We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice silent cottages”
Review of Hotel Lakeview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lakeview
bangalore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“nice silent cottages”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in august 2011. Nothing was bad about the hotel. Rooms were great. Actually these were 2 room cottages with a common room and a bed room . The common room has a TV , dining table , a cot and two sofas. There is a fireplace in common room. You can have the fire at extra charges. We took valley view room at 2000 per night. The views were good from cottage.
The food we took was good, in fact excellent. Room service may look a little slow but this is tolerable, as the resort is not 5 star and is in mid range. You cannot expect more in these prices. Furthermore, the resort is spread over 8 acres area and has more than 100 cottages, thus the room service is expected to be slow.
The restaurant is also good and the food is cheaper in restaurant than in room.
Overall an excellent experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rinkal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    356
    186
    45
    75
See reviews for
389
277
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level Contributor
167 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Hotel Lake View is on the fag end of the lake. The property is quite peaceful and maintained well. Rooms are neat & clean, however it can be made better. Definitely the quality of upholestery need to be improved. Food not very great at least the veg part and am not sure about the non veg food. You may have to ask for rooms near the restaurant the cottages are spread across and you may have to walk a bit to the restaurant. The hotel is good in organizing sight seeing and is quite economical. You have to pay for everything here. For food options, you have to go to charring cross road which is about 4 Kms from this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuttack, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Well friends, I gone through all the reviews and I was little confused. Somebody wrote it was excellent, and for somebody wrote horrible.
I reached on 30th June 2011. My rout was Cuttack - Chennai - Mettupalayam - Ooty. The hotel is a 7-10 min distance by auto from Ooty railway station. Some bargaining is needed to hire a auto, and This review page helped me a lot. It should be maximum Rs. 60-70.

Our Check In experience was superb. One gentleman was there in reception. As I booked through makemytrip, it took only 5 min to complete all the formalities. One tip is there, when they will ask for any photo identity, show them Voter ID or driving license. I gave PAN card, they accepted it, but can make some problem as there is no address in PAN card.
I told them, I need a real Lake View room. The gave me Room no. 8. that was just front of Ooty lake. In this connection I like to mention that I booked Executive suite, and only 16 rooms are there which are True lake view. Other rooms are not lake view, but you can just step out from room to see the lake.
The room was neat and clean. Bathroom was good. Geyser worked properly. One problem was there, draining system of bathroom was not so good, and it took time to drain total water properly.
Room service, as written in other reviews, was poor, BUT I found very very good. They took only 20 min to complete any order. From morning Team to dinner.
I like to mention that you can choose their restaurant which is cheaper than room service. But if you are staying in Lake View Rooms, you have to go upward for restaurant, and it may be difficult in night, specially in winter.

The cost of food is high as expected. Like any big hotel. In fact Ooty is a costly place. As we are a strictly NON Vegetarian and can not eat without Fish or chicken, it took avg Rs. 1500 a full day meal (bf, lunch, dinner) for two persons. Food was good, tasty and good temperature.
The Travel desk of the hotel helped me a lot. They have 3 Tour plan. By Bus or Cab as you wish. Taking the Bus will be a wise decision. It is cheap and very much reasonable. It takes Rs. 175,250,175 per person for 3 tour plans. It covers every attraction of Ooty like Pykara lake, ooty lake, dodabetta peak, suicide points, Mudhumalai forest, Masangudi, Film shooting spots and many more.
we Check out on 4th July. Took only 5 mins to complete all formalities.

If I make any Plan for Ooty in future, It must Be Hotel Lake View for staying.

Room Tip: Ask for Room No 1 to Room No 48.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Soumikdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Well, we stayed during the start of season in Ooty and must say that the entire hill range in quite beautiful. We took a cab rental from Mettupalayam to ooty ( Right opposite MTPLM Rly Stn - INR 1000 for drop) and checked in to the Hotel Lake View. Must say the lobby is quite good and so are the layout of the cottages. HOwever, the rooms were pathetic in terms of flooring, roofing or anything you would love to see in a cottage. We could hear noises frm next rooms ( TV/. chat etc) and was quite dissapointing. Restaurant is where the Hotel realy tests the customers' patience. Poor food menu and time to deliver is hopeless. Would suggest eat out at near by restaurants. There are quite a few good ones around Ooty city. Overal Hotel is a clear NO second visit. But Ooty is beautiful, perhaps one of the finest you could locate in Southern India. No wonder British camped out there and have left a legacy. Must do's - Visit Coonoor, Toy Train ride ( idealy Ooty ( Ugadamanglam) to Coonoor - You can get the bookings at IRCTC), SIMS Garden, Ooty Lake ( The one farther from the crowded places) , Botanical Garden and The entire Pykara trip ( except the boating ofcourse...its a barren of land with no road access..you got to walk all way ( 2 KM) to reach the pykara boating point !!)..OVerall Ooty is a must visit for HIll station lovers !!.

Room Tip: Sightseeing packages are plenty at nominal rates INR 1000 +/- .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndiaVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels

Coimbatore
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

The hotel has a good number of individual cottages which can accommodate a large number of families comfortably. The first row of cottages are very good if u r going with small kids. The play area is nice and neat with a lush green lawn and play items. Plenty of free space to walk around and stretch yourself. We can even arrange for a horse ride in the hotel itself - Horse at ur door,. Food is ok, the place is within walk-able distance from the new boat jetty. They also arrange bon-fire for evening gathering - no hassles. Dont forget to order wood for the fire place in your cottage, its a very nice experience. all these are extra cost but ok. The rooms dont have heaters you need to hire them separately from the hotel. Overall it is a good place to unwind for a few days.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babudeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2011

The room was good. The service is good. The big problem is food. The food is not good at all and not preferrable to take it. The hotel was far from the city center and not able to visit any other restaurants. The food quality was too bad. We had only once and faced lot of problem. I suggest please stay in any hotel which is near to city center. There are lot of other good hotels.

Also there is no lake view. It is completely useless. Please find any hotel near to city center. Don't think about calmness as the ooty place is calm everytime.

There is no interner facility which is hurting.

Room Tip: Please stay near to city center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank my_personal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
200 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

I had booked 2 rooms in this hotel for 3days with a couple.
Though, the location is one of the best in the city, the service is one of the worst ever experienced.
Would not really recommend this hotel

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank karthik0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#14 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
623 reviews
2.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
768 reviews
3.7 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
#22 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
143 reviews
2.2 mi away
Woodberry Residency
Woodberry Residency
#3 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lakeview

Property: Hotel Lakeview
Address: West Lake Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 83 Hotels in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lakeview 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lakeview sits pretty on an 8 acre stretch of land, on the sensuous terraced slopes of a hill offering a magnificent double spectacle. Even at an ambling pace, you can reach the boathouse in 10 minutes flat, or the bus stand in 15 minutes.The complex has easy access to every part of the town and beyond.Experience the pleasure of living besides Ooty lake with family and friends in the Queen of Hill station.The largest and the most exclusive hill resort in Ooty, Lakeview consists of 123 specially designed, fully independent luxury cottages. Hotel Lakeview is where you begin to experience Ooty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Hotel Ootacamund
Hotel Lakeview India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing