We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Hospitality of staff was really great.
Service, food and amenities were all very good
Amazing view of ooty hills and valleys from the balcony.
Rooms were very good and clean. Overall experience was good and we enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Enjoy the breathtaking view of ooty hills and valleys from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roseonline2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    223
    69
    25
    27
See reviews for
399
183
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sweetwater, Tennessee, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2013

we been there in 2011 august , i am from u.s.a and i visit to india and i want to go with my husband and one more couple with us, and we already very tired from traveling almost 40 hours we been there 10 am in morning and they did not check in us until 3.00 pm it was so cold outside and still we have wait that much long time and when we get the room there is no hotwater in bathroom room was so dirty and they move us to some other room that room was newly renovated but still hot water prob. is same one is going to in shower the other person has to be wait at least 45 mint. that's unbelievable and reductase they spoil my vacation and resort has only have them own restaurant and it was very expensive and every time when we got the bill for restaurant it all the time wrong they something and something money which we did not order,when we complain about it they don't listen anything so do not spoil your money, vacation and time it so many thing to write but i don't want to it was very bad experience very bad customer service no no on no never go that place......

Room Tip: if you go then check your bill every time they charge you some extra specially restaurant bill
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avnikshatriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Madam,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays! We have carefully noted down your concerns regarding the rooms and services and will make sure that this is not repeated in future. We also regret to hear about the inconvenience you faced with check-in and maintenance of rooms. We assure you that we have made a serious note of this and will look into it.

Please be assured that we are making the changes that will showcase our property in a way that earns your appreciation. Your suggestions are always valuable to us.

Sincerely,
Member Relations - Sterling Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel is hard to find as its located at an extreme hill which is directed by only one small signboad on the highway, Hotel location is excellent with views of tea plantations. hotel is under renovation so very noisy entire day, only after 7 they close work. Overall a very old location/property which only has a few nice renovated rooms but old linen n towels, Food is not bad, breakfast has limited dishes and buffet only in times of full occupancy in hotel. Has lots of staff but hotel lacks in attracting quality crowd.

Room Tip: Renovated rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asif155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your views. We are glad that you liked the scenic surroundings of the resort. We would like to thank you for your positive feedback on food. Also, we are happy to say that renovations are being done speedily and will be completed soon.
We sincerely hope you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
Member Relations - Sterling Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

It was wonderful experience. We stayed at Sterling Elk Hill, Ooty during Diwali, November 2012. The hotel is on top of hill so one gets a excellent scenic view of Ooty town from the Hotel. The room was nicely taken care of. The disappointment was very slow room service. Transportation is a problem if u don't have a vehicle hired because its aprx. 3 kms far from market area. Overall, great stay and recommended to all. We chose this hotel after reviewing feedback of Tripadvisor. I would not hesitate to return here and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tushar1268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

It was after so many long years that me and my husband had spent some time together out of station. We got the newly renovated rooms on the 2nd floor and the proom was very spacious. Service was geat.We enjoyed the stay :-)))))

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anupama_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

up on arrival at sterling elk hill ooty the hospitality of staff was awesome, i have opted for junior suite room and the room was excellent for couples providing 24 hours hot water ,daily news paper and scenic beauty from room was incredible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
4 Thank Shahin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The property is good, rooms are not great. But this is far from the city so if you have plan to eat outside or go fro a walk to the near by market for shopping you need to have your own transpot arrangement. Though you have a travel desk its a a bit costly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arjun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.5 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,195 reviews
2.5 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,015 reviews
1.4 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#15 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
511 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
791 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#12 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: No 25 Ramakrishna Mutt Road | Elk Hill, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Holidays Elk Hill is a small and tranquil set up with incredible views of the surrounding hills and valley. Amid lofty Nilgiri peaks and low passing clouds, the sloping roofs and terracotta tiles of the resort emerge and vanish. As you look out on the Ooty valley from your room’s balcony or sit-out, time seems to stand still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing