We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel placed at great location but overpriced”
Review of Hotel Lakeview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Lakeview
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were there at the time of May 2013, stayed there for 3 days. The hotel area is quite big, though all are mainly cottages.

Food quality was average but overpriced. They have restaurant but i wont prefer going all the way up to get the food, better to have it in your own cottage, because you will have a dining table for four. If you are ordering food you need to beware of time as it will come to you after 20/30 minutes and all food can be cold while bringing to you. They directly tell their customer by the hotel brochure that as the area is big so food can be cold. :)

Room - we stayed in Suite Cottage and the value was Rs.2,100/-night (taxes extra)

I will advise you can take the Deluxe Cottage too, as the difference is not much apart from some furniture. All the cottages are same mostly.

TV networks are horrible. The first place i saw without a digitized service at hill station these days. Not satisfied with it.

They have fireplace in each & every cottage but you need to buy woods from room service after paying Rs. 100/- if you want to light some fire. :)

Service was average. Location is excellent as the place is very near to the lake. You will get a front view of the lake if you will get the cottage at the first row of cottages like us. But its very down. You need to come all the way up, if you want to go out. If you are having your own car then the time could be saved and good thing is you can park it right at the front of your cottage. (Parking in front not available for the first row cottages)

You can get car from their travel desk by call from room directly so it would pick you up from your cottage. You can hang out at the park or lawn if you are not feeling going out, specially if you have kids they will love the place.

Overall apart from the location & view of the lake, the hotel is average. Though i told you some Suite Cottages and Villas are having the view of the lake only. Better only if you can get a villa or suite in the first row.

Room Tip: Choose Villa if you want view or else choose deluxe/suite cottages as per your budget, because all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kallol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 827 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

Got married to my love in the month of feb 2013 , we had several plans about our honeymoon but had not ended up finalising until the day... Finally got the last seats available to ooty through green-line travels & we booked. But then our foremost priority was the hotel search , after several calls to the hotels in & around, we came across Hotel Lakeview , and we were pleased by their help desk, who assured us our choice of room availability the next morning.
We really had a wonderful experience @ the villa, the rooms were spacious , camp-fire was arranged, with off-course the additional charges, the south Indian breakfast from their restaurant was undoubtedly tasty but the only constrain was the quality of food for the dinner, pls do not try out any rice items or the north Indian stuff. Well, even on our day of check out the reception desk were kind & genial , they also accepted to take care of our luggage's for the rest of the day, since we had our return journey planned @ the night. Overall we had an awesome experience .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divbangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed here during May 2013 in a suite room. The rooms are tidy but look just average and nothing special abt the hotel except that from outside the rooms look like cottages. The location of the hotel is ~4kms from city and narrow lanes towards the hotel which is on the minus side. Overall, its just a average hotel and not worth for the money you spend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samrat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Easy of booking: Found that no availability 10 days back before my trip through their online booking system, I booked it through cleartrip.
Price : Reasonable, Executive cottage 2800/-
Place/Staff : Very near to Bus stop and Boat house of ooty. Cottages are good and spacious for a small family. Ooty lake is walk able distance, you can see the view of lake from few cotteges. They have garden and own travel desk. Staffs are good and helping.
Restaurant : I would say not that great, but you can live with that.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RajBan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for a night at Hotel Lakeview. The location is a bit taken away from the town centre, but is very scenic and is quite close to the lake. Rooms are spacious and parking is right infront of cottages. Breakfast was decent, din't try lunch or dinner.

Room Tip: The lake can be viewed from rooms in row 1....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank subbu_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We booked this resort thru Makemytrip and stayed for 2 Night and 3 Days during Mar 2010 in a cottage. The room is good and spacious for a family. There is a big well maintained lawn with playing area for the kids. Location close to the lake, reasonable pricing and spacious rooms are a big advantage for this property.

Generally a nice place to spend your holidays..

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalaignar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Booked through a travel portal and stayed for 3 nights during May 2013 in a cottage. The room is good and spacious for a family. There is a big well maintained lawn with playing area for the kids. The restaurant was at a distance from our cottage and sometimes you dont feel like climbing up to eat.. There is no eatery closeby and you are forced to eat at the restautant or order through room service (which is priced costlier compared to eating at the restaurant). Location close to the lake, reasonable pricing and spacious rooms are a big advantage for this property.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#18 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
647 reviews
3.7 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
#23 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#12 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
596 reviews
2.2 mi away
Treebo Yantra Leisures
Treebo Yantra Leisures
#13 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
250 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#8 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lakeview

Address: West Lake Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 94 Hotels in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $30 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lakeview 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lakeview sits pretty on an 8 acre stretch of land, on the sensuous terraced slopes of a hill offering a magnificent double spectacle. Even at an ambling pace, you can reach the boathouse in 10 minutes flat, or the bus stand in 15 minutes.The complex has easy access to every part of the town and beyond.Experience the pleasure of living besides Ooty lake with family and friends in the Queen of Hill station.The largest and the most exclusive hill resort in Ooty, Lakeview consists of 123 specially designed, fully independent luxury cottages. Hotel Lakeview is where you begin to experience Ooty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Hotel Ootacamund
Hotel Lakeview India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing