We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly homestay in peaceful location”
Review of Indian Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Indian Homestay
Ranked #20 of 202 Agra B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly homestay in peaceful location”
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Col. Lamba is lodging his guests across a set of houses in the same quiet street, within a stone's throw of his own house. The location is great as long as you do everything by taxi.
Our room was large and decorated, with real windows. Clean and well designed bathroom. Good firm mattress. Some mosquitoes managed to make their way inside but seemed to be knocked down by the little electric device provided.
Food is traditional but the same everyday. We got bored. Food is served in guests' dining room where we had the opportunity to chat with the colonel and his wife. They understood our needs and they arranged a 2 day taxi tour including splendid Fatehpur Sikri. Such a solution is highly recommended in this chaotic city. However, our driver has led us to some shops where he was getting commissions.
We had a nice evening around the garden fireplace on December 31st, where all guests celebrated the New Year with a late chat and a few beers.
Internet is not provided. We either had to beg for them to switch on the wifi in the main house or we had to visit an Internet cafe 5 minutes walk away. Not the best level of convenience.
However, this is overall a friendly reliable accommodation in Agra, offering precious help to simplify our life.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex-Camden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    21
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
11
27
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Col Lamba is quite a character and he and his wife made us very welcome after a long and gruelling journey. However,Agra was a huge disappointment as was the Taj, not helped by the fact it was raining,foggy and we thought someone had stolen the Taj (on reflection, the pictures of it inthe mist are quite good!).
The accom was excellent - we had the top floor (across theroad from his own home) with large bedroom,large bathroom(with bath!) lots of hot water both off a small quaint dining area (there was also a french window out on to the roof which I imagine would have dealt us a lovely view could we have seen anything).

The only unfortunate thing was that we arrived very late and weary and Col's wife made us a vegi meal (it was nothing much to write home about - quite plain cooking) but we were grateful as we were quite weary. What upset me was that she thought to charge the equivalent of £10 for it! completely over the top price and their greed marred our stay and our overview. Such a shame - so beware, probably don't eat there - there are lots of places in Agra you could feed a large family for 1/2 that price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We are two Scandinavian ladies and stayed two weeks in India in November 2010. When visiting Agra we stayed over at Lamba. We stayed in Agra only for one night and the next day for sightseeing. We really enjoyed the fact that they could provide us a trustworthy English speaking auto rickshaw driver for the whole day. So we really got the most out of Agra and sightseeing in just one day! Dealing with the rickshaw drivers could be stressful in India so this was something we really appreciated. Lamba was located in a nice quiet area but still close to Taj Mahal and railwaystation etc. They also provide tasty vegetarian dinners in Lamba which was very convenient. In Lamba the owner and Mr. and Mrs. Singh were the most friendly to help us and we really would have enjoyed to stay in Agra and Lamba for even a bit longer.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riittaandmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We were looking forward to a freindly homestay experience after the madness of Delhi. Sadly, this was not it. We were met by Col. Lamba, ushered into a very dark and exceptionally cold room where we were given forms to fill out. After this, we were shown to our dark and cold bedroom. At no stage were we welcomed, given any information about the facilities of the homestay, We were not orientated with our surroundings which were a very out of the way part of Agra. The only advice we were given was to use a local auto rickshaw to go to the best restaurant around - the "Only Restaurant". A hideous tourist trap complete with dancing boy in traditional dress, wailing to receive tips. Back at the hotel, we asked for blankets or heaters to combat the single digit temperature of the room. To complete the misery, we were visited by large mosquitos and given a battery operated fly swot to deal with them. The bathroom was, yes you guessed it, cold and dark. The shower dribbled out hot water in various directions together with a collection of small flies. Breakfast was included and was passable. All in all a very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OriaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We had the worst room in India here. The room which we occupied was full of mosquitoes and the walls were filled with traces of dead mosquitoes and dried blood. We wanted to experience an Indian homestay but found out differently. The bathroom is not "attached" as I was told but in a separate room. I smelled sewer every time I slept at night. I got so sick and am glad to have left the place. Heavy curtains draped the rooms and filled with dust. If you want to stay in Agra, avoid staying here at all.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2010

If you want to stay in a place where the owner is a real gentleman and welcomes you into his home then this is the place for you.
The rooms were average to good, with ensuite facilities. Breakfast was good and there was an option to have dinner made by Col Lamba's wife.
Col Lamba made life easy for a backpacker in Agra, he arranged all our transport at no extra cost. He showed an interest in us and showed us his family photos (not that you can miss them) and he spoke about his time in the military and serving in the Himalaya's.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesCollinsWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2010

The colonel and his wife made us feel right at home and met our every need. Great food, great company and comfortable spacious accomodation. A driver was organised for us and proved a really easy way of seeing everything. Out of town location def a plus as Agra other than the taj, fort and fatepuhr sikri not worth spending time in. Definetly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimnem28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
110.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
109.4 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 143 in Agra
3,960 reviews
110.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
109.1 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
109.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
108.4 mi away
Tourists Rest House
Tourists Rest House
#22 of 143 in Agra
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Homestay

Property: Indian Homestay
Address: 71 Gulmohar Enclave | Shamshabad Road, Agra 282001, India (Formerly Col. Lamba Indian Homestay)
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 202 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Indian Homestay 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Indian Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Col. Lamba Indian Homestay Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing