We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best in Ooty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lakeview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Lakeview
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Tinsukia, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best in Ooty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

I have been to ooty a couple of times and stayed in different hotels always. Lakeview has been the best out of all.
As the name suggests, the hotel has cottages facing the lake side. These cottages are well maintained and clean. The mini roads connecting these cottages are clean as well.
Lakeview is located away from the commercial part of Ooty and hence the best place to experience the quiet hill station. Ample amount of space to park your cars, play around and take walks.
They have added facilities like a horse ride and the lake has boating facilities too. The food is good and the place is economical.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingfisherflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    346
    180
    45
    71
See reviews for
373
270
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

Its pretty average hotel. I liked the individual cottage like set up here. Thats reason i booked the same. They have 4 different kind of rooms. All are of same size. lowest one doesn't have fire place., rest all has. All the rooms are getting refurbished, that's the good part. Here are my Views.

1. Most rooms don't have lake view. Rooms per say are decent.
2. Floors are tiled. So be prepared
3. Even if you have fire place, They will charge Rs.100 extra for lighting the same. Room heater costs you Rs.146 per night. These are not part of room rent.
4.Contrary to most views service was prompt. When we ordered food they told us it would take 30 mins but food reached in 20 mins .
5. Restaurant : food is ok but they priced high. Morning Tea was bad though.
6. All rooms are have hall & bed room. TV is in hall. I found it irritating as world cup was on TV.
7. Check in and Check out was quick

Overall its decent hotel with no views but Service was fine. Do go in with high Expectations though...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suresh_Ramaiyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

The rooms are pretty nice and cozy. Location isn't that bad, slightly away from the city and therefore quiet and peaceful. But there wasn't any view of the lake from our rooms.

Room service is slow, rude and expensive. Food wasn't really worth it, so if you are staying here it would be better that you have your food from some restaurant in the city.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anoop84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

All this resort is slightly away from the city center, but it is very close to the lake and the cottages have a personal balcony attached which is really good.

Room service can take a bit of time hence it is best to go and eat at the restuarant. On both my trips to Ooty I have stayed here and they seem to be improving all the time

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

We had called the hotel and did a phone booking for a couple of nights.

We arrived pretty early and checked into the hotel--though they did not greet us very well.
After which every thing we asked for was at extra costs. Dont go by the name as there is absolutely no view of the lake that the cottages offers.

They give us 24hrs check out facility- meaning thay every hour you stayed beyond the 24hrs you will have to pay hourly charges and also they charge you full days tax..how legal is this to pay for taxes where in you did not even stay for the full day.

The front desk is absolutely not co-operative they dont even understand the meaning of the word HOSPITALITY. They do not bother to call and even ask if you need anything in the room. The taps run muddy water and i had to call couple of time to tell there is no hot water supply.

There are pretty good hotel in and around the city corner and this must be the last option to stay-in.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vipul80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ooty hotels

Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

Rooms were dirty, chilly and cold - no heaters - towels missing in bathrooms;
Housekeeping was terrible - took more than half an hour to respond to requests relating to heating fireplace, blankets and towels
Would not recommend this because of terrible service and dirty rooms

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentFlyerGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

Only few cottages have got 'Lake view". Though the receptionist told me that the allocated one for me is with Lake view, to my surprise I could not find any part of the lake from there!
Rooms are ver clean and well maintained. However, the bad thing was the floor is with ceramic tiles and it is very difficult in the cold climate. Moreover, in the room I got, there was no fireplace. I had to get room heater by paying extra!!
Quality of food is not up to the mark. However, the management is keen in maintaining the standard in pricing! It is exhorbitant.
It would have been better, if they had provided intenet facility too in the room.
The lawn in front of the cottages are poorly maintained.
Response of front desk staff is average.
( S Kumar)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eskumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#13 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
1.4 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
2.8 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Hills International
2.0 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
0.6 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lakeview

Property: Hotel Lakeview
Address: West Lake Road, Ooty 643004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lakeview 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lakeview sits pretty on an 8 acre stretch of land, on the sensuous terraced slopes of a hill offering a magnificent double spectacle. Even at an ambling pace, you can reach the boathouse in 10 minutes flat, or the bus stand in 15 minutes.The complex has easy access to every part of the town and beyond.Experience the pleasure of living besides Ooty lake with family and friends in the Queen of Hill station.The largest and the most exclusive hill resort in Ooty, Lakeview consists of 123 specially designed, fully independent luxury cottages. Hotel Lakeview is where you begin to experience Ooty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Hotel Ootacamund
Hotel Lakeview India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing