We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Experience...”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lakeview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lakeview
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Experience...”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Worst experience.
I had booked an executive cottage and expected the best facilities.
Can you imagine a floor without carpets in a hill station location? They housekeeping said they cannot afford the maintenance of the carpet and so they dont provide carpets on the floor. You have to directly jump in your bed to avoid cold floor. 24 hrs water supply was not available. The hot water supply stopped after I filled 1 bucket of hot water. When I asked the house keeping they said you have to wait for 30 mins everytime you fill the bucket. We were shivering and there was no hot hot water available. No LakeView at all. They said the only difference between Deluxe and Executive Suite was the fire place in the room. And if you wanna use it they would charge you Rs 100 for 2 hrs of fire. No mineral water bottles were provided in the room.
Overall review: Please please stay away from this hotel.

Room Tip: Please stay away from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chavdhari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    350
    182
    45
    72
See reviews for
377
271
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2013

we stayed there fir 2 nights and really had an amazing stay there, got a beautiful cottage to stay in.the view was awesome..though no Lakeview, but the nilgiri's view was superb..we had our 1 year baby with us..so the manager was very helpful to arrange hot water whenever needed. Very good staff n service. Food was ok, nothing special..I found it very basic..but wasn't that bad either. Breakfast was also good enough. The resort was very near to the lake. Overall the resort is a superb place to stay in. I would love to go there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rimic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Travelled to Ooty with my husband in December.. the hotel offers comfortable stay.. with lush green meadows.. also not too far away from the heart of the city. The hotel staff are very accomodating & the room service is quick & prompt.. however, the laundry service is not up to the mark. The restaurant is very good & offers a wide range of dishes.. overall a pleasant stay in Ooty

Room Tip: Choose a cottage thats nearby to the reception & the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 851sangita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights/4 days. I should say it is a well laid out property, not very far from the city and has good staff who are responsive to our needs. We stayed in a Suite Cottage, which has quite spacious living room. The bedroom, though small, is quite ok. Hotel staff were very cordial, housekeeping, room service responded very quick to all our needs.
The food is a bit expensive, but, it's OK.
I would say that the hotel is worth the money we pay.

Room Tip: try and get a cottage closer to the restaurant, else, you would have to climb up the hill !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSVenkatesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Prices were hiked without information. Nothing is informed, rooms were not clean. Their own slabs as per the tourist visit increases.... Its non standarised.

We had booked the rooms a month in advance & even then the prices were inflated.

A sad place, no room heaters. We had to change the room as bath room flush was not working... Cigrate buds all around....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mukesh_mohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ooty hotels

Tiruppur, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

stayed last summer in this resort in a valley view suite.
plus
clean rooms and bathroom with tub
private balcony
private lawn in valley view suites
room service good'
nice garden with play area for kids
minus
small bed room
average food in restaurant.
apart from valley view rooms other rooms are not upto mark

Room Tip: see rooms and choose valley view rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashokbalajirm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Booked my room via makemytrip for the last week of december. We were first given a deluxe cottage, the lock of the room was broken, we were then given an executive cottage which had great view but still the cottaage was not maintained well, the lock took quite an effort to lock the door. The door curtain holder was in broken state.

But the most scary part was awaiting us at the night, when we entered the room after Ooty sightseeing, our room was flooded with bugs, I found that their window in the Bathroom did not have any nets and there was considerable distance between glasses which will even let a rat inside the room easily. You will be offered two pillows and blanket, on our request for an extra blanket they asked for a charge of Rs. 350.(Why!!!) the reception person said that if I ask for a extra pillow as well I will be charged for an extra person in the room.

The geyser is a sad story. According to their housekeeping, the geyser needs to switched on for 45 minutes for 1 bucket of water and if another person wants to bath, wait for another 45 minutes.

Food is worst story. It is costly, unhygenic, oily and the sad part is that the hotel does'nt really care for it. They have take it or leave it attitude.

Overall: Avoid this Hotel.

Room Tip: Please avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank sidharthshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#13 of 78 in Ooty
608 reviews
2.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
3.7 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Blue Hills International
1.6 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lakeview

Property: Hotel Lakeview
Address: West Lake Road, Ooty 643004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lakeview 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lakeview sits pretty on an 8 acre stretch of land, on the sensuous terraced slopes of a hill offering a magnificent double spectacle. Even at an ambling pace, you can reach the boathouse in 10 minutes flat, or the bus stand in 15 minutes.The complex has easy access to every part of the town and beyond.Experience the pleasure of living besides Ooty lake with family and friends in the Queen of Hill station.The largest and the most exclusive hill resort in Ooty, Lakeview consists of 123 specially designed, fully independent luxury cottages. Hotel Lakeview is where you begin to experience Ooty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Hotel Ootacamund
Hotel Lakeview India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing