We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome view of ooty !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“awesome view of ooty !!!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

i traveled to few sterling properties and this one is an absolute good place to be .. we could see a dazzling view of ooty in the night time if u stay in a corner room of the hotel... people around are so warm and helpful. we were shocked to know that ooty and coonoor has a population of more than 13 lacs and its a municipality. great place to be in ooty....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vijzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    204
    67
    23
    26
See reviews for
349
174
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Resort is good but location and mode of transport available make it little inconvenient to even go around on short quick trips. Food option is restricted to resort kitchen as its difficult to try other option around. However, this was compensated by amazing view early morning, putting us above the clouds. Room service was really good. Basement restaurant had damp smell which made it little difficulty for allergic person like me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avnindra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had stayed there for 2 nights. Up on arrival, they upgraded my room to Deluxe Suite without any charge. I guess its because the occupancy was less during this time. The Suite was very clean and bathroom had modern fittings. Room heater was available, which made the stay really peasant. Buffet breakfast was very good and tasty. Some renovation was going on but. Overall a pleasant stay at Elk Hill.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bvpraveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2013

it was awesome trip to ooty. thanks to cleartrip for great discount .resort was too good.room service is nice.only drawback of this resort is that 380 rupees one has to spent for pick and drop to the main market.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Richa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kollam (Quilon), Kerala, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed in elkhill resort in the month of june first week.we checked-in early in the morning once we entered the room it was awesome, room was beautifully decorated . towel making also very nice . view from the room its amazing. we enjoyed a lot over there.food was excellent. resort location is very good,you can see whole ooty from this resort. rooms also very good. gardening also awesome , staff's was very polite,co-operative every time they are ready to assisting us with smiling face. we had a wonderful stay................................. !!!!!!! thanks for making our stay memorable..................... !!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandhyamol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My experience with Sterling Resorts has been very good for the past few years after the extensive renovation works. especially last one year has been excellent. They have done a great job. I visit my favorite destination has always been OOTY since its derivable distance from my place.

Room Tip: Check the rooms before check inn. Prefer renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Average Hotel at Good Location.

Have opted for Junior suites. Terrible Experience. Torn out linen, dirty room, poor housekeeping, very old furniture. Overall very badly managed rooms.

Then we shifted ourselves to Studio suits and found it to be Good Room with LCD, mini kitchen, heater etc.

Good / polite staff, Good Location, Good food

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiragBhanvadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the feedback and positive comments on F&B services, location of the property and staff members. Also we are happy to note your satisfaction regarding studio suites.

However, we have taken down your complaints regarding maintenance and housekeeping of junior suites. In this connection, we would like to share with you that Sterling is in the process of renovating all its resorts. Currently 3 of our resorts have been completely renovated and transformed to high standards. These resorts are Kodai – By The Lake, Munnar – Terrace Greens and Ooty – Fern Hill. We have also completed refurbishing and renovation of a significant number of rooms across our other resorts. Work in our Elk Hill resort is also underway and we hope to complete the renovation and upgradation of all rooms in phases.
We hope that you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to showcase our commitment to delivering memorable holidays in aesthetic and comfortable resorts.

We deeply value your feedback and want to thank you for taking the time out to let us know your views.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
0.5 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
2.5 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
1.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
1.6 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
0.8 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: No 25 Ramakrishna Mutt Road | Elk Hill, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ooty
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Holidays Elk Hill is a small and tranquil set up with incredible views of the surrounding hills and valley. Amid lofty Nilgiri peaks and low passing clouds, the sloping roofs and terracotta tiles of the resort emerge and vanish. As you look out on the Ooty valley from your room’s balcony or sit-out, time seems to stand still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing