We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissappointing”
Review of Indian Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Indian Homestay
Ranked #9 of 207 Agra B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We had expected a homely family atmosphere, which it certainly didn't have. The room was OK, but the loo was in danger of overflowing evey time it was flushed and the shower just didn't have any water. The basin tap didn't have more than a drip either. We were offered tea/coffee on arrival in a friendly way of welcoming guests, but were then charged for it when we paid the bill. The dinner on night one seemed quite pleasant, but was an exact repeat on night two. We had read how friendly and chatty Col Lamba and his wife are, but they were not really interested at all. The bill for the dinners was really excessive, and way over the top for what we had.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbtimes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 75 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2011

As soon as we were picked up from the Agra train station, we knew that we were in good hands. Col Lamba runs a very good homestay - we felt totally safe there. He met us at reception and registered our details and collected our payment. He then swiftly organized our driver from Agra to Jaipur and also briefed us about our day tour - then warmly sent us on our way.

We asked for driver and guide for our day tour and got a very knowledgable and articulate ex-army gentleman, Sanjay - with little gems of information about the Taj Mahal. He even took really good photos of us because he knew all the special photo spots (saved us from paying the many "professional" photographers hanging around at the Taj Mahal).

At the end of the day, we came back to the homestay and to our homey room. The bathroom wasn't ensuite, but it didn't worry us. We didn't even worry about leaving our room door unlocked for short periods. There was lots of privacy as homestay staff stayed discreetly out of our way but magically appeared when needed.

After we had gotten cleaned up, we were told that dinner was ready. Aaaah bliss. The cook had prepared a delicious vegetarian dinner of fried rice, a vegetable dish (can't remember the name), palak paneer, dhal and chapatti. So much for just the 2 of us. We finished off with a cup of hot tea and a sweet treat (which we absolutely loved and asked the next day, to be brought to a shop to buy a big box of it to bring home). Panchy "Gajak" (ask for it - it's supposed to be an Agra specialty. Like peanut brittle, but with sesame seeds, cashews and pistachios and spiced with cardamon).

It's not for travellers who want lots of hotel facilities and activities. It's for travellers who want a safe, comfortable and homey place to rest after a long day of sightseeing. You'll definitely experience warm Indian hospitality here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GwendolineChia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Nice, friendy people. The homestay is located in a friendly, quit street not to far away from the city. The roof terrace is nice and has a view on the Taj Mahal.
For site seeing I can recommend to hire the 'house' auto riksja driver Vijay.
The rooms have now real windows and are a bit out dated furnished.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErnstvanDam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

this homestay was really good - the colonel and his wife were very friendly and keen to know about our travels. they made every effort to ensure that our stay was comfortable. The food was good and the room was very comfortable without being too oppulent. Ask for VJ the rickshaw driver - he looked after us so, so well and we were very happy with his service too!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankiejholden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Col. Lamba is lodging his guests across a set of houses in the same quiet street, within a stone's throw of his own house. The location is great as long as you do everything by taxi.
Our room was large and decorated, with real windows. Clean and well designed bathroom. Good firm mattress. Some mosquitoes managed to make their way inside but seemed to be knocked down by the little electric device provided.
Food is traditional but the same everyday. We got bored. Food is served in guests' dining room where we had the opportunity to chat with the colonel and his wife. They understood our needs and they arranged a 2 day taxi tour including splendid Fatehpur Sikri. Such a solution is highly recommended in this chaotic city. However, our driver has led us to some shops where he was getting commissions.
We had a nice evening around the garden fireplace on December 31st, where all guests celebrated the New Year with a late chat and a few beers.
Internet is not provided. We either had to beg for them to switch on the wifi in the main house or we had to visit an Internet cafe 5 minutes walk away. Not the best level of convenience.
However, this is overall a friendly reliable accommodation in Agra, offering precious help to simplify our life.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex-Camden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Col Lamba is quite a character and he and his wife made us very welcome after a long and gruelling journey. However,Agra was a huge disappointment as was the Taj, not helped by the fact it was raining,foggy and we thought someone had stolen the Taj (on reflection, the pictures of it inthe mist are quite good!).
The accom was excellent - we had the top floor (across theroad from his own home) with large bedroom,large bathroom(with bath!) lots of hot water both off a small quaint dining area (there was also a french window out on to the roof which I imagine would have dealt us a lovely view could we have seen anything).

The only unfortunate thing was that we arrived very late and weary and Col's wife made us a vegi meal (it was nothing much to write home about - quite plain cooking) but we were grateful as we were quite weary. What upset me was that she thought to charge the equivalent of £10 for it! completely over the top price and their greed marred our stay and our overview. Such a shame - so beware, probably don't eat there - there are lots of places in Agra you could feed a large family for 1/2 that price.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We are two Scandinavian ladies and stayed two weeks in India in November 2010. When visiting Agra we stayed over at Lamba. We stayed in Agra only for one night and the next day for sightseeing. We really enjoyed the fact that they could provide us a trustworthy English speaking auto rickshaw driver for the whole day. So we really got the most out of Agra and sightseeing in just one day! Dealing with the rickshaw drivers could be stressful in India so this was something we really appreciated. Lamba was located in a nice quiet area but still close to Taj Mahal and railwaystation etc. They also provide tasty vegetarian dinners in Lamba which was very convenient. In Lamba the owner and Mr. and Mrs. Singh were the most friendly to help us and we really would have enjoyed to stay in Agra and Lamba for even a bit longer.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riittaandmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.7 mi away
Mohini Home Stay
Mohini Home Stay
#4 of 207 in Agra
200 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aman Homestay
Aman Homestay
#1 of 207 in Agra
432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Su-Koon Homestay
Su-Koon Homestay
#25 of 207 in Agra
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ray of Maya Hotel
Ray of Maya Hotel
#7 of 207 in Agra
391 reviews
0.7 mi away
N.Homestay
N.Homestay
#6 of 207 in Agra
506 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Homestay

Address: 71 Gulmohar Enclave | Shamshabad Road, Agra 282001, India (Formerly Col. Lamba Indian Homestay)
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 207 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range: $16 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Indian Homestay 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family running homestay in Agra ,Set in a downtown area , our homestay is situated in a calm and quiet place in a residential township Gulmohar Enclave at Shamshabad Road with all modern amenities and facilities. Me and my family staying on the same house ,Our home stay near Taj mahal 2.5 kms distance , its 6 individual room with en suite bath all are air-conditioned with LED TV , 24 Hrs hot / cold running water , room service with all modern facilities and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Indian Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Col. Lamba Indian Homestay Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing