was an experience!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of an organised tour in October 2012. This was an alternative stay organised by a well known Tour agent as it was not possible to go to Ramthambore as the National Parks were shut.

We have several complaints about our stay which I list below.

* The door did not fit the room properly which allowed a whole host of ghekos and bugs to enter the room and bite you. I still have scars on my legs from the bites.

* There were no facilities and a lot of down time. Not even a tv in the room, let alone a proper bar. Also be warned they do not accept credit cards for finalising your bill upon departure. :O(

* We were taken on a tour to a local village and to a Hindu church service which stupidly involved us sitting next to a river at night by floodlights. The mosquitoes not only loved the lights but biting us. Ridiculous if you ask me!

* Having travelled extensively and been on Safari in Kenya I would hardly classify this as a Safari lodge and to be honest I did not receive as many bites when I stayed in a native village in Ghana last year.

* No alternate choice of food available - just Indian cuisine.

Could not wait to leave.

Room Tip: There was no swimming pool or fitness room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hoddo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed for two nights as part of an organised tour. The accommodation was rustic but delightful. The food was good as was the service and the staff friendly. We were there in November and the evenings were chilly but sitting around a "camp fire" with other guests was very pleasant. The safari on the Chambal river was an amazing experience with all the diverse wild life. The ancient temple complex at Bateshwar on the Yamuna River was really worthwhile. Dushyant our guide was excellent,knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penylanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

As a foreigner( and seasoned visitor to India) who was not on the Agra circuit we came here because we were seeking something different We were not disappointed . The Mela Kothi cottage was very comfortable complete with a little garden out back the walk across the lawn to meals was short although it is as well to carry a torch. Meals were generally very good particularly lunch taken outside but breakfasts rather disappointing. We enjoyed the evening gin and tonic round the camp fire. The high-spot for us was the morning boat trip on the Chambal with naturalist Sunil in attendance pointing out the various birds and reptiles. The afternoon drive to see the Sarus cranes was rather long and tedious although it was nice to see afew of these birds as well as the rare Black-necked Stork . The one trip we didn't particularly enjoy was to the Bateshwar temples which are interesting viewed as a group across the river but individually really don't have much architectural merit. Much more interesting in November to my mind is the massive carttle and horse fair of which we only caught a glimpse

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indiophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
37 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
36.7 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#4 of 147 in Agra
1,716 reviews
39 mi away
Hotel Madhushrie
Hotel Madhushrie
#67 of 147 in Agra
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
37.7 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 147 in Agra
4,323 reviews
37.7 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambal Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambal Safari Lodge

Address: Mela Kothi Road, Agra 283104, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 211 Specialty Lodging in Agra
Price Range: $142 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chambal Safari Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run eco-lodge nestling in 35 acres of reclaimed land. An oasis of peace, tranquility, and gracious hospitality. An opportunity to explore the Chambal Valley. River Safari for Gharials, Marsh crocodiles, Gangetic river dolphins, and Indian skimmers. Jeep safaris for Black-buck & Sarus cranes. Camel safari to Fort Ater, and excursions to the medieval temple complex at Bateshwar - site of the second largest animal fair in India (Sonepur in Bihar being the largest). Nature walks and village walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Chambal Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing