We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place for a memorable stay”
Review of Hotel Lakeview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Lakeview
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We lived in Lake View for 2 days and had cottage number 61. Rooms are clean n well furnished.Room service is fast too. We did not try the food there. So I can't really comment on that.
They only need to look more after the maintainance of grasses and wild weeds that seems to have grown here and there and everywhere, which in turn makes it difficult to walk in and around the hotel area.
The lake can not be seen really from the hotel but the feeling of staying at a real height is awsome. Room number 114-116 give a good valley view and I would like to live in those, when I visit Ooty the next time.
Very affordable hotel !!

Room Tip: Room number 114-116 give a nice valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anu992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (816)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 816 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

Reasonable place for the price paid. Nothing spectacular about the hotel but the service is prompt and timely.

The rooms were not great and there was definitely no "lake view" from any of the rooms we checked out. The good part was the fire-place which ensures some warmth since the floors are vitrified tiles and get very cold since there is no carpeting.

The restaurant was reasonable and the food quantities were sufficinet though the breakfast was a let-down since there was no option of ala-carte and only a buffet for Rs 120 which definitely wasn't worth the amount.

We used the hotel travel desk for planning all our outings and it was well taken care of.

All in all, a reasonable place to stay in if on a holiday. Nothing spectaular but wont leave you disappointed as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumant_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went to Ooty on July 21, 2013 with the plans of staying 2-3 days there. However, due to bad planning on our part, our whole vacation was rained out and we were forced to stay inside the hotel room. Although the hotel claims to have a lake view, it is rather limited.

I would however like to commend the hotel on their quality of service. Whatever we asked for was delivered promptly. Even though they discouraged us from ordering food via room service since it would become cold by the time it reaches us, we insisted..since none of us wanted to walk through the wet grass and mud to the restaurant. However, surprisingly, the food was delivered hot and I would say it tasted pretty good.. contrary to our expectations on reading other reviews.

Overall, if not for the weather, we would have really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moumitab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I visited this hotel with my family.. the location which was mentioned on hotel website and the reality was completely different, Lake View :) couldn't see anywhere..
though the staff was very good & helpful and services were also good.. Quality of rooms and cleanliness was not up-to the mark..
you will not get hot water in case of power supply failure..
I've attached the pic of the cottage..
Hope this review help other to take the correct decision..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arpit_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I visited Hotel Lakeview in 2011 and must say the cottages were really beautiful. With comfortable bedding and nice big Bath Rooms the Cottage seemed extra private and cozy.
Our only disappointment was lack of hot water and the service boy had to bring in a bucket of hot water which was quite cold was OOTY's cold weather. The food was good and even after late service kept us cheered.
But, this place is a must for couples who need some time off the busy city life and want to hear only each others voices (as you hardly can feel a movement around). and Yes ofcourse the Prices are reasonable! So, Dont miss to stay here n do not forget to make sure the availability of hot water and heaters in ur beautiful Cottage!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anuradha1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Hotel Lakeview, Ooty is a great choice if you are travelling by car. The property is away from the crowded city area and so very peaceful and quiet. People without a car will have to shell out a lot of money on autorickshaw to and from the city.

The morning buffet breakfast at the restaurant is very good and value for money. Otherwise the room-service menu is expensive and quality is inconsistent. For lunch we preferred going to the city. The house keeping is responsive.

The rooms are designed to look like rows of cottages. They are spacious and clean. Good for small families or groups. The campus is well maintained. The play area for children is good, but can be improved. The hotel has good options for walking, jogging and strolling.

The hotel provides day sight-seeing by car at extra cost.

Room Tip: The rooms in front of the play area give the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

i booked this hotel online considering the photoshopped pictures and the name i saw online. i was under the impression that all rooms would be lake facing or so i thought!!! we upgraded the room on checkin & much to our dismay, we had to walk a thousand miles it seemed. at the high altitude of a hill station, u tend to get tired fast!! so better stay at the rooms near the reception cos the lake view as described is absent rather dissappointing. the cottage was well furbished & furnished. quite liked the fireplace provided, but they light it up on a nominal charge. food was pathetic unless u eat only an omellette throught the stay. if u are visiting ooty for relaxing only, then u can stay here but if u wanna roam around, find a better place!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niteshikha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#16 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
640 reviews
3.7 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,071 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
#28 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
147 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#9 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,236 reviews
2.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lakeview

Address: West Lake Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $31 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lakeview 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lakeview sits pretty on an 8 acre stretch of land, on the sensuous terraced slopes of a hill offering a magnificent double spectacle. Even at an ambling pace, you can reach the boathouse in 10 minutes flat, or the bus stand in 15 minutes.The complex has easy access to every part of the town and beyond.Experience the pleasure of living besides Ooty lake with family and friends in the Queen of Hill station.The largest and the most exclusive hill resort in Ooty, Lakeview consists of 123 specially designed, fully independent luxury cottages. Hotel Lakeview is where you begin to experience Ooty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Hotel Ootacamund
Hotel Lakeview India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing