We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel”
Review of Hotel Lakeview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lakeview
Reviewed March 24, 2010

1) Very well maintained Hotel
2) The cottages are very well planned
3) The food is good (But there is no variety in food)
4) Even though the name says Lakeview, there is a lake opposite to the hotel and is not visible due to trees.
5) They provide night campfire facilites, heater (Extra charge) and cab for sightseeing (But it is advised to take cabs outside as the price is higher. But the group trip in bus is affordable)

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sudhindramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (814)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

784 - 790 of 814 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2010

Hotel Lakeview was my first experience of a cottage-like place of stay, and I must say, we weren't disappointed. Located very near to central Ooty, it is easily accessible from bus station, railway station, main market, and key attractions like Ooty Lake and several others.
The rooms were clean. We had no complaints about the airflow, water supply, or power supply during our three days of stay. The lighting was abundant, and we were quite happy viewing the scenery just from our deluxe cottage (they are at bit down level) window.

Despite its name (Lakeview), view of the lake has been restricted by bushy growth nearby, which contrasts the original design. But in all, it's built with good aesthetic sense about natural beauty, and provides more-than-enough comfort to tourists.

It was a heavenly experience, to sum up.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vividprose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Excellent hotel... far from main ooty centre rush.. located on hill .. nice vicinity of nautre with lot of cottages homes

Do book cottages!!!! REally enjoyable

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaibhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

i and a friend made an impromptu decision to drive to ooty and hence didn't have any prior hotel reservation, we got the hotel lakeview no at the back of a bus on the way to ooty and made the booking about 1-2 hrs prior to arriving. Fortunately a couple of cottages were available.
The best part of the hotel as it's name suggests is that its placed next to the ooty main lake and thus provides of excellent scenic pleasures. Their are 100+ cottages with various upgrades available and they provide for comfortable and pleasant stay. The basic amenities of fireplace and common room with dinning table provide adequate comfort to deal with chilly ooty nights!
the room service and food is decent with veg food having a slight upper hand when compared with non veg.
Overall a comfortable place to stay in ooty that too at a reasonable price!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callmedebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

It is good place to stay whoever loves calm location and cottage type stay. But front office guys take more time to admit. Rooms are clean and food is also ok. But we need to wait more time. Also room's interior could have constructed well.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tips_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

I went there with my wife for our honeymoon trip.

The room quality was average. You can tolerate that, not so bad. But when it comes to food then better you should seek some other option. Never order anything from the North Indian food menu. Its very costly and not value for money. Again if you want to go outsomewhere to eat then its too far from this hotel.

The location is good. Its name is Lakeview but alas !! you can't see the lake unless you walk atleast half a kilometer from the hotel. But still its a good site surrounded by hills.

If you want your wif should not scold at you then avoid this place. You can enjoy with friends but not your partner.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savindrasingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Individual cottages offer good privacy. Affordable room service rates. In short a nice play to stay in ooty.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#16 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
639 reviews
3.7 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,065 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#18 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
#27 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
145 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,225 reviews
2.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lakeview

Address: West Lake Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 86 Hotels in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $31 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lakeview 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lakeview sits pretty on an 8 acre stretch of land, on the sensuous terraced slopes of a hill offering a magnificent double spectacle. Even at an ambling pace, you can reach the boathouse in 10 minutes flat, or the bus stand in 15 minutes.The complex has easy access to every part of the town and beyond.Experience the pleasure of living besides Ooty lake with family and friends in the Queen of Hill station.The largest and the most exclusive hill resort in Ooty, Lakeview consists of 123 specially designed, fully independent luxury cottages. Hotel Lakeview is where you begin to experience Ooty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Hotel Ootacamund
Hotel Lakeview India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing