We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice hotel with a very bad restaurant”
Review of Hotel Lakeview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lakeview
Bangalore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Nice hotel with a very bad restaurant”
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Lake view in ooty is very nice hotel provided if you have the following
1. Your own vehicle to commute as it is slightly outside the city
2. Are willing spend quite a bit for food which is not good or willing to go to city center for every meal
The good thing about this place is its opposite the ooty lake providing you with an awesome view.
The room service is pathatic you need to order for dinner at lunch time :).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank backpackandg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    358
    188
    46
    76
See reviews for
392
281
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

I visited ooty in Oct 2010 with my wife n mother in law.i had made a call the previous day so that things could be kept ready.we reached there at 7 am but no one even bothered to show us d cottage.after a long wait for some 30 mins they took us.
the cottages r not at all upto the mark n r extremely costly but r cheap in comparison to the food they offer at their restaurant which costs Rs.27 for a cup of tea/coffee!!!
the cottages r just not maintained.room service is dam slow...it took 2 hrs to just send us the towels n that too after repeated phone calls..The roof was broken ,some floor tiles had been digged out making the floor risky to walk.
In the chilling weather they just provide a thin blanket as they very well know that ppl unable to endure the cold will tk extra blanket which wud fetch them xtra money.
the lake can not b viewd from drwe...jst a glimpse can b caught n u'll hv to assumwe it to b the ooty lake..though the beauty of ooty can b felt from the garden stil i wont suggest it for anybody who dsnt want to waste their money...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travewllwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

For some strange reasons i wanted to book a hotel just near the lake ... so i got into this hotel which claims to have a "lake view". yes it does have a lake view if you stay on the front row.. so keep that in mind if you insist on having the lake view.

The plus points

Good value for money if you are travelling on a budget.
Proximity to the town and the lake .
Pretty Quiet even though you are close to ooty town.
You can park your vehicle right in front of your cottage.

The negative ones..

very bad room service and house keeping. i had a really bad experience when i asked for heater. i ordered it around 8pm and i got it around 11 pm when we were asleep. Really horrible. And they don't keep bath towels in the cottage. You need to call the house keeping many times to get it. Minimum three calls are required to get any stuff.

The rooms look a bit old and shabby.( Not pathetic.. it should be fine if you are travelling around ooty the entire day and want to crash somewhere at night).

overall.. as i said earlier , if u re on budget and spending most of the time outsides.. i would recommend it. A big NO if you are a honeymoon couple or on a romantic holiday..

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

I booked this hotel only because there were a lot of reviews on this hotel. There were both good and bad reviews. But after reading the reviews carefully, I went ahead and made the booking. Some very important information:

(1) The hotel is spread in a very big area - on a slope.
(2) Avoid ordering food from room. The kitchen is near the main reception - They will take time to reach your room and the food will get cold. So it is always better to go to their restaurant. Also the rates in restaurant are a bit less.
(3) I went in off season when the hotel occupany was less. That means less price and better service. I also got a very clean cottage which was recently renovated with 24x7 hot water.
(4) You have to pay for room heater if it is not present in your cottage.
(5) They have options for site seeing - Auto/Bus/Taxi but rates are not cheaper than any other arrangement. So I hired a full day taxi.
(6) The hotel gives very good value for money. Be ready for surprises. Check your reservation twice before reaching.
(7) Remember - pay less - expect less - have a very happy holiday.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iCruzer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

It was amazing. Hotel is very close to the lake just 10 mins and also to the bus stand. Amenities were excellant. Comfortable stay at moderate price. Great food, good service and after all good value for money. Friendly people, loads of fun and just enjoyed the stay. Wish we could have one more stay on our next trip to ooty.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanmu85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I visited lake view hotel in the april with my husband. The location isn't quite convenient if you dont have your own vehica but it gives you one of the best views in ooty.Even when we booked the room in advance,we didnt get the room in the front row from where one can have the view of lake.The reception lady was not so co-operative.The cottege was very specious and clean.Service at the restaurant was good but room service order took around an hour.food was quite nice. Overall the stay was good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suchirao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We went to Lake view hotel in August. We took deluxe room which was not appropriate according to charges. Deluxe room was not well furnished, no coloring at all. Moreover room service was not good. Whatever we order that was not hot and not up-to the mark. Just for two boiled eggs we spent 48 rs.

In the restaurant also, they served cold food and even after request they served the same cold stuff. I guess staff was not interested in doing their jobs.

I am not recommending this hotel at all if someone need some quality stuff with the price that we are paying.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VishantKohli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#18 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
629 reviews
3.7 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,015 reviews
2.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,195 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#15 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
511 reviews
2.2 mi away
Treebo Yantra Leisures
Treebo Yantra Leisures
#16 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lakeview

Property: Hotel Lakeview
Address: West Lake Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 85 Hotels in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lakeview 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lakeview sits pretty on an 8 acre stretch of land, on the sensuous terraced slopes of a hill offering a magnificent double spectacle. Even at an ambling pace, you can reach the boathouse in 10 minutes flat, or the bus stand in 15 minutes.The complex has easy access to every part of the town and beyond.Experience the pleasure of living besides Ooty lake with family and friends in the Queen of Hill station.The largest and the most exclusive hill resort in Ooty, Lakeview consists of 123 specially designed, fully independent luxury cottages. Hotel Lakeview is where you begin to experience Ooty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Hotel Ootacamund
Hotel Lakeview India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing