We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good resort with excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Coimbatore , Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good resort with excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed in elk hill for two days,it was one of the best holidays I have ever enjoyed only due to the excellent service given by the staff.
The rooms are very good neat and clean, our room was cleaned twice a day with different types of design made of towel by housekeeping,which my kids liked a lot and daily morning my son waited for the housekeeping boy.
Food was ok although they have limited items for the room service. Overall we enjoyed our holidays and next time again if we choose Ooty then definitely it will be sterling elk hill!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Prefer a renovated city view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manojmankee96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    199
    65
    23
    26
See reviews for
335
170
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

it was a good experience and a wonderful relaxation while stay in Elk hill. The rooms and services were amazing. I planned my next vacation in the same place and same hotel I prefer to stay. thanks all of you for your wonderful service and hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jibin i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at Sterling during our last trip to Ooty. It was a nice experience, mainly because food was really good, with wide variety of dishes. Premises are neat and tidy, pretty much near to town and great view of Ooty from Hotel. I would prefer to have a long stay at the hotel next time when I drive to Ooty.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nejinv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were on a leisure trip from Mumbai to Ooty, Mysore and Bangalore. We took road route through Coimbatore to Ooty as the first leg and moved on the Mysore and Bangalore. Given the serenity of Ooty, I should have finished the hustle-bustle of cities first and then should have come here. The stay here from 9 to 12th Sept.13 was wonderful. The resort has impressive lobby and entrance with garden and lot of parking space. The breathtaking view of the valley town below from room is something to remember for the lifetime. The staff was courteous and reassuring. The neatness of rooms was commendable, bed linen was good. The room service and the food quality was good. Overall - an excellent stay. There were some construction going on but doesn't matter - it was off-season for them.

Room Tip: Rooms of 2nd Level with valley view are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajeev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolhapur, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were here from 15 to 17th Sept.13 and we had great time. The resort has beautiful entrance with garden and lot of parking space. The lobby is cozy and has wonderful view from the area with good sitting arrangements. The staff was courteous and reassuring. The room where we stayed was quite up to the mark and neatly maintained. The room service and the food quality was good. We had a pleasant stay. On negative side- lacs Bar facility.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepakambar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alapuzha kerala
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was my first trip to ooty with my daughter, she njoyed it a lot rather then going out for sightseeing my daughter loved to sit inside the resort itself and preferred playing inside only.
She loved the different shapes of towels made by the housekeeping inside the room.
This resort is very good away from the town but you can have a wonderful view of the town from your balcony, the rooms are neat and clean food is excellent and all in all elk is a wonderful place to enjoy your holidays.

Room Tip: Choose city view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I had really wonderful stay. The hotel customer service along with the hotel ambiance was very good. Rooms was very nice and hot water was available 24*7. It's really worth visiting again and I can definitely recommend this to everyone. This is really value for money.


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Chetan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
1.6 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
2.1 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
1.4 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
1.1 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
0.6 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: No 25 Ramakrishna Mutt Road | Elk Hill, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ooty
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Holidays Elk Hill is a small and tranquil set up with incredible views of the surrounding hills and valley. Amid lofty Nilgiri peaks and low passing clouds, the sloping roofs and terracotta tiles of the resort emerge and vanish. As you look out on the Ooty valley from your room’s balcony or sit-out, time seems to stand still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing