We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money is right”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
YWCA Anandagiri Holiday Home
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Value for money is right”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

As YWCA's go this one is average. We have stayed in excellent ones in Delhi and worse ones elsewhere. Maybe this is unfair as our visit coincided with a large convention being held there and staff were overrun and finding it difficult to cope with what seemed like a couple of hundred people!. Our room in one of the detached cottages was adequate if colonial barrack room style! A huge high room, somewhat chilly in Ooty's winter climate. It did have an ante room with reasonable sitting accomodation. But think - what are you paying and what do you expect..

The restaraunt was friendly yet the menu was very limited. What there was was good. Again at that price can you complain. This is Ooty with Ooty prices and hotesl are all expensive. We found the YWCA quite adequate and would consider using it again, though not if we were looking for hotel type comfort.

Room Tip: If you have a cottage make sure you check that water is on and working before you settle i!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cravens37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    40
    24
    8
    8
See reviews for
37
23
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

it's 1st Jan 2013 morning. And there is no water in the bathroom. its the same story in the morning last three days of our stay. There is no concept of room service - towels and shope are distant dreams. everyone here behaves as if they are showing pity by letting us stay here.! would never come back here. suggest the same to you also

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abhirupju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels

Navsari, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

it was great to stay at YWCA Ooty, I truly thank to trip advisor to keep option like this, very economical in price, great in service and the safest in ooty, nothing much to say but wish to come again and stay there for more longer but do advance booking for safe side

Room Tip: visit hotel's webiste before making any booking but not possible to find anything cheaper than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank palakronak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The best thing about Ooty is that its simple yet naturally gorgeous...the same goes for YWCA Anandagiri Holiday Home, its very simple yet very beautiful. It very neat and clean with helpful stuffs. the restaurant serves very good food and trust me of our entire stay in south India the best food that we had was at this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sam4mOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

A nice neat place in the center of town! Staff very friendly and hospitable. Room and cottages are neat and clean and the deluxe rooms are well maintained. The restuarant needs upkeeping, not clean and food is not very tasty. All said and done, for the price one pays, it is a very resonable and good place to stay right in the heart of town. Just opposite the Ooty race course and a couple of kilometers from the botanical gardens, the Ooty lake and rose gardens, etc.

Room Tip: If you are a couple then the deluxe rooms are just good enough, but if you are with family (kids inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayaprakash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the YWCA in Anandgiri, Ooty in Oct. We rented a cottage which was basic and decent enough as we were on a budget trip. The place has an old colonial world charm to it. However, the restaurant’s food and service is really horrible. They took over an hour to serve us dinner and breakfast, this despite the fact that we place the orders in advance and also mentioned that we had hungry children in the group. The restaurant’s management needs a complete overhaul. Room service to deliver tea/coffee/milk was decent. Go here if you want a basic place to stay in Ooty and if you are on a budget, but it is highly recommended you eat outside or get food from out and eat in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

the accomodation was good, the rooms were neat and tidy. very close to the shopping area, botanical garden, bus stand and railway statiion, rose garden and the wax museum. very hospitable staff. we took a tour of ooty and conoor for just rs. 150 which is quite affordable and worth the ride. only problem we faced was hot water which was much needed in the cold climate.

Room Tip: private bunglows with ample parking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sharonchristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.7 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
791 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,195 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
#23 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#18 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
629 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#14 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
511 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Flora Amberley Resort
La Flora Amberley Resort
#50 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YWCA Anandagiri Holiday Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Anandagiri Holiday Home

Property: YWCA Anandagiri Holiday Home
Address: Ettines Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 202 Specialty Lodging in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Ywca Anandagiri Holiday Home Hotel Ootacamund
YWCA Anandagiri Holiday Home India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing