We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hevenly resort”
Review of Hotel Lakeview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lakeview
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“hevenly resort”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed in Hotel Lakeview from 31.12.13 to 03.01.14 . Really it is like a heaven . Pleasant stay ! The staffs are very good , they welcome with respect & with a big smile. The food is very delicious.We done the booking directly with hotel using their own website. The reservation people are well aware of the booking. The travel desk helps us lot to visit the local sight scenes. The rooms are maintained very good. Clean bed sheets , toilets are very clean. The room service are very fast. They deliver the food within few mins . My kids are very happy . Even myself and my hubby enjoyed. The prices are very normal not too high . The climate , the location is very beautiful. Markets & ATM are nearby .We really enjoyed the stay and this is my 3rd visit . My first visit, we just came for our honey moon , then we came for my son's second birthday celebration . I strongly recommed this hotel .
www.hotellakeview.com

Room Tip: all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steffy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    358
    187
    45
    75
See reviews for
391
280
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I'm no stranger to Ooty as I'd finished my schooling from here way back in the 90s. The Lakeview hotel was visible to us from our dorm and class windows and some of our friends' parents used to stay here too (though mine didnt). It always seemed a pleasant place to stay at with the terraced approach on the construction of the cottages with each one having its own small space in the front.

I stayed at Lakeview during the past weekend.

I read a lot of mixed reviews about this place on trip advisor and though initially, we were in two minds whether to go for this hotel or not, my childhood thoughts got the better of me and we decided to just experience it (no matter what :) ) Frankly, we never cared if the cottage was lake facing or not. We reached there on Saturday and entered the reception with a dreaded feeling because of the many negative reviews on trip advisor. All of it vanished as soon as we met the reception guys. The lady greeted us warmly and we were allotted a newly renovated cottage (No. 60).

The cottage itself was amazing. The bell boy Mr. Ravi handed over the keys to us explaining the various useful info about room service, the geyser, house keeping etc. We wished the flooring was carpeted as it was really cold to walk around and we had to wear our socks on the whole time. The room service menu is priced high (but it is clearly mentioned on the menu that if you wanted hotter and cheaper food, please visit the restaurant). We prefer room service and the food that we ordered was delivered promptly within 10-20 mins. The waiter was really courteous (politely asking us to let him in). The food itself was reasonably hot (the waiter gets the food in a covered tray - maybe this has been addressed by the management recently after the many complaints in some earlier reviews that the food was brought in cold) delicious too with good quantity. For example if you're not really famished for dinner, just order one chicken fried rice and a chicken dry item for 2 and it should be enough. But if you have a huge appetite then just let the monster loose! Do not miss the egg pakoras for snacks and puri baaji for breakfast. The non veg items can do with a bit of more seasoning and attention to cooking.

A few minor things we'd have loved to see - the TV was mostly an accessory to the room as we got only blurry images - we had to watch movies on the lappy and the carpeted flooring as mentioned. We were really impressed with the rest of the things that these were just minor. I read some of the guest reviews that the room heater was charged. They have to remember this is a budget hotel and there are always the executive suites to choose from for the fireplace or better still shell out more and stay at other hotels for these facilities!

I strongly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly rennovated cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suniltimothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

First, the name is deceptive. It has no view whatsoever over the lake. If one wants to visit the lake one has to go downhill and thenafter come up-not an easy walk for seniors.The furniture is very basic with worn-out wooden linings and frames and poor workmanship. If you are going during winter, note that you are charged INR 300++ for the provision of a weak electric heater, which barely heats the room up. Besides using the heater and the water boiler at the same time will blow off the fuse. Electric wiring looks frighteningly loose.
A resort like this one would not get a license for operation in the west.
Comments by Yadowsun B

Room Tip: Dont go by names of hotels or fotos displayed on internet. Ask for information or read reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yadowsun b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabithaFOM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Lakeview, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Please allow me to clarify a few details regarding Hotel Lakeview, Ooty.

The hotel is spread over 8 Acres of sprawling terrace slopes facing the lake from its western side. The hotel boundary is also the official boundary of the Ooty Lake. The hotel has a circulatory road system that makes all its cottages accessible by road, either from the front of the row or from its back. For senior citizens we do have zero barrier rooms that need to be booked in advance or intimated at the time of reservation. It is true that all 123 cottages do not face the lake. We have both valley facing and lake facing cottages.

We are a price conscious hotel and the cost of room heater is not built into the tariff. Each of the room heater consumes 2 units/per hr and the present electricity charges is Rs. 8.75/unit, so the actual charges per hour for one room heater works out to (Rs. 8.35 X 2 Units) = Rs. 16.70/- and the room heater is issued for 24 hrs for which the actual electricity charges itself comes to Rs. 400.80/- and we only collect Rs. 300/- from guests. Cottages at Hotel Lakeview are also equipped with individual fireplaces to keep the cottage warm during Ooty’s cold nights.

We do really apologize for the inconvenience that you and your family faced during your stay with us.

We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a more positive impression of our resort.

Sincerely Yours,

Sabitha,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

You can check out my video on the hotel:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s8N7pLd1wbw

Hotel Lakeview is a very nice hotel in Ooty. The hotel overlooks the Ooty Lake and the area is pretty picturesque. The hotel is about 4 kms away from the city center. We had a pretty good time in this hotel. The food and service was good, rooms were comfortable and clean, clean and modern bathroom, and a pretty decent living area. There is a lot of space for the kids to play and the hotel staff is very polite. Please note that the hotel doesn't serve liquor. You will have to purchase the liquor from Charring Cross, which is the main market. Overall the hotel is value for money and we had a nice comfortable experience.

Room Tip: They don't serve Liquor. Remember that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohittk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2014

1. Please don't go by the looks, its an average resort. even the suite had some issues
2. Room service staff is super rude, specially the guy who takes order however, restaurant staff is very friendly
3. Hotel is around 4 kms outside Ooty
4. Overall, I got 50% discount on the deal and hence, its was a good buy for 3600 for two nights

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaibhavm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabithaFOM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Lakeview, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Please allow me to clarify a few details regarding Hotel Lakeview, Ooty.

We are a budget hotel and charges budget rates only. Sir’s impression that Sir got a 50% discount is not correct. Please find our published tariff on: http://www.hotellakeview.com/tariff.htm , to give Sir an idea of our actual rates.

Kindly also note that the Room Service staff that spoke to Sir rudely has been removed from duty and does not work with us anymore.

Hotel Lakeview, Ooty is located on the western boundary of the Ooty Lake. The hotel boundary is also the official boundary of the Ooty Lake. I am attaching a copy of the Google maps link showing the exact location of the Hotel.

https://maps.google.co.in/maps?expflags=enable_star_based_justifications:true&ie=UTF8&cid=5028294114493502742&q=Hotel+Lakeview&iwloc=A&gl=IN&hl=en

The hotel is located 2 kms from the City Center and 1.5 Kms from the Ooty Railway station and bus stand.
We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a more positive impression of our resort.

Sincerely Yours,

Sabitha,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Visited Ooty on 31st Dec for the New Year night stayed at Lakeview hotel. I had visited this hotel in earlier and had enjoyed the stay that time. So revisited the place again and loved it. It has been maintained very well, courteous staff and prompt service. Nice view of the valley and lake from the cottages.

I would love to visit the place again and I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Take the Villa if you are travelling with children as they get play area in front of the cottage and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venkata_nandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The hotel is said to be built on 8 acres of space and well the same can be seen. Parking space has been provided in front of cottages and plenty of open space for kids to enjoy. As I have kids and wanted open space for them to move around, this hotel did not disappoint me. The location is also nice, next to Ooty lake. Only the villas faces the lake, however the lake is walking distance from the hotel. If anybody is visiting in winter, then they should opt of room with fireplace (which is available from suite onward) . It was nice experience and comfortable sitting in front of fire and enjoying the evening time. They charge Rs 120 for the woods which will be sufficient for at least 1-1:30 hours. Also the room service has improved. As I have read some review that they take time for the room service but during my visit I got prompt delivery (within 20-30 min). But one piece of advice, if you are ordering for dinner then place the order by 8:30 PM else lots of items in the menu will not be available after that. If you have a car, there is a man who cleans the car for Rs 80. Overall a good experiance

Room Tip: Ask for them to give room that has been newly renovated. Also a room with fire place is advantage i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saha_the_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#16 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
627 reviews
3.7 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,007 reviews
2.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
#23 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
143 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lakeview

Property: Hotel Lakeview
Address: West Lake Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lakeview 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lakeview sits pretty on an 8 acre stretch of land, on the sensuous terraced slopes of a hill offering a magnificent double spectacle. Even at an ambling pace, you can reach the boathouse in 10 minutes flat, or the bus stand in 15 minutes.The complex has easy access to every part of the town and beyond.Experience the pleasure of living besides Ooty lake with family and friends in the Queen of Hill station.The largest and the most exclusive hill resort in Ooty, Lakeview consists of 123 specially designed, fully independent luxury cottages. Hotel Lakeview is where you begin to experience Ooty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Hotel Ootacamund
Hotel Lakeview India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing