We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go here for rustic colonial charm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
YWCA Anandagiri Holiday Home
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Go here for rustic colonial charm”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the YWCA in Anandgiri, Ooty in Oct. We rented a cottage which was basic and decent enough as we were on a budget trip. The place has an old colonial world charm to it. However, the restaurant’s food and service is really horrible. They took over an hour to serve us dinner and breakfast, this despite the fact that we place the orders in advance and also mentioned that we had hungry children in the group. The restaurant’s management needs a complete overhaul. Room service to deliver tea/coffee/milk was decent. Go here if you want a basic place to stay in Ooty and if you are on a budget, but it is highly recommended you eat outside or get food from out and eat in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    40
    24
    8
    8
See reviews for
37
23
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

the accomodation was good, the rooms were neat and tidy. very close to the shopping area, botanical garden, bus stand and railway statiion, rose garden and the wax museum. very hospitable staff. we took a tour of ooty and conoor for just rs. 150 which is quite affordable and worth the ride. only problem we faced was hot water which was much needed in the cold climate.

Room Tip: private bunglows with ample parking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sharonchristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Good place to stay but could be better...we went in last week of august and were warmly welcomed but were not given the bungalow already booked by us bcz of some local marriage party requesting for it. And we were offered gate cottage for a price of Rs 1080 per day by DEEPA ,and we took it ,which was spacious ,neat,had good bed,24/7 hot water,bright during the day.But the food quality and service was pathetic to say the least and food is too expensive (rs.200 for veg meals) compared to the eateries surrounding .Room was cleaned on request and no tips were asked for which is really good.One day one waiter named JOHN OR STEPHEN ate a spoonful of our custard while bringing it our room .Another day ,few revelers (drunk) had loud music and were creating a ruckus outside our cottage preventing our small daughter from sleeping and had to call security and was cleared.Another day somebody from the marriage party had drunk and vomited right in front of sit out of our cottage which was outrageous.They have a small park were small children and elders can relax .Good number of eateries in the vicinity and market is 2 minutes walk .Improvement is needed in service and food and so would like to go there again for a second chance.Expected good food at nominal prices and no revelery (drinking in the campus) in a christian organisation unfortunately which is allowed.Gate Cottage is a roomy and brighter option of all accommodation available.

Room Tip: Gate Cottage is a roomy and brighter option of all accommodation available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benny123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Booked three beded room for rs 888 per day july 20th stayed 3 days,Room was very clean so was the bath with hot water.In house restaurant serves good tasty food not too expansive.Staff helpful & polite.Bed sheets also clean.Near to shopping walkable to bus & rail stations.For tour of ooty & conoor pay rs 150 only from 10a.m. -5p.m. minium ten places.tour company is about 130 meters to left from main gate of hotel.can buy sweeter for rs 50-150 @ lower bazaar st about ten minutes walk from hotel Overrall happy with this hotel peaceful holiday thank you.

Room Tip: Book room at main annex building brighter place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nand-kumar-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We drove down to Ooty on June 18th from Hyderabad and stayed in the 4-bedded cottage near the main gate for 3 nights. We could park our car right in front of the cottage.

For a price of Rs 1080 per day, one cannot get such decent accommodation. The cottage was freshly painted and well-maintained. The geyser supplied hot water from 6 am to 10 and from 6 pm to 9 pm. The TV was working fine and the drawing room was cosy.
The restaurant was also good, with a colonial look. Breakfast, especially dosa and idly, was sumptuous. The reception staff, namely Vinith and Priscialla were extremely courteous and helpful.

I'll certainly go there again, moreso when comparable accomodation costs 4 times as much. The location is good, as the bus station, railway station and Commercial street are all within 1.5 kms away. The Ooty Lake is 3 kms away

The only negatives were a non-working phone and a cold bathroom due to a vent high up that could not be reached.

Room Tip: Send an email and seek information on room types and then choose. Also ask for towels and soap in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vnabhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Oooty as a town is dirty and disappointing but the YWCA was a good place to stay. The rooms are clean and spacious. I loved the old fashioned feel and the ethical basis of the YWCA (the profits from the guesthouses go to support their projects for women & girls in India).
The staff were very kind and welcoming. I was unwell when I arrived and they went out of their way to be helpful. Our first night was in a room in the main house but I needed more time to recover so we moved to one of the little bungalows which are also very good value.
They are very keen on fresh air so the dining room was very cold at times ( wrap up in extra layers). It was cold at night but you can have a hot water bag for Rs 30 which made all the difference!

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house have individual bathrooms but they are opposite across the corridor. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiri59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solapur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I made a reservation looking at the pictures available on this website, the pricing was extremely low as compared to the contemporaries. I was kind of doubtful about the place. I was taken by surprise when i reached, The receptionist was a nice well mannered guy, had all the details i gave him on the phone. I took a lower cottage which had a large bedroom, a small living room and a large bathroom attached. room was clean comfortable, bathroom geyser supplied hot water. Room service was nice, breakfast was good and reasonable. I would recommend this place for those who are looking for a serene, laid back location to enjoy your vacation,

Room Tip: lower cottages have a attached bathroom and they are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nb24_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.7 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
791 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,195 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
#23 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#18 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
629 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#14 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
511 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Flora Amberley Resort
La Flora Amberley Resort
#50 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YWCA Anandagiri Holiday Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Anandagiri Holiday Home

Property: YWCA Anandagiri Holiday Home
Address: Ettines Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 202 Specialty Lodging in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Ywca Anandagiri Holiday Home Hotel Ootacamund
YWCA Anandagiri Holiday Home India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing