We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new year experience”
Review of Hotel Lakeview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lakeview
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great new year experience”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We are a couple from Bangalore and we went to celebrate our 2014 new year's eve. The hotel is in a very calm and serene location, though it can be a little outside the main city. It's not exactly attached to the lake but very close to it.

We went for the executive-suite type cottage. It was quite good and we were impressed by the rustic looks. But we though they could have taken some measures to prevent it from getting overly cold, like using proper tiles. We utilised the fireplace to the fullest and it was quite a relief to have it around.

Food at the restaurant was alright. We ate outside most of the time. Overall, it was a nice experience.

Room Tip: Have a look at the room first before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qwertyhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    358
    187
    45
    75
See reviews for
391
280
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

had a nice experience . hotel provides daily tours to various places in ooty thats a plus
the rooms a well furnished n give you a very cozy environment to get that romantic equations
right just the perfect mix of privacy
road to the hotel is good n is v good for a romantic walk ;)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kunal5487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Villa cottages. Rooms are good. Service very poor. Waiter keep knock the door in morning after tea to get back tea pot and flask. They have less tea cups and flask. Food rate is too high compare to any hotel. No complementary tea and break fast though we stayed at the best rooms with higher cost. Hotel is located 3.5-4km away from the city. Personal vehicle is must. I'll not recommend to this any of my friends or relatives for sure.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SankuSinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels

Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Its very bad experience & they spoiled the holiday mood.

The service is very very poor the front desk staff's does not even look at you. They charge for everything other than the room rent. No complementary break fast. Faraway from most of the attractions.

There is no lake view at all ..

Room Tip: stay away from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saravanan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2014

jeevan.k
don't watch in web site and don't go here because they mention this hotel is situated in front of the lake but its not true,they are cheating.and horrible un professional staff.front office people first they will inform check out timing.its very insulting.in the restaurant i order masala dosa in that masala dossa i got hair.no personal hygiene for this hotel staff.i stayed here jan 20th 2014,we are paying luxury tax and service tax i dont know wht kind luxury they are providing no amenities and no proper service.front office lady was very un professional and very rude.

Room Tip: cottage rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeevan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

It was for our wedding anniversary that I chose this place to stay and I am glad that I did. Very Pleasant. Was very satisfied with the overall experience.
The ambience is amazing and the proximity to the lake is very close. The food tasted good. The cottages are very clean and comfortable. The best part was that I could park my car just in front of the cottage and that definitely gave a home like feel :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ever4umani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#17 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
627 reviews
3.7 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,007 reviews
2.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
#24 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
143 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lakeview

Property: Hotel Lakeview
Address: West Lake Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lakeview 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lakeview sits pretty on an 8 acre stretch of land, on the sensuous terraced slopes of a hill offering a magnificent double spectacle. Even at an ambling pace, you can reach the boathouse in 10 minutes flat, or the bus stand in 15 minutes.The complex has easy access to every part of the town and beyond.Experience the pleasure of living besides Ooty lake with family and friends in the Queen of Hill station.The largest and the most exclusive hill resort in Ooty, Lakeview consists of 123 specially designed, fully independent luxury cottages. Hotel Lakeview is where you begin to experience Ooty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Hotel Ootacamund
Hotel Lakeview India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing